Page 1 of 4
1
2
3
... LastLast
  1. #1
    Bloodsail Admiral Aurust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Staten Island, NYC
    Posts
    1,126

    GW2 system req + How will my computer run it

    Hey guys, i know a good bit about computers but i not enough sadly....

    I was not able to find any system requirements for GW2, and i dont have any hands on experience with the game, soo will my setup allow me to run GW2 with relatively high settings, and if not on Ultra settings what would i need to change?


    Intel i7 920 at 2.67 ghz Quad core
    Ati Radeon HD 5870 GPU
    10 GB RAM

    Thnx in advance !

  2. #2
    I'm pretty sure your computer is more than enough to handle it.

  3. #3
    Bloodsail Admiral Aurust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Staten Island, NYC
    Posts
    1,126
    Thnx for the quick reply..... makes me feel a whole lot better lol....!

  4. #4
    Field Marshal Kalla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    The Black Citadel
    Posts
    84
    I just barely(as in sunday the 23rd) got a new 600w powersupply and a XFX Radeon HD 6750, I unfortunately only have 4GB, but I can have as high as 16GB, so I might expand in the future AND I just got my new computer on the 21st of September this year! So i am super excited! It runs WoW more then wonderfully, and am hoping it runs GW2 amazingly well!

  5. #5
    Bloodsail Admiral Aurust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Staten Island, NYC
    Posts
    1,126
    Can some1 explain to me how power supply affects my gaming?

  6. #6
    I am Murloc! Mif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tarnished Coast
    Posts
    5,629
    Quote Originally Posted by Aurust View Post
    Can some1 explain to me how power supply affects my gaming?
    If it's not big enough you'll be looking at a blank screen

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Aurust View Post
    Hey guys, i know a good bit about computers but i not enough sadly....

    I was not able to find any system requirements for GW2, and i dont have any hands on experience with the game, soo will my setup allow me to run GW2 with relatively high settings, and if not on Ultra settings what would i need to change?


    Intel i7 920 at 2.67 ghz Quad core
    Ati Radeon HD 5870 GPU
    10 GB RAM

    Thnx in advance !
    You'll be running it at very high settings if not max, in most cases. Hard to say 100% of the time, since WvW will be a beast for any machine.

  8. #8
    Field Marshal Kalla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    The Black Citadel
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by Aurust View Post
    Can some1 explain to me how power supply affects my gaming?
    for the most part, the higher the wattage, the better graphics card you can use..that counts for GB room as well.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Aurust View Post
    Can some1 explain to me how power supply affects my gaming?
    Well, it has a few minimal advantages.

    A good power supply can be more efficient in converting DC into AC and cost you less in the electricity bill. Not having enough wattage can cause system problems, such as lock ups and not even booting.


    With the PC you have, you should be more than smart enough to add the wattage of each device and then add about 20% more to the total wattage for your power supply.
    The most important thing to realize is, no matter what you experience you are never alone; no matter what you are struggling through, there is always someone who is more unfortunate.

    It's Ok to Be Takei (Rank 35/ Fractal Level 22)

  10. #10
    Herald of the Titans Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,994
    Quote Originally Posted by Kalla View Post
    I just barely(as in sunday the 23rd) got a new 600w powersupply and a XFX Radeon HD 6750, I unfortunately only have 4GB, but I can have as high as 16GB, so I might expand in the future AND I just got my new computer on the 21st of September this year! So i am super excited! It runs WoW more then wonderfully, and am hoping it runs GW2 amazingly well!
    4GB should be enough for playing Guild Wars 2. RAM does not improve performance a great lot.

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W | NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080 | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Deyadissa View Post
    With the PC you have, you should be more than smart enough to add the wattage of each device and then add about 20% more to the total wattage for your power supply.
    Also while the 20% headroom rule is a good starting point also remember that more wattage does not hurt. You want that 20% headroom over the requirements of your componants to cover spike usage where one componant may draw more for a few moments and inadvertantly starve another causeing a system crash. However if you only budget for that 20% of headroom it could turn into only 10% if you upgrade your vid card in 6 months. I picked up a 750W suply several years ago when I built my current PC and I expect to still use it for at least 1 more compleat rebuild upgrade.

    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    4GB should be enough for playing Guild Wars 2. RAM does not improve performance a great lot.
    it can if you have much else runing in the background, depends on your OS as well. I'm runing 4gigs as well on win7 and windows idles at between 40-50% ram used, up in the high 80's with wow going. Does not take all that much to peg the meter and start takeing a performance hit from there. So yes it will improve performance if your system is geting bottlenecked on the ram. We dont have system spec's yet for GW2 comparied to wow so its anybody's guess how much ram is enough.
    Last edited by Merendel; 2011-10-26 at 05:13 AM.

    Who is John Galt?

  12. #12
    I am Murloc! Mif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tarnished Coast
    Posts
    5,629
    Quote Originally Posted by Merendel View Post
    I picked up a 750W suply several years ago when I built my current PC and I expect to still use it for at least 1 more compleat rebuild upgrade.
    Power supply's are the one item you can use build after build if you get a decent one

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Mif View Post
    Power supply's are the one item you can use build after build if you get a decent one
    ya just dont get a bargin basement deal, there's normaly a reason its cheep. If you find say 2 different 700w power supplies, one for $100 the other for $50 (numbers out my ass dont quote em) dont be surprised of the 50$ one craps out after a year or two. Make sure you get one from a brand known for their quality even if its slightly more expensive.

    Who is John Galt?

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Merendel View Post
    ya just dont get a bargin basement deal, there's normaly a reason its cheep. If you find say 2 different 700w power supplies, one for $100 the other for $50 (numbers out my ass dont quote em) dont be surprised of the 50$ one craps out after a year or two. Make sure you get one from a brand known for their quality even if its slightly more expensive.
    There's also usually a lot more connectors on the higher-quality ones, the voltage is more stable, and most importantly their efficiency in converting from AC to DC is higher; the better the efficiency the more you save in your electricity bill over time. Even 5% difference in a device that can draw as much as 750 watts from the network and that is likely powered-on closer to a quarter of the whole year, well, that is quite a lot.

    That said, I need to upgrade my own PC. I've noticed that I'm never actually using all 4 cores, at most they're all churning at around 35%, whereas my current GTX 460 is hovering constantly at 98%. Thought about getting myself a GTX 580, but then I need to get a PSU, too :/ I _could_ always just lower the resolution to get a few more FPS out of my current one, but.... who wants to play at anything less than full 1080p reso?
    - Hand: n., A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody's pocket. - Ambrose Bierce, The Devil's Dictionary

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by GayGirlie View Post
    There's also usually a lot more connectors on the higher-quality ones, the voltage is more stable, and most importantly their efficiency in converting from AC to DC is higher; the better the efficiency the more you save in your electricity bill over time. Even 5% difference in a device that can draw as much as 750 watts from the network and that is likely powered-on closer to a quarter of the whole year, well, that is quite a lot.

    That said, I need to upgrade my own PC. I've noticed that I'm never actually using all 4 cores, at most they're all churning at around 35%, whereas my current GTX 460 is hovering constantly at 98%. Thought about getting myself a GTX 580, but then I need to get a PSU, too :/ I _could_ always just lower the resolution to get a few more FPS out of my current one, but.... who wants to play at anything less than full 1080p reso?
    I'm assuming you have SLI compatibility, maybe SLI two 460's together (depending on price; I'm an ATI guy so not up to date on nVidia's prices)? Of course, this also could require another PSU, in which case going the single 580 would probably be better long run, as you could then SLI two 580's later down the road and extend your computer life timeframe that much more.

    More OT: I know the guildwars dev's and others involved in the production of the game have said they want the game to be able to run on older computers. I'm assuming that they are, to an extent, following one of WoW's examples of opening the game to lots of variations of specs. I would highly suspect that anything i5/i7 and graphics wise 230+/4xxx series will be fine. It may not be on Ultra settings, but who cares about that.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluedragonwolf View Post
    I'm assuming you have SLI compatibility, maybe SLI two 460's together (depending on price; I'm an ATI guy so not up to date on nVidia's prices)? Of course, this also could require another PSU, in which case going the single 580 would probably be better long run, as you could then SLI two 580's later down the road and extend your computer life timeframe that much more.
    Indeed. I too considered SLI, but if I gotta get a new PSU anyways then it's simply easier to just buy a new graphics card at the same time, it'll be expensive enough of a package to net a small price cut. I doubt I'll be needing a new CPU for a good while and I've got 8 gigabytes of RAM, too, so I'm all set in that department for now. The only thing I could think of getting then is an SSD and slap GW2 there for really short loading-times.

    More OT: I know the guildwars dev's and others involved in the production of the game have said they want the game to be able to run on older computers. I'm assuming that they are, to an extent, following one of WoW's examples of opening the game to lots of variations of specs. I would highly suspect that anything i5/i7 and graphics wise 230+/4xxx series will be fine. It may not be on Ultra settings, but who cares about that.
    RAM is probably the only thing older machines may struggle with as GW2 simply is so chock full of stuff. I assume 2 gigabytes will be more-or-less the minimum.
    - Hand: n., A singular instrument worn at the end of the human arm and commonly thrust into somebody's pocket. - Ambrose Bierce, The Devil's Dictionary

  17. #17
    Brewmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,412
    If that dosnt run it on high, then not many computer will run it at all

  18. #18
    Think you will be fine

    BTW there is a thread about this: http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/...emands-for-GW2
    X:"Echo?"
    Echo: "What?
    X:"Echo?"
    Echo: "What?!"
    X: "Nothing"

  19. #19
    Herald of the Titans Eorayn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2,957
    I am gonna buy a gaming computer soon when I get enough money, so I am posting this here It is the computer I am saving for.
    The PC is a desktop and is called Mighty Shark Sandybridge Edition.
    I am gonna make sure that I can run GW2 and other games on best quality! And I am HOPELESS in the computer business.
    MB: Some of the words are in danish, because it's from a danish site.

    2 x Geforce GTX 560 (SLI)

    Intel i7-2600 (SANDYBRIDGE)
    4 x 3.40Ghz (3.80Ghz Turbo!), 8 MB L2.

    8 GB VENGEANCE/HYPERX DDR3 1866 MHz
    DUAL CHANNEL, Ultra fast RAM!

    CoolerMaster Storm Enforcer kabinet

    Corsair TX 850 W PSU

    MSI P67A-GD65 bundkort

    Samsung 1000 GB Harddisk
    7200 rpm

    Samsung DVD-Brænder
    DVD-RW 22x

  20. #20
    Mechagnome vilhelm1992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    where ever you are when you've just had a long fight against another player, to screw up your day
    Posts
    519
    i used to think i had an awesome computer until i saw this thread..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •