1. #2681
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    617
    984 euro bonus at work, and 1440 euros of tax deduction (dunno how this is called) coming in next month. Veeery tempted to click order

    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  2. #2682
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,841
    I'm not a fan of WDC:Greens (I don't dislike them), but I do dislike the Corsair-fans. They undervolt poorly, apparently and aren't really best-in-show noise/airflow wise.
    They aren't the ugliest fans around (albeit doesn't look Noctua/Nexus good).

    Beyond that, I'm not much of a fan of sleeving, but that's me personally. I'd keep I/O peripheral upgrades, the Samsung 830 and add a nice monitor, personally.

  3. #2683
    Err, Corsair fans undervolt poorly? Where are you hearing this?

  4. #2684
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,841
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Err, Corsair fans undervolt poorly? Where are you hearing this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckSiHccoLUA&t=6025 and another place I cannot at this time find.

  5. #2685
    I've run those undervolted, and have yet to experience this. o_o

  6. #2686
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by protput View Post
    984 euro bonus at work, and 1440 euros of tax deduction (dunno how this is called) coming in next month. Veeery tempted to click order

    corsair overkill? naah underestimated at worst
    also i just recieved unexpected funds aswell must resist buying pc upgrades. (hell wouldn't even know what to get!)

  7. #2687
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    617
    Just added an old HDD to my pc, but whenever it's plugged in it won't boot... Pulling out its SATA cable makes everything boot fine. I get a black screen with a white blinking -.

    Halp?
    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  8. #2688
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,841
    Is it >2.2 TB in size? Have you fiddled with boot order in BIOS/Uefi?

  9. #2689
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    617
    1.5 TB... It comes out of an external HDD. BIOS recognizes it, but it wont boot when I have it plugged in.

    Fixed! Different sata port worked.
    Last edited by protput; 2012-12-28 at 10:21 PM.
    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  10. #2690
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    Etc
    Z77 + firmware update for near-instant boot? Add 3770k to previously mentioned bundle? Or more RAM? Maybe shinier RAM.

  11. #2691
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Z77 + firmware update for near-instant boot? Add 3770k to previously mentioned bundle? Or more RAM? Maybe shinier RAM.
    why would i upgrade my already one of a kind cpu? xD
    i must say thinking of going 27" ips screens is tempting (dual setup likely) or GPU route, since i don't have the need for more ram currently. on the other hand raid 0 ssd setup comes to mind aswell.
    problem with most of these upgrades is that i won't get a big direct upgrade performance wise.

  12. #2692
    27" IPS monitor then. You're just going to stare fondly at the screen for a while by the sound of it.

    ...then be infuriated with YouTube's retarded design-teams.

  13. #2693
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    27" IPS monitor then. You're just going to stare fondly at the screen for a while by the sound of it.

    ...then be infuriated with YouTube's retarded design-teams.
    well i was already planning for it but more later in time. (intended to combine it with 7xx likely, in order to maintain top notch performance)
    side note on the funds ranges from 0 to 1k euro depending on how well my x-mass payments will be ^^ (estimate so far it +- 500)

    also i rarely youtube

  14. #2694
    Warchief Hastings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Laniakea Supercluster, Milky Way Galaxy, Solar System, Earth
    Posts
    2,193
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    27" IPS monitor then. You're just going to stare fondly at the screen for a while by the sound of it.

    ...then be infuriated with YouTube's retarded design-teams.
    Indeed.....Indeed.....



    It's fucking horrendous on a 27 inch monitor. With 1980x1080 resolution.
    "Then we have found, as it seems, that the many beliefs of the many about what's fair and about the other things roll around somewhere between not-being and being purely and simply." - Plato: Republic

  15. #2695
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    617
    CPU: I5 2500K @4.5ghz (1.285v), CPU cooler: Corsair H100 push/pull GPU: MSI R7970 Lightning @1200Mhz, Case: Corsair 650D, Ram: 16GB Corsair vengeance, Mobo: Asrock Z77 Extreme4, PSU: Corsair TX650M, SSD: Samsung 830 128GB, HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB SPU: Xonar Essence STX

  16. #2696
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Hastings95 View Post
    Indeed.....Indeed.....



    It's fucking horrendous on a 27 inch monitor. With 1980x1080 resolution.
    however i'd be planning on 27" ips 1440p :P (perhaps even worse xD)

  17. #2697
    Quote Originally Posted by protput View Post
    ^ that. My youtube looks like this:



    or like this:

    Last edited by Butler Log; 2012-12-29 at 03:02 AM.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  18. #2698
    Scarab Lord Belize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Standing in the Fire, as always.
    Posts
    4,186
    Right, so I ordered the Corsair 800d case and it shipped in a 32x30x17 inch box... I knew the thing was a full sized tower but holy crap... Well, that's my interesting story of the day.

  19. #2699
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    I've run those undervolted, and have yet to experience this. o_o
    I've only run my SP120's at their proper voltage for...maybe 10 minutes, total. They always run drastically undervolted all the time, at maybe ~25% of their max speed. During stress I ramp them up to maybe ~600-800rpm, no higher.
    And yeah I haven't experienced that either o_O

  20. #2700
    http://i.imgur.com/kYIQd.png

    Please, for the love of God, help me fix this. I reformatted my computer, and Steam is being a dick. I can't get Steam to work -- I've even deleted everything but the "SteamApps" folder (Yeah, I don't want to redownload 300 gigs of data) and attempted to reinstall. Any ideas?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •