1. #3121
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...ry-2012/1490/5

    The difference between proper TIM is kind of small. And if you ever run out of TIM you can just use mustard or mayo.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  2. #3122
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    I'm saying that the extra VRAM won't matter, since it hits the bandwidth cap well sooner than it will be able to use the 4GiB of VRAM, that on average, will clock worse than those on the 2GiB cards.
    This is also what i meant, the 2GB and 4GB cards perform the same under heavy VRAM load. Because they share the same 256bit/192GBs bandwidth.
    http://www.legionhardware.com/articl...680_4gb,4.html
    Only when the framerate is SO low that the bandwidth is unsaturated do you see the 4GB card take advantage of having the possibility to store the larger resolution images on the 4GB memory. At normal framerates, there is absolutely no difference. And even if it has the ability to store more data, the framerate will chug because it has to wait for the images to be processed.
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-02-11 at 01:15 PM.

  3. #3123
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    This is also what i meant, the 2GB and 4GB cards perform the same under heavy VRAM load. Because they share the same 256bit/192GBs bandwidth.
    http://www.legionhardware.com/articl...680_4gb,4.html
    Only when the framerate is SO low that the bandwidth is unsaturated do you see the 4GB card take advantage of having the possibility to store the larger resolution images on the 4GB memory. At normal framerates, there is absolutely no difference. And even if it has the ability to store more data, the framerate will chug because it has to wait for the images to be processed.
    Hmm a stock 7970 has 260GB/s, I have 250GB/s with 7600MHz on vram. 680's have a lot of potential if you overclock the vram. If a stock 7970 is able to take advantage of 4GB, my 680 should do it as well?

  4. #3124
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Hmm a stock 7970 has 260GB/s, I have 250GB/s with 7600MHz on vram. 680's have a lot of potential if you overclock the vram. If a stock 7970 is able to take advantage of 4GB, my 680 should do it as well?
    Stock 7970s have 3GB VRAM. Only a few models (Sapphire Toxic for example) have 6GB.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  5. #3125
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Hmm a stock 7970 has 260GB/s, I have 250GB/s with 7600MHz on vram. 680's have a lot of potential if you overclock the vram. If a stock 7970 is able to take advantage of 4GB, my 680 should do it as well?
    A 7970 only takes advantage of 3GB, and it has a 384bit memory controller, whereas the GTX680 "only" has a 256bit controller. That's a huge difference. So no, most likely you will not be able to use anything higher than 2GB on a GTX600 series (yes even a GTX690, it has a 2x256bit controller with 4GB memory, but essentially it's a SLI with 2x2GB). Maybe you stretched it a bit, but you'd have to do some benchmarks to confirm.

    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    Stock 7970s have 3GB VRAM. Only a few models (Sapphire Toxic for example) have 6GB.
    Pretty sure the same goes for the 7970 at that amount of RAM aswell. 384bit has it's limits aswell.
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-02-11 at 06:30 PM.

  6. #3126
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,922
    Had a big big temptation to buy a 7950 today lol.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  7. #3127
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Had a big big temptation to buy a 7950 today lol.
    I know exactly what you mean, that feeling of "that's it, I'm gonna do it!" and a few hours later thinking "wait, actually I'm fine with what I have for now :S".

  8. #3128
    My life in a nutshell. I'm so tempted to go for a Cintiq & a Samsung 840 Pro 512GB...

  9. #3129
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,279
    GG Nintendo



    This happens on all of my games, I've tried using a microfiber cloth, t-shirt, washing it with water, washing it with water and soap, none of them worked. Not a smudge.

    Bleh.

  10. #3130
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    GG Nintendo

    [.IMG]http://i.imgur.com/Xpl3ZEll.jpg[/IMG]

    This happens on all of my games, I've tried using a microfiber cloth, t-shirt, washing it with water, washing it with water and soap, none of them worked. Not a smudge.

    Bleh.
    Are you sure you put the disc in the proper direction?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  11. #3131
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,279
    I tried on both sides :P

  12. #3132
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    I tried on both sides :P
    Are you sure it isn't an Xbox disc you are trying to run?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  13. #3133
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    GG Nintendo

    This happens on all of my games, I've tried using a microfiber cloth, t-shirt, washing it with water, washing it with water and soap, none of them worked. Not a smudge.

    Bleh.
    ...did you really wash the CD with water + soap o_O

  14. #3134
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,279
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    ...did you really wash the CD with water + soap o_O
    It's fixed most of my problems with games on CD games in the past, don't come with the bullshit that I'm rubbing a stone on the CD xD

  15. #3135
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,023
    Not that, it's just that soaps contain oils that are meant to clean/moisturize the skin...as opposed to what most people think, soap doesn't "dry" things out due to containing oil and you'll only end up making your disc oily (albeit very slightly).

    The most foolproof method I use for cleaning pretty much EVERYTHING pc-related is 99% cleaning alcohol + wipes. Cleans well, evaporates almost entirely into nothingness, leaves nothing behind - buy some today! *flashy advert song*

  16. #3136
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,922
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    I know exactly what you mean, that feeling of "that's it, I'm gonna do it!" and a few hours later thinking "wait, actually I'm fine with what I have for now :S".
    Yep, went in to the local computer shop to pick up some ethernet cable and saw the price of the card and damn nearly bought it, $310. Then I remembered that my setup will do fine for a while yet lol.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  17. #3137
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Not that, it's just that soaps contain oils that are meant to clean/moisturize the skin...as opposed to what most people think, soap doesn't "dry" things out due to containing oil and you'll only end up making your disc oily (albeit very slightly).

    The most foolproof method I use for cleaning pretty much EVERYTHING pc-related is 99% cleaning alcohol + wipes. Cleans well, evaporates almost entirely into nothingness, leaves nothing behind - buy some today! *flashy advert song*
    Non-streak glasses wipes.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  18. #3138
    Banned This name sucks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    A basement in Canada
    Posts
    2,726
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Not that, it's just that soaps contain oils that are meant to clean/moisturize the skin...as opposed to what most people think, soap doesn't "dry" things out due to containing oil and you'll only end up making your disc oily (albeit very slightly).

    The most foolproof method I use for cleaning pretty much EVERYTHING pc-related is 99% cleaning alcohol + wipes. Cleans well, evaporates almost entirely into nothingness, leaves nothing behind - buy some today! *flashy advert song*
    Isopropyl is the answer to everything. Clean evaporation OP.

  19. #3139
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by Methanar View Post
    Isopropyl is the answer to everything. Clean evaporation OP.
    Yeah basically isopropyl, which is 99% alcohol.




  20. #3140
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,020
    Let me throw it all over my motherboard.

    inb4 motherboard works better. "OVERCLOCKED MOTHERBOARD INITIATE"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •