1. #2661
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,640
    Bought a meter to check how much power my computer draws.
    Overclocked CPU (i5-760), overclocked GPU (GTX 680), 4x DIMMs of RAM, four drives (SSD, Mech, Mech, Opt), keyboard with extra USB for USB-hub, mouse, external harddrive, wired Xbox controller, while charging phone, camera and headphone amp (Fiio e5) through USB.
    Running Unigine heaven (realistic gaming load)

    Peak from the wall, 317w. Non-bronze but 80+ PSU (first TX650). For simplicity, I'll take the 50% load number of 86% (230VAC).
    So internally, it draws 272.62w (=42%), meaning I have roughly 377.38w to spare until I hit 650w internally - which it should be able to handle with overload.

    Idle, ~91w (while all those peripherals and charging are plugged in). This is less than 20%, so its efficiency plummets below the 82% efficiency at 20%, but I'll take 82% anyway, and I get 74.62w, meaning it's close to approaching 10% draw idling, which is way too low.

    In short, I need a bigger PSU so I can get more FPS.

  2. #2662
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,512
    Yeah, my computer under load runs probably around 200 watts or so, kinda amusing since my parents complain about me leaving it on when I am not using it. Well it idles less then the old family desktop we had and it's a million times more powerful.

  3. #2663
    Dreadlord Stravs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Uk Cumbrian Lake District
    Posts
    798
    Merry Christmas computer forum all the best
    i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz-Asus Sabertooth P67 B3 8gb Corsair XMS-3
    EVGA GTX 670 4tw 4gb
    CreativeX-Fi Titanium Pro paired with (Corsair SP2500)
    Corsair HX850
    250gb Samsung 840 ssd
    Silverstone Raven 3

  4. #2664
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,889
    Quote Originally Posted by Stravs View Post
    Merry Christmas computer forum all the best
    and a brand new SCV! (must resist linking vid)
    anyone with some badass x-mass gifts? (no luck here :S)

  5. #2665
    Dreadlord Stravs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Uk Cumbrian Lake District
    Posts
    798
    Everyone too busy with frankohol atm Some Pioneer CDJ's coming in a month I don't know if that count's towards pc tech bit it will be hooked up to my rig atleast.

    Added: And I think that counts as badass haha time to put my 10 year old 1210's to rest
    Last edited by Stravs; 2012-12-25 at 08:00 PM.
    i5 2500k @ 4.2ghz-Asus Sabertooth P67 B3 8gb Corsair XMS-3
    EVGA GTX 670 4tw 4gb
    CreativeX-Fi Titanium Pro paired with (Corsair SP2500)
    Corsair HX850
    250gb Samsung 840 ssd
    Silverstone Raven 3

  6. #2666

  7. #2667
    Hey Computer Chat Forum --

    I received this headset for Christmas, but...I'm getting static when it's plugged in. It plays music fine, but when music isn't 'really' loud, the static is rather distracting. I assume I need to download a driver for it? No disc came with it...

    I went to this page, which appears to be their driver page, but I don't see a Mac driver, so I can't test it before I commute back to my house. Am I missing something? The package and website says it supports Mac...

    This is my first experience with a non-super-cheap headset, any input would be appreciated.

  8. #2668
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,114
    Quote Originally Posted by icedwarrior View Post
    Hey Computer Chat Forum --

    I received this headset for Christmas, but...I'm getting static when it's plugged in. It plays music fine, but when music isn't 'really' loud, the static is rather distracting. I assume I need to download a driver for it? No disc came with it...

    I went to this page, which appears to be their driver page, but I don't see a Mac driver, so I can't test it before I commute back to my house. Am I missing something? The package and website says it supports Mac...

    This is my first experience with a non-super-cheap headset, any input would be appreciated.
    Quite a few TurtleBeach products have the static issue. See if this helps:

    http://www.turtlebeach.com/support/entry/603418902/
    http://www.turtlebeach.com/support/entry/603420326/

  9. #2669
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Quite a few TurtleBeach products have the static issue. See if this helps:

    http://www.turtlebeach.com/support/entry/603418902/
    http://www.turtlebeach.com/support/entry/603420326/
    I will try that in a couple days, when I commute back to my Windows desktop. At the moment, though, I can only test it on this Mac laptop, of which I don't see anything I can do to alleviate this. Either way, though, thank you for the help. I'll try it asap.

  10. #2670
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Are you using a frontpanel header, or directly into the rear IO? Assuming this isn't a laptop.

  11. #2671
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Are you using a frontpanel header, or directly into the rear IO? Assuming this isn't a laptop.
    This is a laptop. I'm using a MacBook Pro, that is at least 5 years old.

  12. #2672
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    17,215
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Bought a meter to check how much power my computer draws.
    Overclocked CPU (i5-760), overclocked GPU (GTX 680), 4x DIMMs of RAM, four drives (SSD, Mech, Mech, Opt), keyboard with extra USB for USB-hub, mouse, external harddrive, wired Xbox controller, while charging phone, camera and headphone amp (Fiio e5) through USB.
    Running Unigine heaven (realistic gaming load)

    Peak from the wall, 317w. Non-bronze but 80+ PSU (first TX650). For simplicity, I'll take the 50% load number of 86% (230VAC).
    So internally, it draws 272.62w (=42%), meaning I have roughly 377.38w to spare until I hit 650w internally - which it should be able to handle with overload.

    Idle, ~91w (while all those peripherals and charging are plugged in). This is less than 20%, so its efficiency plummets below the 82% efficiency at 20%, but I'll take 82% anyway, and I get 74.62w, meaning it's close to approaching 10% draw idling, which is way too low.

    In short, I need a bigger PSU so I can get more FPS.
    Hot damn!

    If you're pulling that little... I need to see how much I'm pulling. O_o

    [email protected] - 1.42v
    GTX 560 [email protected] - 1.037v
    4x 1.5v [email protected]
    2 7200RPM drives, 1 5900RPM drive, 1 SSD, 1 ODD, 1 fan controller
    Asus Xonar DX
    Corsair K90 with extra USB used for webcam.
    Mouse
    E-HDD

    All with the SeaSonic X660 Gold

    I'm very very interested now.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  13. #2673
    Mechagnome protput's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    618
    984 euro bonus at work, and 1440 euros of tax deduction (dunno how this is called) coming in next month. Veeery tempted to click order

    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  14. #2674
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,640
    I'm not a fan of WDC:Greens (I don't dislike them), but I do dislike the Corsair-fans. They undervolt poorly, apparently and aren't really best-in-show noise/airflow wise.
    They aren't the ugliest fans around (albeit doesn't look Noctua/Nexus good).

    Beyond that, I'm not much of a fan of sleeving, but that's me personally. I'd keep I/O peripheral upgrades, the Samsung 830 and add a nice monitor, personally.

  15. #2675
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Err, Corsair fans undervolt poorly? Where are you hearing this?

  16. #2676
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,640
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Err, Corsair fans undervolt poorly? Where are you hearing this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckSiHccoLUA&t=6025 and another place I cannot at this time find.

  17. #2677
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    I've run those undervolted, and have yet to experience this. o_o

  18. #2678
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,889
    Quote Originally Posted by protput View Post
    984 euro bonus at work, and 1440 euros of tax deduction (dunno how this is called) coming in next month. Veeery tempted to click order

    corsair overkill? naah underestimated at worst
    also i just recieved unexpected funds aswell must resist buying pc upgrades. (hell wouldn't even know what to get!)

  19. #2679
    Mechagnome protput's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    618
    Just added an old HDD to my pc, but whenever it's plugged in it won't boot... Pulling out its SATA cable makes everything boot fine. I get a black screen with a white blinking -.

    Halp?
    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  20. #2680
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,640
    Is it >2.2 TB in size? Have you fiddled with boot order in BIOS/Uefi?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •