1. #2421
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    617
    I'm having a weird issue with my GPU atm... Every few minutes the screen freezes for about 5 secs, I hear 4 beeps, and everything is responsive again. "AMD driver has been restored" is what it says afterwards. Anyone have any exp with this?
    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  2. #2422
    Quote Originally Posted by Imnick View Post
    Yeah I know what the general causes can be, I was just wondering if these forum are actually generally used for that kind of tech support or if I should be looking somewhere else.
    If it is I'll just go and post something more useful.
    Nobody seems particularly interested in answering since I made a topic, does anyone know any good message boards specialising in tech support that could help me out?

  3. #2423
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,984
    @Imnick, that usually means that people arent sure what is causing your problem.

    OT: I just found out that I can get windows 8 for $14.99 instead of 39.99, makes it somewhat more tempting to try.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||Gigabyte Windforce GTX 970|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||1TB WD HDD, 2x 3TB WD HDD, 2TB WD HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  4. #2424
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Apparently a Sapphire 7970 is a microwave now, I know those cards can get hot but yeah. ^^

    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  5. #2425
    Well, they don't really get that hot either lol.

  6. #2426
    Haven't seen this posted anywhere: http://www.computerworld.com/s/artic...5_of_workforce

    Thoughts? If the restructuring doesn't work it could be very bad for everyone if there is only one viable company for desktop CPUs (Intel) and GPUs (NVIDIA)...

  7. #2427
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Damage control. They already got rid of all the 'mid-range executives', ie, people who don't actually do any work for the company, but lift a lot of salary.
    It was inevitable given the figures they've posted. The problem is that they still suffer from the guerilla tactics launched by intel several years ago toward the OEM market.

  8. #2428
    Brewmaster Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,306
    ..Or I don't know, maybe they just need to cut the fucking slack and hit the marker with a proper high end chip instead of a complete joke the bulldozer and piledriver were? I take my words back, even a decent one would do. One that could match the current Intel technology that was designed two years ago.

    And I'm not sure what you're talking about regarding Intel's guerrilla marketing, it's AMD that's been doing it the past years. Targeting the low end market and making it's profit from there. Or maybe I'm not getting your point, you'll have to be more specific.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  9. #2429
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    @Imnick, that usually means that people arent sure what is causing your problem.
    I don't hold it against anyone that they don't know how to reply, it'd just be nice if someone knew some sites where they quite possibly do
    That is why I asked.

  10. #2430
    Brewmaster Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,306
    Quote Originally Posted by Imnick
    I don't hold it against anyone that they don't know how to reply, it'd just be nice if someone knew some sites where they quite possibly do
    That is why I asked.
    None. This is the most knowledged site in the internets. :> Period. Maybe your problem is unsolvable!
    (no I cannot recommend any site)

    On a side note, my case fan modding process failed terribly. I waited 2 weeks for my Corsair AF120 fans to arrive, picked them up today. When I got home I noticed that I was one double pack short, seems like they forgot to ship one of them. Next thing I open up my case determined to install what I have now anyway. Major facepalm at myself. The old fans in Fractal Arc Midi are infact 140mm (kind of obvious now) instead of 120mm as I originally thought.

    Now I'm left pondering if I should leave the fractal 140 fans in the front (doesn't support 120) and put corsairs in every other hole or send everything back and get 140's. Feels like I'm downgrading if I put 120's in. :/
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  11. #2431
    That depends. What sort of fans are you going? Airflow or static pressure?

  12. #2432
    Brewmaster Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,306
    AF's are the airflow ones. And if I decide to buy the 140's instead, those are only available as airflows at the moment I think.
    Last edited by Ghâzh; 2012-10-31 at 08:30 PM.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  13. #2433
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,047
    Hmm yep, if I stared at 140mm's long enough I'll also probably end up getting convinced they're 120mm's :S

  14. #2434
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    AF's are the airflow ones. And if I decide to buy the 140's instead, those are only available as airflows at the moment I think.
    Derped when reading and missed the AF part. :P Then 140mm fans will be just as good. If not better.

  15. #2435
    Brewmaster Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,306
    Well I suppose it is 140's then. And I was experiencing some "small hands theory" while test running the smaller fans. Those things just look too small in there and make everything look bigger. Not in a good way.

    Also, say whaat?


    Edit: Just realized all my tabs are shown. Good that I didn't have anything embarrassing open.
    Redit: Also noticed that there's threads like mushrooms about this. I'm not special?
    Last edited by Ghâzh; 2012-11-01 at 04:31 PM.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  16. #2436
    There's currently an issue with malware on MMO-champ, pretty annoying as I have to keep clicking "proceed anyway" on each new tab I open.
    System Specs -
    CPU - i5 2500k @ 5ghz | CPU Cooler - RASA RX240 | Motherboard - Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3| GPU - Nvidia GTX 590|
    SSD - Crucial M4 128GB | RAM - 8GB Corsair Vengeance | PSU - Corsair TX850M | Case - CoolerMaster HAF 922
    | Monitor - Crossover 27Q (2560x1440) | Sidewinder X4 Keyboard |


  17. #2437
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom.
    Posts
    129
    a quick question for you guys, how will a gtx 670 hold up on bf3 on a 1440p monitor?
    im planning to get a new screen soon, but if the framerate is really horrid i may have to sli.
    i5-3570k | ASUS 670DCii-TOP | ASUS-P8Z77 | 8GB corsair vengeance | 2TB WD Caviar black

  18. #2438
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,311
    Quote Originally Posted by detri View Post
    a quick question for you guys, how will a gtx 670 hold up on bf3 on a 1440p monitor?
    im planning to get a new screen soon, but if the framerate is really horrid i may have to sli.
    couldnt tell you, i have bf3, but i've been so pissed at EA/origin that i havent played it pretty much since launch

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  19. #2439
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,047
    Quote Originally Posted by detri View Post
    a quick question for you guys, how will a gtx 670 hold up on bf3 on a 1440p monitor?
    im planning to get a new screen soon, but if the framerate is really horrid i may have to sli.
    Couldn't find 1440p benches so just take an average between 1080p/1200p/1600p in these benches:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6159/t...0-ti-review/13
    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,19.html
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ew,3200-5.html

  20. #2440
    Wow, Windows 7 system restore is really simple. You just click a button, it tells you what changes will be made and 5 minutes later my PC is how it was before I went and updated AISuite which didn't like being updated. One of those things that you never need, until you need it, and then it needs to work.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •