1. #1

    Newly Assembled custom build pc boot error?

    *New problem* didnt want to open new thread because it pertained to the same thing, for those who are lazy to scroll heres the problem:
    well the pc has been working since that time but today when i booted up the pc im getting no signal again? it was completely random and have never had this problem since i assembled it. i didnt want to make a new thread so all the hardware stuff is located towards the top of the thread. Any help would be appreciated. Note: I am getting 1 beep which means my monitor is recognized and that my keyboard and mouse and speakers are getting power as well.
    Last edited by zrvnavi; 2011-12-27 at 03:14 PM. Reason: new problem

  2. #2
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    Assuming you've connected and powered your GTX560 appropriately, I'm immediately thinking that the mobo is still displaying the signal out the integrated chip.
    Hook up your monitor to the integrated video on your mobo. I don't know the exact process, but you need to go into BIOS and find a way to disable the Integrated card - could be somewhere in "onboard devices" menu or similar. That should automatically make your GTX560 as the primary display.
    Then connect the monitor to the GTX560, it should work.
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2011-10-21 at 12:14 AM.

  3. #3
    dumb question, did you plug the power into the back of your graphic card? also did ensure you plugged.
    i7 860 @ 4.0Ghz Cooled via Corsair A70 - Antec Darkfleet 85
    Asus P7H57D-V EVO Mainboard - Asus 7970 3GB Crossfire
    Kingston 1333 @ 1600 16GB
    (4x4GB)
    HP ZR2740w 27-inch LED Backlit IPS @ 2560x1440

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Assuming you've connected and powered your GTX560 appropriately, I'm immediately thinking that the mobo is still displaying the signal out the integrated chip.
    Hook up your monitor to the integrated video on your mobo. I don't know the exact process, but you need to go into BIOS and find a way to disable the Integrated card - could be somewhere in "onboard devices" menu or similar. That should automatically make your GTX560 as the primary display.
    Then connect the monitor to the GTX560, it should work.
    Unfortunately i cant access the bios because i cant see anything on my monitor. I tried using the graphics card out and the mobo output and still nothing

    ---------- Post added 2011-10-21 at 12:42 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Danjal View Post
    dumb question, did you plug the power into the back of your graphic card? also did ensure you plugged.
    and yes the graphics card is hooked up properly. Fans working so i will assume it does

  5. #5
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    Sorry to be repetetive but that's hardware troubleshooting for you >_<

    1) Monitor is connected and powered properly
    2) Correct DVI (or converter) cable used to connect to INTEGRATED port on motherboard
    3) Motherboard is powered appropriately

    If you've done the above 3 steps and it results in no display signal, I think it's a pretty serious issue with either the motherboard or the monitor. It's really hard to pinpoint which exactly...the motherboard is more likely.

  6. #6
    [QUOTE=Xuvial;13756225]Sorry to be repetetive but that's hardware troubleshooting for you >_<

    1) Monitor is connected and powered properly
    2) Correct DVI (or converter) cable used to connect to INTEGRATED port on motherboard
    3) Motherboard is powered appropriately
    Yes i used the DVI and connected it into the integrated port on my motherboard, but as for the power to the mobo, there is only 1 connection right?

  7. #7
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    One really fat power 24-pin connector (mobo) and one smallish 6/8-pin connector (CPU).
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2011-10-21 at 01:46 AM.

  8. #8
    Not clear if you ever got a video signal but I have two questions:

    1. Did you flash the bios or uses asus automatic bios update utility ?

    2. Have you tried completly powering down the system? I mean power down the system, if your PSU has a switch on the back flip it to off, and unplug it from the wall wait a minute and then try powering back up.

    I have the asus m4a79 deluxe and had a similar issue after I would restart windows sometimes and after i shutdown windows everytime. The monitor would get no signal but the system was running. Fliping the switch on my PSU off and on again before powering on ensured a successful boot everytime. It was my first ever build so I was kinda shakey about flashing the bios so I used the asus utility. After manually flashing the bios again myself the problem went away.
    Last edited by TaintedOne; 2011-10-21 at 07:32 AM.
    | Intel i5-4670k | Asus Z87-Pro | Xigmatek Dark Knight | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB | Sapphire R9 270x | Crucial M4 128GB | 2xWD 500GB Black | Cooler Master Haf-X | Corsair AX1200 | Dell 2412m | Ducky Shine 3 | Logitech G13 | Razer Goliathus XL | Razer Carcharias | Razer Naga - working like new since >2009< |

  9. #9
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    109
    [QUOTE=zrvnavi;13756310]
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Sorry to be repetetive but that's hardware troubleshooting for you >_<

    1) Monitor is connected and powered properly
    2) Correct DVI (or converter) cable used to connect to INTEGRATED port on motherboard
    3) Motherboard is powered appropriately
    Yes i used the DVI and connected it into the integrated port on my motherboard, but as for the power to the mobo, there is only 1 connection right?
    Motherboard needs two power connectors, a large 24 pin, usually somewhere near the ram and a one smaller power 12V power connector, usually somewhere around the top left (near CPU).

  10. #10
    [QUOTE=Dynellen;13759484]
    Quote Originally Posted by zrvnavi View Post

    Motherboard needs two power connectors, a large 24 pin, usually somewhere near the ram and a one smaller power 12V power connector, usually somewhere around the top left (near CPU).
    Go to page 1-25 of your motherboards manual it shows where the 8-pin connector is. Should be a cable on your powersupply labled CPU
    | Intel i5-4670k | Asus Z87-Pro | Xigmatek Dark Knight | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB | Sapphire R9 270x | Crucial M4 128GB | 2xWD 500GB Black | Cooler Master Haf-X | Corsair AX1200 | Dell 2412m | Ducky Shine 3 | Logitech G13 | Razer Goliathus XL | Razer Carcharias | Razer Naga - working like new since >2009< |

  11. #11
    Check that you've connected these.

  12. #12
    alright i didnt have that plugged in and now im getting 2 beeps when i boot but still not signal on my monitor

  13. #13
    Moderator Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,224
    If I remember correctly, 2 short beeps when booting up is either a POST or a circuit failure (of course, beep codes can differ depending on the mainboard). Reseat your RAM modules and see if that helps.

  14. #14
    Two beeps indicate that no monitor has been found to show anything on-screen.

  15. #15
    well guys thanks for all the help, i was able to fix it by removing the graphics card

  16. #16
    Running off the onboard graphics then? Neat, I guess.

    Opening an RMA on the graphics card then, or testing around to see what breaks and doesn't break?

  17. #17
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,963
    Quote Originally Posted by zrvnavi View Post
    well guys thanks for all the help, i was able to fix it by removing the graphics card
    ....
    That doesn't fix it -_-

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    ....
    That doesn't fix it -_-
    Well, it's a start, and mostly isolates things down to either the PCI_e slot, the graphics card itself, or that someone failed to properly mount the graphics card.

    At least it's not broken pins on the processor, you know?

  19. #19
    well the pc has been working since that time but today when i booted up the pc im getting no signal again? it was completely random and have never had this problem since i assembled it. i didnt want to make a new thread so all the hardware stuff is located towards the top of the thread. Any help would be appreciated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •