Deleted

Got some processor problem. Any help would be appreciated. :)

i'll try to explain as best as I can because i'm not too good with explanations!

So my processor has decided on it's own (somehow) that it has 3 speeds. Bad - Average - Good.

My processor most of the time runs in "bad" and randomly changes to "average". About 10 seconds after it goes into "average" it goes to "good" and then for however long my computer needs it in good, it stays but when it doesn't need that much speed it goes back to bad. And the cycle starts again and again and it's really starting to frustrate me.

Any ideas?

P.S I understand that this isn't the best explanation ever and will try to be online for follow up questions within the next 30 minutes, due to, you know, needing some sleep.

Edit: Forgot to include what processor it is, purely just copying the name from the properties: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU P6100

That is how Speedstep is supposed to work. It lowers the speed when it isn't being used to reduce power usage and heat.

10+ Year Old Account
    Are you referring to the clock speeds of your CPU? If so, it might just be the processor changing the clocks/voltages to reduce power consumption and wear on your CPU.

Deleted
    Speedstep? *frantically googles* Damn it to hell...Any idea of how to stop it or maybe lower the threshold?

And I guess I am probably referring to the clock speed. It does tend to lower the heat generated and the battery life is drastically changed when it happens so I guess that is probably about right.

Quote Originally Posted by Zuija View Post
    Speedstep? *frantically googles* Damn it to hell...Any idea of how to stop it or maybe lower the threshold?

And I guess I am probably referring to the clock speed. It does tend to lower the heat generated and the battery life is drastically changed when it happens so I guess that is probably about right.