Page 7 of 66 FirstFirst ...
5
6
7
8
9
17
57
... LastLast
  1. #121
    CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
    RAM: not sure
    GPU: ATI RADEON X800 XL
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
    Direct X: DirectX 11

    I'm pretty confident it won't be able to run it, but I figure I'd ask.

  2. #122
    I am Murloc! Mif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tarnished Coast
    Posts
    5,629
    Quote Originally Posted by HerrUhyre View Post
    CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
    RAM: not sure
    GPU: ATI RADEON X800 XL
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
    Direct X: DirectX 11

    I'm pretty confident it won't be able to run it, but I figure I'd ask.
    Unfortunately not
    You'll need a new graphics card.

  3. #123
    The Lightbringer Rivehn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    3,967
    Quote Originally Posted by HerrUhyre View Post
    CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
    RAM: not sure
    GPU: ATI RADEON X800 XL
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
    Direct X: DirectX 11

    I'm pretty confident it won't be able to run it, but I figure I'd ask.
    Hm, Yeah thats a bit rough. There is still time to build a computer if you have income that is. Although you might be able to run low settings with low fps. Although like many have said we need to wait until they release specs.

  4. #124
    Bloodsail Admiral Cuchulainn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    On the Exodar, lecturing Neophytes.
    Posts
    1,058
    I'm now accepting small loans to build a new computer. No worries, I'll just sell gold online and pay people back via paypal.
    /jk

  5. #125
    The Lightbringer Kickbuttmario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Posts
    3,191
    Quote Originally Posted by Rivehn View Post
    That should be more then enough for ultra settings and probably low shadow. Pop a 460 gtx and you can max that baby.
    I'm not sure. If in RIFT, I can't run the game in ultra settings without trying to get 30 fps then how do I know I will be able to get ultra on GW2, which arguably looks far better than RIFT.

    PS. Why not get the Radeon HD 6990? Isn't that considered to be the best video card at the moment?
    Last edited by Kickbuttmario; 2012-02-13 at 06:17 AM.
    I am KickButtMario. I kick butt because I am Mario. The coolest, longest, living, protagonist out there in the video game industry.

    Currently playing WoW: BigFattMario TallKidLuigi PeachIsCute

  6. #126
    Mechagnome Selxxa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by Kickbuttmario View Post
    Please Help Me. I literally bought a new computer in hopes to actually play new games and mainly guild wars 2.

    Here is my spec:

    Operating System:Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1 Build 7601)
    RAM (Memory) : 4096 MB
    CPUProcessor): Intel (R) Core (TM)2 Quad CPU Q6700 @ 2.66Hz (4 CPUs), ~2.7Ghz
    Direct X: Direction X 11
    GPU (Graphics card): ATI Radeon HD 5850

    I can't run RIFT with over 60 FPS in low/mid/custom settings so I am worrying if I can even run GW2. Or unless I have to get a better video card.
    Honestly, your CPU seems like more of a bottleneck than your video card. I'd suggest upgrading your CPU and going up to 8GB of RAM.
    We will stand above the city, rising high above the streets
    From tops of buildings we will look, at all that lies beneath our feet
    We will raise our hands above us, cold steel shining in the sun
    With these hands that will not bleed, my father's battle will be won!

    Drakkosh Zhysta Shivarra Tesela

  7. #127
    Quote Originally Posted by Selxxa View Post
    Honestly, your CPU seems like more of a bottleneck than your video card. I'd suggest upgrading your CPU and going up to 8GB of RAM.
    Trust me, there's no way he could get a reasonably priced upgrade to that CPU. High end Socket 775 quads are rarely available and expensive. It wouldn't even be worth it, he just needs to overclock it.

    To that guy: also don't invest in 8GB if all your slots are filled, unless you get a seriously good deal. DDR2 isn't going to be a great purchase if you have to replace all your RAM.
    Last edited by tohyatvc; 2012-02-13 at 09:51 AM.

  8. #128
    Quote Originally Posted by Rivehn View Post
    That should be more then enough for ultra settings and probably low shadow. Pop a 460 gtx and you can max that baby.
    I thought the hd 5850 is better than the gtx460.

  9. #129
    If GW2 is anything like the games released in the past two years, it will have the following system requirements to play on low or medium settings:

    2 GHz dual core CPU
    2 GB RAM
    Geforce 8600 GT / Radeon 3650 / something like that

  10. #130
    I am Murloc! Mif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tarnished Coast
    Posts
    5,629
    Quote Originally Posted by nektar View Post
    I thought the hd 5850 is better than the gtx460.
    My references say it is.

  11. #131
    Quote Originally Posted by nektar View Post
    I thought the hd 5850 is better than the gtx460.
    It is.
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/315?vs=295

  12. #132
    Quote Originally Posted by Kouki View Post
    Your wrong, the games you listed do not use umbra, and umbra is used in guildwars 2 it is a huge difference in optimization and will run better then thoes games, dont judge your benchmarking based on the graphics.
    Thats the point. Benchmark your PC in games that have much higher reqruiments that GW 2 should have.

  13. #133
    The Lightbringer Rivehn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    3,967
    Hm I may have read his gpu wrong,my bad.

  14. #134
    I am already confident that my computer can NOT run GW2. Which puts the "if you have a dx11 gpu you will be fine" in the laughable statements. I could be wrong, but I highly doubt it.

    But because I am curious, despite me 99% sure the answer would be no, here's mine.
    OS: Windows 7 home premium 64bit
    Ram: 4096mb
    CPU: AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (2 cpus) ~1.6ghz
    DirectX: DX11
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6320 integrated video card.

    That's my set up. It plays WoW on medium at about 20 fps (11-15 in SW, 2 on Zon'ozz shadow phase), Rift on low-quality at 12-18 fps (3-8 during large invasions at boss phase). Takes about 10-15 seconds to load up characters in Rift when there are a large number (cities, invasions). But I can run GW1 on max settings and get about 30fps. All of this is at 1920x1080 resolution.

  15. #135
    Quote Originally Posted by Pachycrocuta View Post
    I am already confident that my computer can NOT run GW2. Which puts the "if you have a dx11 gpu you will be fine" in the laughable statements. I could be wrong, but I highly doubt it.

    But because I am curious, despite me 99% sure the answer would be no, here's mine.
    OS: Windows 7 home premium 64bit
    Ram: 4096mb
    CPU: AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (2 cpus) ~1.6ghz
    DirectX: DX11
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6320 integrated video card.

    That's my set up. It plays WoW on medium at about 20 fps (11-15 in SW, 2 on Zon'ozz shadow phase), Rift on low-quality at 12-18 fps (3-8 during large invasions at boss phase). Takes about 10-15 seconds to load up characters in Rift when there are a large number (cities, invasions). But I can run GW1 on max settings and get about 30fps. All of this is at 1920x1080 resolution.
    No I'm afraid, if u are running WoW with low fps, i can't see how u should play GW2 with a 1920x1080 resolution

  16. #136
    Scarab Lord Loaf Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rue d'Auseil
    Posts
    4,559
    Quote Originally Posted by Pachycrocuta View Post
    I am already confident that my computer can NOT run GW2. Which puts the "if you have a dx11 gpu you will be fine" in the laughable statements. I could be wrong, but I highly doubt it.

    But because I am curious, despite me 99% sure the answer would be no, here's mine.
    OS: Windows 7 home premium 64bit
    Ram: 4096mb
    CPU: AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (2 cpus) ~1.6ghz
    DirectX: DX11
    GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6320 integrated video card.

    That's my set up. It plays WoW on medium at about 20 fps (11-15 in SW, 2 on Zon'ozz shadow phase), Rift on low-quality at 12-18 fps (3-8 during large invasions at boss phase). Takes about 10-15 seconds to load up characters in Rift when there are a large number (cities, invasions). But I can run GW1 on max settings and get about 30fps. All of this is at 1920x1080 resolution.
    Would definitely upgrade the graphics card and CPU.

  17. #137
    Quote Originally Posted by Kickbuttmario View Post
    I'm not sure. If in RIFT, I can't run the game in ultra settings without trying to get 30 fps then how do I know I will be able to get ultra on GW2, which arguably looks far better than RIFT.

    PS. Why not get the Radeon HD 6990? Isn't that considered to be the best video card at the moment?
    Outside the good comments in response to your posts, keep in mind no one has anything substantial to base low end requirements on at this point, other than educated guessing. The gw2chart.jpg that is floating around is based off how the game ran during an alpha stage demo, back in 2010, on quad core machines, i5 760's with GTX 460 cards in them. See pages 1 through 4 where this information originated. The creator of the chart also used this hierarchy of video cards.

    One main problem with the chart is the alpha build at the time (summer, 2010) may not have included all of the various graphic features, which will be available at release. Again, it was probably a lot less optimized than current builds might be too. This is a video linked here often, showing those machines with tons of players in a small area. Note the game was probably running at 1900 x 1080 resolution, or close, and it's on whatever the high settings were.

    As for low end cards and machines, there are several things which suggest the game will be at least playable, though how it will look, I have no idea. To help with development, Anet has actually purchased old video cards from ebay to use to test the game. These were cards no longer in production, which at the time of the statement is something along the lines of the Nividia 7000, or 8000 series of cards, and the ATI X1 series. You can find this information on the site I linked to above.

  18. #138
    Quote Originally Posted by Roggles View Post
    Would definitely upgrade the graphics card and CPU.
    He's playing on a netbook. That CPU is Brazos, integrated graphics on die. It is a netbook chipset. Netbooks were never designed for gaming anyway.

    External monitor connected to play on a netbook, no less.

    Do you think mine would play it guys:

    Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.3GHz
    8GiB DDR3-1600
    Radeon 6950 2GB unlocked to 6970

    Oh wait, I already know the answer
    Last edited by tohyatvc; 2012-02-14 at 01:17 PM.

  19. #139
    Quote Originally Posted by tohyatvc View Post
    He's playing on a netbook. That CPU is Brazos, integrated graphics on die. It is a netbook chipset. Netbooks were never designed for gaming anyway.

    External monitor connected to play on a netbook, no less.

    Do you think mine would play it guys:

    Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.3GHz
    8GiB DDR3-1600
    Radeon 6950 2GB unlocked to 6970

    Oh wait, I already know the answer
    Actually, I am playing on an Acer Aspire desktop.

  20. #140
    Quote Originally Posted by Pachycrocuta View Post
    Actually, I am playing on an Acer Aspire desktop.
    Wow, they sold desktops with a netbook chipset. That's pretty low. I know about the nettops, the tiny little things, but I didn't realise there were full size machines sold with it.

    Huh, found it: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Acer-Black...indow/17193273

    I guess it's this one. Yeah, you won't be able to upgrade this, you'd need a new machine. It says it has a PCIe 16x slot, but I imagine the PSU in that is pathetic, and won't have any PCIe graphics power connectors. Even if you could get a great card in there, the CPU would be holding you back big time, and you already have the best CPU available in the Brazos line. It was designed for netbooks/low power/basic computing.
    Last edited by tohyatvc; 2012-02-14 at 01:56 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •