Page 1 of 3
1
2
3
LastLast
  1. #1

    Cheapest gfx card needed to run SWTOR on max settings?

    I enjoy playing games, I enjoy having nice graphics, but I don't enjoy spending big money. lol. I would like to upgrade my dual 240 GTS SLi cards with a single card that will allow me to play this game at its highest settings. Anyone have speculation as to what card that would be and about how much it would cost?

  2. #2
    Pit Lord philefluxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Silicon Highway
    Posts
    2,304
    Well my guess is a 500 series that will probably run between $200-$350, but with the holiday maybe less. Or you can go with a 400 series run graphics on almost everything on high for $120-$150. Oh and these are Nvidia series cards, I dont do ATI.

  3. #3
    High Overlord nyoan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    West Lafayette, Indiana
    Posts
    158
    What resolution do you run? And what is your processor?

    I am able to run with everything on high at 1400x900 with an i3 2120 and a ATI 6870HD.

    That card would run you around 150-170 before rebates.

    Its possible even a 6850 would work, but I'm not entirely sure on that. Not sure how TOR breaks up the workload between CPU and GPU.
    Vidso, Vanguard Shield Specialist
    Evil meet my Rifle. RIFLE MEET EVIL!
    Founding member of Bantha Squad
    The Ebon Hawk server

  4. #4
    Assuming you're running a 1080p resolution I'd suggest a Radeon HD 6870.

    Or wait until next weeks by which time AMD will (hopefully) have announced their next-gen GPUs (most of which are going to be re-brands anyway, but it might save you a few $).

  5. #5
    1680x1050 is what my 20inch monitor recommends. I have Win7, E8400 overclocked to 3.4 ghz, 4 gig of ram, and the two gfx cards. I was looking at the 500 series, possibly the 550 or the 560 but they are close to my price range. Hard to convince the wife to let me spend $60 on a game and $300 on a card at Christmas time when that could be spent on our daughter.

  6. #6
    The Patient Darthmatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The You Kay
    Posts
    295
    I ran Max settings on beta with a 560 Ti with no problems, so I'm guessing a 560 would do about the same job

    Intel i7 2600K | Gigabyte GTX670 OC | 2x4Gb DDR3 1600Mhz GSkill RipjawsX | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 1Tb Samsung HDD | CM Storm Scout/700W Coolermaster PSU

  7. #7
    The Patient thenextaverageguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW: TOR V.I.P Room ;)
    Posts
    225
    I do alright with a 200 series Nvidia card, cost 200$ i did notice at times my fps was a tad wierd but i found out that i was a driver behind on that and my Inet.

  8. #8
    I was running max settings with my ATI Radeon 4850 HD so ..

  9. #9
    The "max" settings from the beta were technically medium right? There were no high res textures released in this beta, right?

  10. #10
    It's hard to know. Most people were experiencing stuttering due to the debug running in the background of the beta. There were also a lot of driver issues and poor engine optimization which could be fixed by release. I was running pretty OK on high settings using an HD 5850. I expect to be able to crank it up a bit upon release.

  11. #11
    I think co-factors are the screen resolution you'll be running at, as well as amount and speed of ram as well as processor capabilities.

    But incase you're wondering, I play on a OC i5 at 4.5 ghz and an OC 580 GTX. ultra settings = 200+ frame rates on a 1080p 27-inch widescreen.

  12. #12
    I've been playing on max (before last weekends watering down) and run max settings with an amd 1055t 6 core and radeon 5770, if that helps any.
    Apply blizzards model to any other subscription service,you'd be outraged:
    Netflix adds no new movies for a year, you click a new movie, there's a $5 fee.
    You're in an accident, click your onstar button, but there's an addition $20 fee for them to help.
    You turn on your tv only to find all you get are the infomercial channels. Every other show is pay per view.
    See how dumb that model is?

  13. #13
    Pandaren Monk Jakexe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Aussie Land
    Posts
    1,870
    GTX560ti should suffice. My suggestion is:

    http://www.evga.com/products/moreInf...s%20Family&sw=
    i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || ASUS Sabertooth Z77 || EVGA GTX690 || 16GB G-Skill || 128GB+512GB SSD (PRO/EVO) || 2TB+4TB WD Blacks || Corsair HX-850W || Custom Water Cooling
    Cooler Master HAF X || ASUS PB278Q 2560x1440 || Logitech G19 || Cyborg RAT7 || Xonar DX || BitFenix Recon Fan Controller

  14. #14
    I run max settings on a Radeon 6850 with no FPs issues, cost around 120 bucks after rebates. Good time to buy.

  15. #15
    i played on my evga gtx 460 and i had no problems with settings jacked all the way up this weekend.

  16. #16
    i run with a 550 TI and i ran in the beta this past weekend and i didn't have any stutters i also run a 6 core amd 1055T and 4 gigs of ram of course i have a 20 meg connection at all times to so that might help to lol

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Seekr View Post
    I enjoy playing games, I enjoy having nice graphics, but I don't enjoy spending big money. lol. I would like to upgrade my dual 240 GTS SLi cards with a single card that will allow me to play this game at its highest settings. Anyone have speculation as to what card that would be and about how much it would cost?
    you understand that even if you get the best GPU on the market, if you have a crappy cpu you wont be able to play the game in max settings right? the game is mostly cpu intensive much like wow is as well ... you could easily get bottlenecked by a shitty cpu and never see over medium settings.

    Will also depend on your resolution your wanting to play the game. My cousins pc has 2 5850s along with an AMD cpu (have to check his pc but i know it was not top of the line) playing the game in 1920x1080 everything was running smoothly in this last beta weekend, he was able to have i believe a few settings at High and select like maybe 2 settings on Low for him to play with no hitches. This is also not taking into consideration that AA hasnt been released and neither has their High Resolution textures.
    Last edited by Kepi; 2011-12-01 at 06:09 AM.
    Thanks Caiti for the Signature and Avatar

  18. #18
    I've got a fucking 4 year old GTX260 Sp216 and I play on max with 4xAA at 1680x1050. Sometimes the FPS drops bellow 30 though.

    Go a gen up. If you can find a GTX460 (or the AMD equivalent), that would probably be good for all resolutions up to 1920x1080. Of course assuming your processor is good enough to handle the frame buffer.
    Torethirnyi, Blackwing's Bane - Orc Enhancement Shaman - <Conviction> of Korgath - (H) 9/13 25-man - Retired from WoW in 4.1
    Champion Torethyr Sarin - Cyborg Vengeance Juggernaut - <Conviction> of Prophecy of the Five - 10/10 Nightmare Mode - Retired

    Nothing makes you hate MMOs more than having played MMOs.

  19. #19
    Keyboard Turner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    philadelphia pa
    Posts
    3
    I've heard more people are having problems with Nvidia cards (myself) compared to ATI,
    Do some research on both cards if I were you..

    Follow me at Cifuz on Twitter....

  20. #20
    Two options:

    1. Buy now, get a ATI Radeon HD 6850 or Nvidia GTX 460 TI
    2. Buy later this month, get a ATI Radeon HD 7850

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •