Thread: Diet.

Page 1 of 3
LastLast
    Deleted

Diet.

I'm curious to know the average costs of living in the US. I've seen various studies about the difference in diet between lower and upper classes, various parts of the Us and the estimated cost.

But I've also seen it for my country and find it impossible to figure out how they arrive at these insane figures. I can't link the report, it's an older one from 1999 that my University conducted on behalf of Bord Bia. Basically it claimed that to eat a "balanced diet", logical dead end, it cost about twice to three times as much.

But for me, my girlfriend and several people I know this is not the case. I can arrange a healthy meal, from my local market, for around 5-6 Euro, or the same as a McDonald's meal/generic fast food.

I've seen some research on America but as I've no first hand experience I'm interested in just how expensive would it be to make the following:

Soy fried noodles with greens and a chicken breast;
    1 Chicken breast
    2 Spring Onions
    Soy Sauce (Matter of note, items like spices will be included but from experience these are factored into monthly budgets, not weekly shop. An oversight in many studies that multiply by four to get "months total food cost".)
    Chili powder/flakes/fresh
    Noodles
    1 Bell Pepper.

Here, that'd cost me about 7.50 for two people, or 3.75 each.

I don't calculate what it costs to eat healthy, but one thing I'm sure of is eating out anywhere is going to cost me more than preparing my own healthy meals at home. Fast food meals generally run around 7 bucks today for one person. I can prepare a meal that costs about the same for 2 or 3 people at the same cost. Its not even close.

Deleted
    Quote Originally Posted by Lilcheeks View Post
    I don't calculate what it costs to eat healthy, but one thing I'm sure of is eating out anywhere is going to cost me more than preparing my own healthy meals at home. Its not even close.