We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
Dismiss
Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    Nvidia GTX 1070 GPU Pascal downclocks all the time in WOW = bad performance

    My GPU downclocks itself to idle speeds, from 2100 mhz to 1600 mhz during gameplay in WOW. When this happens I take a huge FPS dump.
    I have been running the game at max settings. Though it seems the problems occur a little bit less if I play with some lower settings.

    This problems occur both when I play by myself, questing around and in raids, but its more likely to happend in crowded areas. So its not that the GPU is getting overloaded or something and clocks down the GPU to idle speeds. The GPU usage normally stays at 30-70% when playing wow and never goes over 75 degrees.
    The CPU never goes over 50% (normally around 35-40%) in load on a single core, the other cores are around 0-20% load. And my CPU is overclocked to 4.5 ghz and stays around 40-60 degrees warm during game play.

    I tried a lot of different power settings. I tried set power management mode in the Nvidia Control Panel to Maximum Performance, didnt do anything.
    I tried to set the windows power plan to high performance, didnt help either.
    Someone recommend me to go into the settings of the Xbox app in Windows 10 and turn of game dvr, but that didnt do anything as well.
    I have also tried to change draw distance in game to a 7 and put shadow quality settings to high. Didnt fix it either.


    My setup:
    5820K OC (4,5 ghz)| MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW OC (2100 mhz / 9200 mhz) | Samsung NVMe SM961 1TB | G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 3000mhz (running at 2666mhz) 8x4GB / 32GB | EVGA SuperNOVA P2 1000W | Asus ROG Swift PG348Q (3440x1440) | 2 x Dell U2714H (2560x1440) | WIN 10 Pro 64-bit (Anniversary Edition)


    I am running out of solutions, so if anyone has any advice I could try, it would be very appreciated.
    It's starting to look like there is some problem with the new Nvidias 10-series Pascal and wow.
    Last edited by muSPK; 2016-10-09 at 10:34 AM.

  2. #2
    My GPU is weaker than yours and it never lets wow drop below 60 FPS unless i enable some heavy anti-aliasing.
    However i do play at 1920*1080 resolution, perhaps your 2560 resolution is sometimes too much for 1070?

    Download some of those GPU testing softwares and give your GPU a solid test or two, then compare with others of the same model over internet.
    By doing that you will at least determine if the problem is in your GPU/whole system, or just in WoW.

    Alo it never hurts to go through all the bios/uefi settings, you never know what kind of crazy option might be enabled there.
    Open up your bios and check what each setting does, google what you do not know (use phone or 2nd pc).

  3. #3
    Analyzing per-core CPU usage on Windows is unfortunately not that trivial, because even with a single thread using 100% of one core, Windows will not show it as such, so its still quite possible that you are bottle-necked there.

  4. #4
    I have the same card. Evga 1070 FTW to be specific. I had similar problems in the beginning, but I am not sure what fixed it. There was talk on Nvidia forum that it was drivers not being optimized.

    Have you installed the newest bios and graphics driver?

  5. #5
    Mine (1060) downclocks all the time, in fact most of the time it's not at the max clockspeed.
    That's because the driver automatically adjusts the speed, it just means you are at your locked framerate (60fps or whatever) and/or your cpu is the limiting factor.

    This behavior is totally normal and working as intended.

    (and yes, a cpu utilization of around 50% means your cpu is maxed out in wow)

  6. #6
    You're CPU limited at those times and your software is not showing it in a useful way. Downclocking is normal even on significantly weaker cards because the game is quite GPU light and CPU heavy, a powerful graphics card will be underloaded even on high resolutions while the CPU decides performance.

    Setting shadows to minimum and the three 1-10 sliders to ~5-7ish will help a lot but you'll still see lower CPU-limited performance in some areas and around lots of people. Legion has generally been heavier on the CPU and less optimized than previous expansions as well, even with the "correct" settings - some stuff really needs to be fixed like some extremely CPU heavy spell effects.
    Last edited by Svisalith; 2016-10-09 at 11:00 AM.

  7. #7
    The Patient Kondik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Amongst the Gods of Chaos in the Warp
    Posts
    215
    My friend, I have yet to see my GTX 1070 on Its full clocks in WOW ...
    the highest I've seen it is 1633 / 4000
    In FF XIV for example there's no problem seeign it clocked 2025/4000
    WOW is SPESHUL. What do you expect from an ancient engine that gets a new slap of paint every expansion.
    It's like a load of make up on a porn actress.
    If you ever see her without her make-up you'll need more than Imagination.

    But if you really feel that's the frequencies are your problem, go into Nvidia Control panel - > Manage 3D setings -> and switch you POWER handling of the card.
    Intel i7 4790K - Noctua D15 - ASUS HERO VII - 32GB 2133MHz DDR3 - GTX 1070 - 4x CRUCIAL MX200 500 GB - 43" SONY 808C GW2870 - SteelSeries 6v2 & Rival

  8. #8
    Game is poorly fucking optimized. Especially for Pascal chips. Its been proven in a 15+ page thread on official Technical Support forums. Changing settings in WoW does nothing.


    I'm on a 1080. Can't get more than 45FPS in Suramar.

  9. #9
    High Overlord Caketime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    scandinordica
    Posts
    186
    Same happens to gtx970. You can set energy saving to performance to get 100% clock, but you won't get the "boost" clock during normal play. You have to "force" p0 in some software or flash your BIOS to get it to run at full clocks in applications.

    I never found a decent solution for 100% clock (+boost) in games and keep downclock in windows. It is really vexing. I settled for running with performance setting as a specific setting for every game I run. It's so stupid how it works. If you run an older game that really isnt that demanding/badly optimized the card will throttle to like 500MHz on core and give you 30 fps @ 5% load.

    This "green" energy saving bullsh*t has to stop. Who cares about that shit when you have a performance PC for gaming? I sure as hell don't.

  10. #10
    The Patient Kondik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Amongst the Gods of Chaos in the Warp
    Posts
    215
    Well as per my observation, on an open field in Thunder Totem, here are the readings.
    Not like this is news, I used to keep MSI afterburner on for the 1st month and just turned it off recently because nothing can surprise me anymore with the WOW DX9 Maked Up DX11 Engine.

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B89...ew?usp=sharing

    Yup WOW engine, such great, many optimized , very new.
    Doesn't matter what you throw at it it will run like it runs.

    I had Nvidia Overpriced Edition of 1080 , same results, basically. I can OC the CPU to 4.6 or leave it at 4.0 ( Turbo Off for SCIENCE ! ) and the results are nearly the same , few FPS +/-
    Last edited by Kondik; 2016-10-09 at 01:50 PM. Reason: Slight tweaks of formatting.
    Intel i7 4790K - Noctua D15 - ASUS HERO VII - 32GB 2133MHz DDR3 - GTX 1070 - 4x CRUCIAL MX200 500 GB - 43" SONY 808C GW2870 - SteelSeries 6v2 & Rival

  11. #11
    It's downclocked because you are still CPU limited.
    Windows' own Task Manager is not way to go when checking for the cpu utilisation.
    It's easy to see when you download software like Argus Monitor and analyze 15 mins playthrough on the CPU cores and GPU load charts.
    Only one of the CPU cores is really working hard and its utilisation nears 100% most of the time even if you are overclocked to 4500+.
    Hence the GPU has next to nothing to do there.
    Feral4Life since 2005
    cpu: Intel i7-5820K @ 4.5GHz mobo: Gigabyte X99-Ultra Gaming
    cooling: BeQuiet! Dark Rock 3 gpu: MSI GTX-1070 Gaming X 8G
    hdd: Samsung F1 and F3 ssd: Samsung 830 sound: sadly onboard ALC1150
    case: Silverstone Fortress 2 Limited Edition (WRI) (I love that beauty)
    ram: 16G G.Skill 3200 display: iiyama XB2783HSU (AMVA)

  12. #12
    The Patient Kondik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Amongst the Gods of Chaos in the Warp
    Posts
    215
    And Mr. Auron above me is the living proof how bad WOW engine is, but we have to work with what we have.
    Not like they will change it anyhow.

    Since legion launched the Engine has been stretched so far I'm waiting for it to implode on itself, I have never seen so many bugs , issues, evades, like in Legion.
    Mobs portin on you through the whole suramar to beat on you stun you only to port back to their space, or evading while killing you , or mobs resetting when they are moved 5 inches to the right so you have to kill it on the left side. I hope they give it a fancy Shmancy DX12 Upgrade so we will watch it from the front rows how this ancient slab won't be able to handle it.

    ANybody with Water and some 5 GHz Intel willing to try it ?
    The Aniversary Dual Core Pentiums could OC like mad, anybody volunteering ? I'd love to see the Load chart. 75% Load on Dual core because 25% on Core 2 is Music set to 64 Channels - HIGH *grin*
    Intel i7 4790K - Noctua D15 - ASUS HERO VII - 32GB 2133MHz DDR3 - GTX 1070 - 4x CRUCIAL MX200 500 GB - 43" SONY 808C GW2870 - SteelSeries 6v2 & Rival

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    I'm on a 1080. Can't get more than 45FPS in Suramar.
    That's strange. I got the same card and Im at 100FPS+ on 1440p in Suramar. Enviroment details and distance set to 7. Shadow to lowest. What CPU are you using? Im using a 6600k.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Game is poorly fucking optimized. Especially for Pascal chips. Its been proven in a 15+ page thread on official Technical Support forums. Changing settings in WoW does nothing.


    I'm on a 1080. Can't get more than 45FPS in Suramar.
    Turn environment details down, you're welcome.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Arukie View Post
    That's strange. I got the same card and Im at 100FPS+ on 1440p in Suramar. Enviroment details and distance set to 7. Shadow to lowest. What CPU are you using? Im using a 6600k.
    It's because he probaly has environment details at at very high along with shadows. Think i'm running details at 7 now and Ultra high shadows and still rocking at 100fps. That's with a 1080 card too

    If people have a card like 1080 and don't want it to downclock because WoW is CPU heavy, may i suggest you turn your render scale up? It helped me and i haven't experienced any downclocks ever since i set it to 150% since it keeps my GPU at a 70-80% load

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Arukie View Post
    That's strange. I got the same card and Im at 100FPS+ on 1440p in Suramar. Enviroment details and distance set to 7. Shadow to lowest. What CPU are you using? Im using a 6600k.
    Same proc with a 1070 running 4k. Never drop below 100fps. Shadows are medium, and Water is medium. Everything else is maxed out.

  16. #16
    The Patient Kondik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Amongst the Gods of Chaos in the Warp
    Posts
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by Mavicz View Post
    Same proc with a 1070 running 4k. Never drop below 100fps. Shadows are medium, and Water is medium. Everything else is maxed out.
    Yup SHADOWS ! , Guys read what's ULTRA shadows. SOFT shadows, is a hog , expecially on a engine like WOW has. Soft shadows have always been resource hogs, but with a "leaky pipe" its even more so.

    You can push everything to 10 n drop shadows and smile at sudden performance bump.
    Intel i7 4790K - Noctua D15 - ASUS HERO VII - 32GB 2133MHz DDR3 - GTX 1070 - 4x CRUCIAL MX200 500 GB - 43" SONY 808C GW2870 - SteelSeries 6v2 & Rival

  17. #17
    Legendary! Dukenukemx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Better part of NJ
    Posts
    6,416
    Someone in another post updated their GPU's firmware and it fixed their issue. I think they had a 1080. You might want to look into a BIOS/Firmware update.

  18. #18
    I guess everyone in this thread didn't turn their shadows down.


    I don't want to be a jerk but honestly. Myself and the many other people in this thread have tried everything.

    http://us.battle.net/forums/en/wow/t...965409?page=15

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Caketime View Post
    Same happens to gtx970. You can set energy saving to performance to get 100% clock, but you won't get the "boost" clock during normal play. You have to "force" p0 in some software or flash your BIOS to get it to run at full clocks in applications.

    I never found a decent solution for 100% clock (+boost) in games and keep downclock in windows. It is really vexing. I settled for running with performance setting as a specific setting for every game I run. It's so stupid how it works. If you run an older game that really isnt that demanding/badly optimized the card will throttle to like 500MHz on core and give you 30 fps @ 5% load.

    This "green" energy saving bullsh*t has to stop. Who cares about that shit when you have a performance PC for gaming? I sure as hell don't.
    When I "force" the graphic card to run at max speeds in EVGA PrecisionX OC tool I still get FPS drops, so I dont think that is a solution unfortunately.
    The game ran better on my GTX 980 Ti, with the same hardware setup up, but the Pre Patch wasnt released yet at that point, so it could be that Legion is bad optimized or that the support for Nvidia Pascal chips are not fully supported yet in the game.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Kondik View Post
    I had Nvidia Overpriced Edition of 1080 , same results, basically. I can OC the CPU to 4.6 or leave it at 4.0 ( Turbo Off for SCIENCE ! ) and the results are nearly the same , few FPS +/-
    Same results here, I have tried to remove the overclock of my CPU to see if that was causing any issue, and I notice that the game was still performing almost the same on 3,6ghz as of 4.5. Maybe gained a few more FPS on the overclock.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Deng View Post
    It's downclocked because you are still CPU limited.
    Windows' own Task Manager is not way to go when checking for the cpu utilisation.
    It's easy to see when you download software like Argus Monitor and analyze 15 mins playthrough on the CPU cores and GPU load charts.
    Only one of the CPU cores is really working hard and its utilisation nears 100% most of the time even if you are overclocked to 4500+.
    Hence the GPU has next to nothing to do there.
    Why do you assume I am using Windows own task manager, I never mentioned that. I am using Core Temp for years and it has never failed me to show CPU core loads and heat on every core. Its really usefull tool when u're testing your system stability with Prime95. So yes the load when I play wow is around 40% so I cant see that my CPU is bottlenecking.

  20. #20
    Why do you assume I am using Windows own task manager, I never mentioned that. I am using Core Temp for years and it has never failed me to show CPU core loads and heat on every core. Its really usefull tool when u're testing your system stability with Prime95. So yes the load when I play wow is around 40% so I cant see that my CPU is bottlenecking.
    CoreTemp doesn't have a performance chart that shows the load over time, try different tools and it will be obvious.
    Also as far as I remember it doesn't show the load on the hyperthreaded virtual cores - so when it shows 40% load on core 3 it can be interpreted as for example - 80% on virtual core 6 and 0 on virtual core 7. If that's the case - disable HT in bios and you'll see the load difference with CoreTemp (real core utilisation).
    Argus (it's paid software) also has the GPU load chart over time.
    1070 simply does nothing with downclocked speeds and GPU load averaging on 40-50%.

    Having very similar configuration as you have I can tell you that one CPU core is most of the time at 100% load with 4.5GHz and others are at 0-30 when in Suramar for example.
    WoW was always CPU intensive and with Legion there's simply no CPU on the market that will give you constant 60fps with all the sliders turned to 10.
    Last edited by Deng; 2016-10-10 at 09:31 PM.
    Feral4Life since 2005
    cpu: Intel i7-5820K @ 4.5GHz mobo: Gigabyte X99-Ultra Gaming
    cooling: BeQuiet! Dark Rock 3 gpu: MSI GTX-1070 Gaming X 8G
    hdd: Samsung F1 and F3 ssd: Samsung 830 sound: sadly onboard ALC1150
    case: Silverstone Fortress 2 Limited Edition (WRI) (I love that beauty)
    ram: 16G G.Skill 3200 display: iiyama XB2783HSU (AMVA)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •