1. #3421
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    ....lolno.
    Don't be that guy. At least it's better than Firefox or Safari. (But then again, so is the common rock)
    I'd also personally use it over Chrome without a doubt, and only Opera bests it in my book.

  2. #3422
    Internet Explorer 10 is being released for Windows 7 this week.
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  3. #3423
    Quote Originally Posted by icedwarrior View Post
    Neat. I'll have to look into that. I've currently installed MSE, it's up-to-date, and I'm full scanning atm. Next step, after that is installing Chrome. If that doesn't help, I think I'm going to back up and reformat.
    Let chrome just export IE settings/private data. I don't really understand why you wouldn't use a hotmail or a gmail. Convince her to make her use a webmail like gmail it's just so much easier than using office outlook.

  4. #3424
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Don't be that guy. At least it's better than Firefox or Safari. (But then again, so is the common rock)
    I'd also personally use it over Chrome without a doubt, and only Opera bests it in my book.
    You've yet to explain why IE9/10 is better, which is the same as saying 'lolchrome'.

    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Let chrome just export IE settings/private data. I don't really understand why you wouldn't use a hotmail or a gmail. Convince her to make her use a webmail like gmail it's just so much easier than using office outlook.
    Trust me, I try. I tell her to switch to gmail every time I see her. It's not going to happen.

  5. #3425
    Quote Originally Posted by icedwarrior View Post
    You've yet to explain why IE9/10 is better, which is the same as saying 'lolchrome'.
    IE9/10 is more secure and IE10 is faster than any of the "main" browsers (i.e. Chrome, FireFox, Safari).

    I would use IE10 exclusively if it had a decent AdBlock (i.e. one that blocked YouTube, Twitch and FB ads).
    Last edited by noteworthynerd; 2013-03-11 at 07:30 PM.

  6. #3426
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,589
    Quote Originally Posted by icedwarrior View Post
    Yeah, I have zero expendable money.

    MSE only detected a KeyGen on something she never used (I know this for a fact; it was acquired when she got some music from someone IRL she/we trust). I installed Chrome with Adblock and it appears, from limited browsing, that it's far faster than IE was...but she says she doesn't want to change from IE. I was like '...really?'
    change the icon to IE and she won't know the difference. just tell her it's the new version
    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  7. #3427
    The Insane apepi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mostly harmless
    Posts
    17,538
    Quote Originally Posted by llDemonll View Post
    change the icon to IE and she won't know the difference. just tell her it's the new version
    Hehehehe. Sad but true.
    Time...line? Time isn't made out of lines. It is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round. ~ Caboose

  8. #3428
    Dreadlord ItsRedd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    868
    So, are you guys getting the Google Glass?

    http://www.electronista.com/articles...ss.principles/

    What interesting apps can we, as a community, think of?

    Edit.

    Wait, is this computer related? It's sort of... a... mini computer... on your head... I think?
    Last edited by ItsRedd; 2013-03-12 at 01:43 PM.

    FPS MAP DESIGN | Core i5 3570k [email protected] | Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 2 | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | 2x4GB Corsair [email protected] | Gigabyte Radeon 7950 Windforce x3 | Samsung 840 250GB SSD | WD Black 500GB | 2x WD Green 1TB | Antec HCG520 | Tt Chaser Mk I

  9. #3429
    1500 dollars is too expensive. Would need to be significantly cheaper for me to consider buying it.
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  10. #3430
    I've mentioned here and there that I plan on going M-ITX in my next build, specifically the Node 304 by Fractal Design... Soooo, I was out browsing pictures of the Node 304 and found these, that's the exact build I plan on going (Node 304 with H80i) - it is so tight in there haha!

  11. #3431
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    I've mentioned here and there that I plan on going M-ITX in my next build, specifically the Node 304 by Fractal Design... Soooo, I was out browsing pictures of the Node 304 and found these, that's the exact build I plan on going (Node 304 with H80i) - it is so tight in there haha!
    Sweet tits that's a snug fit. The FT03 was quite roomy compared to that.

  12. #3432
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    I've mentioned here and there that I plan on going M-ITX in my next build, specifically the Node 304 by Fractal Design... Soooo, I was out browsing pictures of the Node 304 and found these, that's the exact build I plan on going (Node 304 with H80i) - it is so tight in there haha!
    http://www.sweclockers.com/galleri/1...nster-node-304 Even fits a custom water cooling loop
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  13. #3433
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    http://www.sweclockers.com/galleri/1...nster-node-304 Even fits a custom water cooling loop
    Now that is impressive! But I've got the water cooling bug outta my system, so I won't be doing anything quite that extravagant haha.

  14. #3434
    Just a question just got my 120hz monitor but I don't have a DP cable >.< So I just plugged my HDMI cable in and yep 60hz only so I just made a custom resolution profile changing the refresh rate to 120hz manually and I noticed more frames in BF3. Thought HDMI couldn't do [email protected]?

    The cable seems to have a sticker with 2160p rating but who would believe this..

  15. #3435
    I don't know a whole lot about resolution maximums for the various transmitting technologies, but if I understand correctly HDMI 1.3 allows up to 340MHz and 1600p on a single link.

  16. #3436
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    I don't know a whole lot about resolution maximums for the various transmitting technologies, but if I understand correctly HDMI 1.3 allows up to 340MHz and 1600p on a single link.
    Well I definitely notice more frames but I'm not sure if it's actually 120hz. My monitor is saying it's at 120hz and I don't get any form of tearing.

  17. #3437
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    but if I understand correctly HDMI 1.3 allows up to 340MHz and 1600p on a single link.
    You do not. Or rather, you explain it like it would allow 340 MHz monitors, which is 2 833 333.33 times as much as 120 Hz monitors!

    But yes, it can display 1600p or 120Hz for HDMI 1.3

  18. #3438
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    You do not. Or rather, you explain it like it would allow 340 MHz monitors, which is 2 833 333.33 times as much as 120 Hz monitors!

    But yes, it can display 1600p or 120Hz for HDMI 1.3
    Well 340MHz @ 1080p bandwidth is around 53533454353453453454353TB/s :P So I guess it's just the cable's frequency. Just found my answer "HDMI 1.4b was released on October 11, 2011.[149] One of the new features is that it adds support to 1080p video at 120 Hz.[150] All future versions of the HDMI specification will be made by the HDMI Forum that was created on October 25, 2011.[43][151]"

    Starting to hate in a lot of reviews, user comments or forums people are saying only displayport can do it or DL dvi.

  19. #3439
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    the max refresh rate is 340Hz, but that's at almost no resolution, max at 1080 is 120Hz, max at 1400 is 60 Hz, and max at 4k is 24Hz

    HDMI works like Displayport in that it sends data packets, but the larger the packet, the fewer per second it can send, higher resolutions have larger packets, so the higher the resolution, the slower the refresh rate

    one obvious reason DP is better than HDMI is that it is capable of 60Hz 4k resolutions, it's also a more open medium, while HDMI is basically a controlled licensed medium, this is part of the reason microsoft does not recognize DP as HDCP compliant

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  20. #3440
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,246
    I realized today that I never posted a real-world example of how the Cherry MX switches may sound. So, here's an example of how it can sound for an average user... say... like... Deltrus.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •