Thread: Skyrim is Laggy

  1. #1
    High Overlord appleezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    199

    Skyrim is Laggy

    I have Skyrim for the PC and it's a bit laggy. How do I increase the performance? The settings are on medium and I even lowered them more.

  2. #2
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    188
    Works perfectly fine on my system, maybe your computer needs an upgrade.

  3. #3
    The Insane Cattaclysmic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Århus
    Posts
    17,896
    A better graphics card? more ram, quad core etc etc... Not really sure what you can do if not a hardware upgrade

  4. #4
    if u cant upgrade your hardware then just turn the settings down to low and it should be fine.

  5. #5
    Stood in the Fire Aíoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    In a plant
    Posts
    362
    Running with lots of programs in the background? Shut them down. Hell, you can even shut down explorer if needed. Don't use Windows 7 Aero theme. If all of this is done, check your speccs and what is required for Skyrim. If they are too low, even for minimum speccs, then you gotta get a new computer if you wanna play it, most likely. If they are over the minimum, booting/formating your pc (You know, the tool where Windows deletes EVERYTHING on your PC and then re-intalls Windows(It is a good thing to do this once a year)). This worked wonders for me! :b Once I could barely run GTA IV on lowest settings, now I run it on highest with two screens and other stuff running, no problems.

    If none of this works, then it is your PC's fault. How old is your pc anyways?
    You miss 100% of the shots you don't take

  6. #6
    High Overlord Hawkyy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    135
    Lower resolution? Turn down the option thats taking up the most vram, normally shadows or aa for me.

  7. #7
    High Overlord appleezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    199
    I just got my PC in June, brand new. I'm not sure what's up I don't have anything running in the background either.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by appleezz View Post
    I have Skyrim for the PC and it's a bit laggy. How do I increase the performance? The settings are on medium and I even lowered them more.
    Yet you don't mention specs.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by appleezz View Post
    I just got my PC in June, brand new. I'm not sure what's up I don't have anything running in the background either.
    Just because you got it in june doesnt mean it has the best hardware...and june is a while ago in PC hardware terms.

    If you want further help, we need the specs mate

  10. #10
    Just because a PC is new, doesn't mean it good at playing games.

  11. #11
    The Insane smrund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In the state of Denial.
    Posts
    15,498
    Post your PC specs. If you "bought it", I'm assuming you bought the computer just off the shelf. Many retail computers are sorely lacking, especially in the graphics department.
    Quote Originally Posted by Masark View Post
    People in cars cause accidents. Accidents in cars cause people.
    Sometimes life gives you lemons, other times life gives you boobies. Life is always better with more boobies.
    Blizzard removed my subscription from WoD's features, it'll be added sometime later.
    And thus I give you: MALE contraception!

  12. #12
    Mechagnome Auralian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Chicago,Ill
    Posts
    578
    Toms did a review on Skyrim. Any comp running a 2ghz dual core and matched with at least a 430 or 5570 should be able to handle it @ 1680x1050 in medium settings for a average of 35 FPS.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...k,3074-10.html

    You might want to look at updating your drivers and the settings you are using. I am running the game on my older system " Athlon 2.5ghz O.C with a 450 GTS" and it runs fine in medium. I'd put it on my newer systems but I can never get the kids off them to do so

  13. #13
    Let's get facts straight once for all. You can't have a singleplayer game "lagging". LAG is connection disruption and you are referring to "low FPS".

  14. #14
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    13,091
    Quote Originally Posted by rinleezwins View Post
    Let's get facts straight once for all. You can't have a singleplayer game "lagging". LAG is connection disruption and you are referring to "low FPS".
    And yet common misunderstanding will always take over what is technically correct. Lag and Low FPS act similar in a lot of cases (particlarly in FPS games), but the end result is the same either way; less than optimal playing experience.

    Regardless, we need system specs. It's of no use recommending anything until we have those.
    Coder, Gamer - IOCube | #Error418MasterRace #ScottBrokeIt
    Knows: Node.js, JS + JQuery, HTML + CSS, Object Pascal, PHP, WQL/SQL

    PC: 750D / 16GB / 256GB + 750GB / GTX780 / 4670K / Z87X-UD4H | Laptop: 8GB / 120GB + 480GB / GTX765M / 4700MQ

  15. #15
    The Patient natureca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    255
    I'd take the assumption that if you bought just a regular desktop PC from a place and don't know the specs of it that It either doesn't have a discrete Video card or it has a really minimal one. Most computers you find in retail stores forgo the fancy video card because a majority of users will never have a use for it. You really only need one if your playing games so go to your Control panel --> System ---> device manager and see whats listed under your display adapters.

    Post here with that + your CPU/ram should give us an Idea of if your computer can handle it or if you need to upgrade one of those things.
    Desktop - AMD FX-8120 @ 3.8ghz - 8GB DDR3 OCZ - Sapphire 7870
    Laptop - M11X. Revision1 - 1.7ghz ULV Dual Core - 4GB DDR2 - GT335M


  16. #16
    What type if video card do you have?

    Hardocp did a performance review and had issues with the HD 6970 not sure if it applies to all AMD cards. they were saying they experienced mouse lag. They found .ini fixes for it. I would suggest checking the official support forums for those fixes.

    http://hardocp.com/article/2011/11/1...e_iq_preview/3
    Last edited by dicertification; 2011-11-11 at 07:10 PM.

  17. #17
    Never buy pc packages in stores. Get a friends who knows a bit to build it for you. Stores will always rip you off.

  18. #18
    Blademaster GDkitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by rinleezwins View Post
    Never buy pc packages in stores. Get a friends who knows a bit to build it for you. Stores will always rip you off.
    Not necessarily true.

    Most big stores, will sell you the WRONG PC for you.. but its not necessarily a rip off.. it may just not cover everything that you want to do.

    But if you look at base hardware specs.. cpu speed, ram, HDD space, etc.. and adding in OS cost.. the retail ones are usualy actualy CHEAPER than one built by hand. They often just lack in the graphics department, but you can add a better video card to it.

    Unless your a stickler for which brand parts are in it.. for most people on a budget, this is the better way to go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •