Page 54 of 66 FirstFirst ...
4
44
52
53
54
55
56
64
... LastLast
  1. #1061
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    It's a pity you can't upvote posts on mmochampion. Because you sure would get an upvote from me.
    I approve of this thread and i approve of the example builds!

    Way to go Xuvial

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  2. #1062
    I don't think you can really rely on benches right now. The optimization with this games is completely bonkers for a handful of cards. I can run around most areas perfectly fine settings maxed capped at 60 FPS, but then when there's a bunch of stuff in the distance, my 560 ti will shoot down to 35% usage and my FPS will dip into the 30s with no additional strain on the CPU. Something isn't right.

    Cards that the game has issues with are seemingly missing out of the benchmarks from Tom's. The 6850, 560 ti and most widely reported, the 7850.

    Basically, there needs to be a buttload of optimization done on Arenanet's end. For what the game is pumping out visually, a 7970 or 670 shouldn't be capping out @ 70 FPS.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  3. #1063
    Hello all comming from 7 yrs of WoW never played guild wars 1 but i hear alit of people talking about 2 and watching videos has got me intrested in it and willing to give it a try to see if its that good or just another swtor hype basically i wanna know if i got it how would my comp run it ??

    AMD FX-4100 3.60 GHz Quad-Core AM3+ CPU 4MB L2 Cache & Turbo Core Technology

    [CrossFireX] GigaByte GA-970A-D3 AMD 970 Socket AM3+ ATX Mainboard w/ On/Off Charge, 7.1 Audio, GbLAN, USB3.0, SATA-III RAID, 2 Gen2 PCIe X16, 3 PCIe X1 & 2 PCI

    8GB (2GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Dual Channel Memory
    Corsair or Major Brand (All Venom OC Levels Certified)

    AMD Radeon HD 7750 1GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card

  4. #1064
    Quote Originally Posted by Mkeoughjr View Post
    Hello all comming from 7 yrs of WoW never played guild wars 1 but i hear alit of people talking about 2 and watching videos has got me intrested in it and willing to give it a try to see if its that good or just another swtor hype basically i wanna know if i got it how would my comp run it ??

    AMD FX-4100 3.60 GHz Quad-Core AM3+ CPU 4MB L2 Cache & Turbo Core Technology

    [CrossFireX] GigaByte GA-970A-D3 AMD 970 Socket AM3+ ATX Mainboard w/ On/Off Charge, 7.1 Audio, GbLAN, USB3.0, SATA-III RAID, 2 Gen2 PCIe X16, 3 PCIe X1 & 2 PCI

    8GB (2GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Dual Channel Memory
    Corsair or Major Brand (All Venom OC Levels Certified)

    AMD Radeon HD 7750 1GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card
    Unfortunately that video card isn't going to be able to perform well in the game. You may get away with acceptable FPS with most settings on low to medium with shadows turned off.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  5. #1065
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    Quote Originally Posted by glo View Post
    I don't think you can really rely on benches right now. The optimization with this games is completely bonkers for a handful of cards. I can run around most areas perfectly fine settings maxed capped at 60 FPS, but then when there's a bunch of stuff in the distance, my 560 ti will shoot down to 35% usage and my FPS will dip into the 30s with no additional strain on the CPU. Something isn't right.

    Cards that the game has issues with are seemingly missing out of the benchmarks from Tom's. The 6850, 560 ti and most widely reported, the 7850.

    Basically, there needs to be a buttload of optimization done on Arenanet's end. For what the game is pumping out visually, a 7970 or 670 shouldn't be capping out @ 70 FPS.
    I sooner think nvidia is able to deal with this than arenanet is.

    Unless there is an obvious bug with the game. But then all videocards should be affected, no?

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  6. #1066
    i5 3570k - 4.4ghz
    GB z77 mobo
    jetstream gtx 670 2gb
    8GB (4gbx2) Corsair Vengeance dual-channel
    1920x1080 120hz 3d LED running everything on Ultra, play between 80-100 fps dropping to about 60-70 during world bosses.
    301.42 drivers running the game + OS off SSD.
    50c temps max.
    Last edited by xStevooo; 2012-08-29 at 01:59 AM.
    My YouTube
    My Twitch

    Smashed by a car at 64 Kmph and walked away with just a grazed elbow, tank. 29/11/13

  7. #1067
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    Quote Originally Posted by xStevooo View Post
    i5 3570k - 4.4ghz
    jetstream gtx 670 2gb
    8GB (4gbx2) Corsair Vengeance dual-channel
    1920x1080 120hz 3d LED running everything on Ultra, play between 80-100 fps dropping to about 60-70 during world bosses.
    301.42 drivers running the game + OS off SSD.
    40c temps max.
    80-100fps? Do you native sample or supersample? Because i'm not getting anywhere near that with my EVGA 670 FTW while supersampling...

    Also, that driver is known to uphold gw2 performance. I recommend you updating to the latest beta driver.

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  8. #1068
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    80-100fps? Do you native sample or supersample? Because i'm not getting anywhere near that with my EVGA 670 FTW while supersampling...

    Also, that driver is known to uphold gw2 performance. I recommend you updating to the latest beta driver.
    Yeahh i updated to 306.02 but haven't played the game since the update so can't comment :P
    And that's native btw.
    My YouTube
    My Twitch

    Smashed by a car at 64 Kmph and walked away with just a grazed elbow, tank. 29/11/13

  9. #1069
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    I sooner think nvidia is able to deal with this than arenanet is.

    Unless there is an obvious bug with the game. But then all videocards should be affected, no?
    Many cards were during the stress tests and beta weekends from what I could tell on the forums. At the time it seemed like the entire 6xx line, the 69xx and 68xx line, the 560 ti / 460 / vanilla 560 and the 7850 all had the same issue.

    Arenanet initially came out and advised everyone to downclock the effected cards to their reference settings, and that somewhat cleared the AMD 6xxx problems. However it didn't for the rest of them. Afterwards Arenanet came out and said it was an intended design decision for all cards to be lightly used in comparison to CPUs (think WoW), but later retracted that response altogether.

    Fast forward to the last couple stress tests, and almost all of the performance issues seemed to be ironed out aside from the 560 ti/7850/6850 (haven't seen much on the 6870 so I don't know?).

    Just looking at EVGA precision makes me scratch my head walking around in Queensdale. I'll have 50% or so usage in less detailed or populated zones, but as soon as I start looking at a place with a lot of objects in the distance, GPU usage will plummet and CPU usage stays the same.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - Sennheiser Momentums - Xonar DG - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  10. #1070
    Quote Originally Posted by glo View Post
    Unfortunately that video card isn't going to be able to perform well in the game. You may get away with acceptable FPS with most settings on low to medium with shadows turned off.
    Seriously? Ughh kinda disappointing i was figuring a mix of med-high with shaders and shadows off, if not is there any cheap upgrades? Like maybe another 7750 crossfired?

  11. #1071
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,042
    I agree the benches are unreliable and the optimization is wonky. But this is atleast something to go on, so far in most GW2-related builds I haven't been able to give more than a "I honestly have no idea how GW2 will run" kind of a reply.

    As for cards "capping out" at 70 fps, keep in mind that is the average. In some enclosed areas I've reached 120 (vSync on) while in others I sit at ~50. Keeping some form of AA on is important otherwise the jaggies really ruin my lovely screenshots

    I'll be installing 306.02 tonight and seeing how it turns out.

  12. #1072
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    If you already had 304.xx it will hardly if at all make a difference in gw2. I just updated a few hours ago and the gain was maybe 1-2 avg fps.

    I'm in all honesty not keeping track of my framerate at all times but when i open the options window i pretty much always see ~70.

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  13. #1073
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Mkeoughjr View Post
    Seriously? Ughh kinda disappointing i was figuring a mix of med-high with shaders and shadows off, if not is there any cheap upgrades? Like maybe another 7750 crossfired?
    NoooOOooo stay away from crossfire with low-end cards. Especially crossfire in GW2, the game is already volatile with certain setups so god knows what sort of headaches crossfire could cause. Best case scenario a small fps boost, medium case it won't even pick up the second card, worst case it will crash and crash and crash.

    As I've already stated the game can run very smoothly on low-end cards IF you drop the settings down to low-medium.

    I've been playing around with the ingame graphics settings but I can't for the life of me find 1-2 specific settings that have the biggest impact on performance. Almost all the settings only vary ~3-4 fps ranging from lowest to highest for me.

  14. #1074
    Legendary! Holo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    6,288
    Oh by the way. Playing the game in fullschreen helps FPS a lot. I went from 60~65 to 80-85+.

    i5-3570k @ 4.4GHz|8GB DDR3 1600MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  15. #1075
    need help.

    So basically bench testing my PC, my processor is bottlenecking me for performance. I currently have an AMD Athlon II X2 255 3.1ghz dual core processor. This is an AM3 socket CPU. My motherboard is the ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3. According to ASUS, with a BIOS update, I can run an AM3+ socket processor. So, my question is, should I go with the new 8 core AMD AM3+ processor or should I play it safe and go with a 6 core AM3 socket processor? My dilemma is that the 8 core is only $40 more.

  16. #1076
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,042
    Compared to what? Windowed? Fullscreen windowed?

  17. #1077
    A word of caution, My Asus GTX 670 DC2 Top has given me fits with this game. The card boosts to 1293mhz and is totally stable in Crysis. I can't run it this way for 10 minutes of GW2 without crash and driver restart. I had to actually go in MSI Afterburner and turn down boost clock -30mhz to stop the crashing.

    Hopefully the next full release driver will make the game run more stable.

  18. #1078
    i don't know how those benchmarks were set up, but they are miles from my personnal experience...

    Im using a slightly overclocked GTX560 ti (833 Mhz) from Asus' DCUII line and I run everything completely maxed @ a constant 50+ fps. The card does run a little hotter then i'd like (60ish degrees) but still well within the safe zone.
    Last edited by Nikijih; 2012-08-29 at 07:03 PM.

  19. #1079
    Hey guys I ordered a laptop mainly for GW2. I know laptops are not good for gaming unless you spend tons of money but since a mobile computer is must for me it had to be a laptop. Anyway here is the spec:

    i7 3610QM 2.2Ghz turbo boost to 3.3ghz
    8gb ddr3 ram @ 1600mhz
    Nvidia GT 630M 2gb DDR3


    My question is that will I be able to play the game at ~60 fps with low settings(I'm have some serious problems low FPS) and and cooler is okay?

    also I'm getting a laptop cooler that is Zalman NC 2000. Is it any good?

    Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by Kuntantee; 2012-08-29 at 07:32 PM.

  20. #1080
    Quote Originally Posted by Nikijih View Post
    i don't know how those benchmarks were set up, but they are miles from my personnal experience...

    Im using a slightly overclocked GTX560 ti (833 Mhz) from Asus' DCUII line and I run everything completely maxed @ a constant 50+ fps. The card does run a little hotter then i'd like (60ish degrees) but still well within the safe zone.
    No you're not.

    Completely maxed includes supersampling

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •