Page 9 of 66 FirstFirst ...
7
8
9
10
11
19
59
... LastLast
  1. #161
    I am Murloc! Mif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tarnished Coast
    Posts
    5,629
    Quote Originally Posted by Creepjack View Post
    Good:
    the game works really great on nvidia and intel (guys with gtx460 could max everything)
    I'm glad I'm on their sides of the fence on both counts

  2. #162
    Quote Originally Posted by achareat View Post
    No professional company would ever render half of its market unable to use a major product..
    That's why I've said they still have time to optimize - it's kinda the last thing you do in development process.

  3. #163
    Is GW2 a demanding game? Wondering if my rig can run it on Ultra @ 120 FPS or I'll have to cap it at 60.
    System Specs -
    CPU - i5 2500k @ 5ghz | CPU Cooler - RASA RX240 | Motherboard - Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3| GPU - Nvidia GTX 590|
    SSD - Crucial M4 128GB | RAM - 8GB Corsair Vengeance | PSU - Corsair TX850M | Case - CoolerMaster HAF 922
    | Monitor - Crossover 27Q (2560x1440) | Sidewinder X4 Keyboard |


  4. #164
    Quote Originally Posted by Mif View Post
    I'm glad I'm on their sides of the fence on both counts
    Same here, I'm an intel fanboy since their 386 processor which run on super high frequency of 16MHz - it was a lot back then =]. God.. suddenly.. I feel so old :/

  5. #165
    I am Murloc! Mif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tarnished Coast
    Posts
    5,629
    Quote Originally Posted by Creepjack View Post
    Same here, I'm an intel fanboy since their 386 processor which run on super high frequency of 16MHz - it was a lot back then =]. God.. suddenly.. I feel so old :/
    Don't worry, I remember when cpu "turbo" was a button on the case

  6. #166
    Quote Originally Posted by Mif View Post
    Don't worry, I remember when cpu "turbo" was a button on the case
    Hehe, good to know there are other "old-timers" here ;p.

    As for the topic at hand, I wouldn't worry, they really ARE good with optimizing, I'm sure GW2 will run fluently on both amd and intel systems.

  7. #167
    Quote Originally Posted by Mif View Post
    Don't worry, I remember when cpu "turbo" was a button on the case
    Wow that's a blast from the past. I was taught not to touch that button. Being the goody shoes boy, I've never pushed it before....


    Nice to hear that my setup will be fine too, sitting at a 460GT 1GB, 6GB ram and an i5 2400.

    Arenanet can take my money!

  8. #168
    Vista 64 Home Basic
    Radeon 4850 1gb
    8GB DDR2
    Intel Q6600 Quad OC'd to 2.7GHz

    Its an older PC I built back in high school. I'm hoping to get High out of it but we will see what happens.

  9. #169
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    128
    I reallly really hope i can run this on at least fair or medium so here goes

    Windows 7 home premium 64-bit
    intel core i5 processor 2300
    Nvidia GeForce GT 420 1024 mb
    1 tb hd
    6gb DDR3
    24 inch screen (1920x1080)
    Last edited by Tury123; 2012-02-21 at 03:22 AM.

  10. #170
    Computer:
    Operating System Windows 7 Home Premium Home Edition
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 1
    DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)

    Motherboard:
    CPU Type Intel Pentium III Xeon, 2600 MHz
    Motherboard Name Unknown
    Motherboard Chipset Unknown
    System Memory 3072 MB
    BIOS Type Award (10/03/08)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)

    Display:
    Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Monitor Generic PnP Monitor [NoDB] (L840B0183960)

    Multimedia:
    Audio Adapter High Definition Audio Controller [NoDB]
    Audio Adapter High Definition Audio Controller [NoDB]

    Storage:
    IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
    IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
    IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
    Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
    Disk Drive WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0 ATA Device
    Disk Drive WDC WD5000AAKB-00H8A0 ATA Device
    Disk Drive WDC WD800BB-75JHA0 ATA Device
    SMART Hard Disks Status Unknown

    Input:
    Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
    Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
    Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
    Mouse HID-compliant mouse
    Mouse Logitech HID-compliant G3/MX518 Optical Mouse



    Should I consider upgrades? Also sorry for wall text, kind of just cut and pasted from Everest.

  11. #171
    The Lightbringer Rivehn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    3,932
    Yeah if you even wanna play the game your going to need a new computer. Like that wont even play low well.

  12. #172
    This thread got necro'd? Well balls. I was hoping it would stay dead until the system requirements are ACTUALLY RELEASED, so it's not just a bunch of peening and guesswork.
    Telling someone they can or can't play the game when you have no idea yourself what type of system it takes to run at however many frames is silly.

  13. #173
    Herald of the Titans Kickbuttmario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Posts
    2,636
    Quote Originally Posted by Delias View Post
    This thread got necro'd? Well balls. I was hoping it would stay dead until the system requirements are ACTUALLY RELEASED, so it's not just a bunch of peening and guesswork.
    Telling someone they can or can't play the game when you have no idea yourself what type of system it takes to run at however many frames is silly.
    Some of the answers were based off from the computers that were used from their demo conventions from 2009 to this year as well. So some of the guesses might be very close, or insanely far off. Either way, look at the beta videos then we shall see some good comparisons.
    I am KickButtMario. I kick butt because I am Mario. The coolest, longest, living, protagonist out there in the video game industry.

    Currently playing Guild Wars 2 and Wildstar

  14. #174
    Quote Originally Posted by Creepjack View Post
    That's why I've said they still have time to optimize - it's kinda the last thing you do in development process.
    ^this.

    debugging > optimizing at all times.

  15. #175
    Herald of the Titans Jigain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,718
    Quote Originally Posted by Mif View Post
    Don't worry, I remember when cpu "turbo" was a button on the case
    Back in my days, "turbo" was a button on the casette player. Named "fast forward".

    Sometimes I still dig out that C64 and play a bit of Spy vs Spy or Gauntlet.

  16. #176
    Herald of the Titans Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,992
    Do we have some more information on the requirements after the press beta?

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W | NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080 | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  17. #177
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    Do we have some more information on the requirements after the press beta?
    Yes - well a bit ;]. Having in mind that they are still optimizing this game for now we know:
    - gtx460 + i5 will get you "almost" ultra settings
    - Ati cards (at this moment) are struggling
    - thing with AMD processors seems to be cleared up so it's not longer an issue

    I'm pretty sure we will be able to dig up even more info on specs following days, for now, it's enough.

  18. #178
    Stood in the Fire Rife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    463
    Ooo can I join in too?

    i5 2500k @ 5ghz - on water
    2 x 6950's flashed to 70's - on water and overclocked
    8GB 1600mhz Ripjaws - Dual Channel
    42" LED monitor
    Ergonomic chair - cos I like dat ergonomic stuff
    G15 and a G500
    60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD

    Stream | Youtube
    Latest Video: Heroic Iron Qon

  19. #179
    High Overlord hsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tallinn & Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by Rife View Post
    Ooo can I join in too?

    i5 2500k @ 5ghz - on water
    2 x 6950's flashed to 70's - on water and overclocked
    8GB 1600mhz Ripjaws - Dual Channel
    42" LED monitor
    Ergonomic chair - cos I like dat ergonomic stuff
    G15 and a G500
    60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD
    Well this topic is just plain 'look at my e-peen' now...

  20. #180
    Herald of the Titans Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,992
    Just watched Mike B's dungeon run and he's using an i7-920 and 5770 and getting 60FPS without fraps in the beta. Not sure what graphic settings he's using but it's looking good!

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W | NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080 | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •