1. #3541
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,591
    A GTX 690 has internal 8x/8x, meaning it had PCI-E 2.0 8x and thus PCI-E 1.1 16x. Eh. I'd be surprised if an underclocked GTX 680 (effectively) would be held back all too much by that. Yes, it has a consistent and measurable effect but not a noticable one. Held back? No. But premiered by faster? Ever so slightly.
    I honestly would not worry 'tall about it.

  2. #3542
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,304
    Just couldn't resist



    Yes, that's me :P
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | AMD R9 280x | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ BeyerDynamic DT 990

  3. #3543
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    sure about the gpu to gpu performance due to pci-e 2.0 vs 3.0? (for a 690 it would result in a few % loss , for titan i haven't found any good tests for it)
    It's kinda simple to find out. Make a custom resolution of 2560x1440 or 2560x1600p then open something like Gpu-z and have an eye on your gpu usage. PCIe interface bottlenecking or lanes means your gpu will never reach 99% and you will see that the memory controller isn't being maxed out.

  4. #3544
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    Quote Originally Posted by CheezusCrust View Post
    Just couldn't resist

    <snip>

    Yes, that's me :P
    The CRT TV = win

  5. #3545
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    The CRT TV = win
    Hey, I still have a CRT tv in my room.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  6. #3546
    Quote Originally Posted by apepi View Post
    I might have a crappy net, they at least don't mess with anything or try to filter anything, one reason why I like it even though it is slow.

    Nice, one of the down sides of having good audio equipment is that I find that horrible quality music is almost unbearable to listen to on my good set of headphones.
    You're not kidding. I already detected shitty quality with my FiiO E10 and Shure SRH440s, but with my JDS Labs O2+DAC and He-400s it's more evident than ever. Currently listening to The Cult with FLAC quality and I'm hearing stuff I've never heard before. Everything sounds so layered and warm. It's glorious.

  7. #3547
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    It's kinda simple to find out. Make a custom resolution of 2560x1440 or 2560x1600p then open something like Gpu-z and have an eye on your gpu usage. PCIe interface bottlenecking or lanes means your gpu will never reach 99% and you will see that the memory controller isn't being maxed out.
    well i just tried to test that , however neither evga precision nor gpu-z show any value for gpu load/MCL/ VEL.......
    gonna check now with afterburner but likely won't be any different.

  8. #3548
    MSI kombustor shows the workload. Before I switched out the 2600K my workload was 96% on the GTX680. Not sure if it actually means anything. Temps were 63C at that workload and I have a constant ambient of 23 in my house.

  9. #3549
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Anyone here using a samsung smart tv? I'm sometimes using the youtube app to watch some documentaries, but i haven't found the option yet to increase the picture quality on the HD video's. Anyone here knows?

  10. #3550
    Old God apepi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mostly harmless
    Posts
    10,276
    I'm leaving my shitty computer settings for hearthstone beta, maybe it might give me a chance, who knows>.>.
    Time...line? Time isn't made out of lines. It is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round. ~ Caboose

  11. #3551
    Quote Originally Posted by apepi View Post
    I'm leaving my shitty computer settings for hearthstone beta, maybe it might give me a chance, who knows>.>.
    Yeah, they're probably not that interested in who can run the game at 5 million frames per second.

    I'll probably get in the beta anyway, not too worried
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  12. #3552
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    So the battery on my (active) bass goes dead every 1,5/2weeks. Time for a power supply
    Made a scart connector on the guitar and connected it in parallel to the battery so i still have the option of using it.
    9V AC->DC adapter with a custom circuit between it to limit the output to exactly 9V, and some extra capacitors to reduce noise.

    Yay no more battery issues ^^: http://imgur.com/a/ecRMV

    ---------- Post added 2013-03-25 at 09:12 PM ----------

    By the way, i'm having suspicions about these types of posts:
    http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/...one-smartphone
    A virtually non-existant question with an entire discussion below it. Seems to me the OP is trolling.

  13. #3553
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,090
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post

    By the way, i'm having suspicions about these types of posts:
    http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/...one-smartphone
    A virtually non-existant question with an entire discussion below it. Seems to me the OP is trolling.
    Just report it - talking about stuff like that/suggesting that someone is a troll is against the rules. >_>

  14. #3554
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,581
    That one's fine; no one is being a twat or trying to rile feathers in the thread and for once there's semi-decent discussion happening

    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  15. #3555
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    So I'm considering doing some sleeving to make the cables look nice and uniform. Now, I know some of you here have experience with it so I have a few questions.

    1. Is it hard to do?
    2. Which if any special tools are required? I'd rather not buy unnecessary tools if I can avoid it.
    Last edited by Evil Inside; 2013-03-26 at 05:29 PM.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  16. #3556
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,228
    1. Hard, no. Time consuming, yes.
    2. Standard sleeve-kit works wonders. A heat-gun helps.

    http://images.channelgrabber.com/MTc2/509a2832b6ad3.jpg

    Start by sleeving something trivial. My first was a fan, then a motherboard speaker. Modular PSU is recommended for novice sleevers.

  17. #3557
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    The PSU is already sleeved, I'm more looking to do the various other cables. Fans, data cables, temperature probes and the lot.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  18. #3558
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,228
    I'm assuming the PSU was not sleeved by you then.

    Buy a starter sleeving kit, that's what I did. You will get acceptable stuff for a small sum of cash; i.e. proper tools, alright heatshrink and black sleeve. For any serious sleeving I'd point towards MDPC-X: http://de.mdpc-x.com/mdpc-sleeve.htm. Nils offers some of the best and highest grade/quality stuff on the market for sleevers. He demands and only offers perfection.

  19. #3559
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    I'm assuming the PSU was not sleeved by you then.

    Buy a starter sleeving kit, that's what I did. You will get acceptable stuff for a small sum of cash; i.e. proper tools, alright heatshrink and black sleeve. For any serious sleeving I'd point towards MDPC-X: http://de.mdpc-x.com/mdpc-sleeve.htm. Nils offers some of the best and highest grade/quality stuff on the market for sleevers. He demands and only offers perfection.
    Nah, I bought one of Corsair's sleeve-kits, which is kinda why I wanna do the other cables so that they match.
    Last edited by Evil Inside; 2013-03-26 at 10:22 PM.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  20. #3560
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,304
    Wish I had gone for modular PSU instead of the Antec Earthwatts one, everything is so cramped on my Node 605, the exhaust fan is almost blocked with all of the cables & HDD's, I had to turn my PSU upside down to make it to another exhaust :P
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | AMD R9 280x | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ BeyerDynamic DT 990

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •