1. #4841
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    The second one, iirc, has been updated mostly with better mounting mechanism (now requiring people to only have two hands instead of three)
    Oh god, that mounting system of the C1. Absolutely terrible xD

  2. #4842
    Epic!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,590
    Quote Originally Posted by nbm02ss View Post
    My Dell U2713HM came in yesterday. Gorgeous screen. Since BF3 is the only FPS I play these days I'm not regretting the loss of 120hz at all.
    I managed to overclock my U2713HM to 96hz on a GTX670. Saying that though I didn't notice much difference other than the actual FPS display showing up as 96 instead of just 60 with Vsync on.

    This is playing GW2 and The Witcher. I went back to 60hz after the evening because I didn't notice the difference *shrug*
    Random stuff WoW UI Enthusiast BNet
    Youtube Some old UIs Hulari#21213
    Stream (WoW most evenings now) Lastest UI (Roth's Diablo inspired) Go ahead, add me!

  3. #4843
    Quote Originally Posted by carebear View Post
    I managed to overclock my U2713HM to 96hz on a GTX670. Saying that though I didn't notice much difference other than the actual FPS display showing up as 96 instead of just 60 with Vsync on.

    This is playing GW2 and The Witcher. I went back to 60hz after the evening because I didn't notice the difference *shrug*
    It takes awhile to train your eyes. Same thing happened to me when I got my 120Hz monitor, I noticed a slight difference in the beginning after weeks of use I can't stand 60 fps anymore.

  4. #4844
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    It takes awhile to train your eyes. Same thing happened to me when I got my 120Hz monitor, I noticed a slight difference in the beginning after weeks of use I can't stand 60 fps anymore.
    Same here. All I have to do is force my refresh rate down to 60hz, play for about ~10 seconds and then find myself saying "oh god, bring my 120hz back" in something like Crysis 2/3 or GW2.

    But more importantly, if someone blows $700 on a monitor I find it a bit moot to say "I don't miss 120hz!" because 120hz monitors only cost in the range of $270-350. Said person is going to feel pretty shit if they buy a U2711HM and didn't consider it a huge upgrade. These are completely different products in completely different price categories lol.
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2013-08-26 at 10:44 PM.

  5. #4845
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Same here. All I have to do is force my refresh rate down to 60hz, play for about ~10 seconds and then find myself saying "oh god, bring my 120hz back" in something like Crysis 2/3 or GW2.

    But more importantly, if someone blows $700 on a monitor I find it a bit moot to say "I don't miss 120hz!" because 120hz monitors only cost in the range of $270-350. Said person is going to feel pretty shit if they buy a U2711HM and didn't consider it a huge upgrade. These are completely different products in completely different price categories lol.
    Or just buy a binned 120Hz 1440p monitor (yamakasi things) :P

    Because 120Hz asks time to get used to it and find the reasons why it's much more pleasing, you'll always have people like my bro's saying that 120Hz is a first class retarded upgrade. They don't even understand why my eyes are feeling tired when playing on their xbox >.< It's like a drug, you have to try it try it try it and you'll never want to go back.

  6. #4846
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,790
    Sheesh.

    I got a second job last week... and my new college semester started yesterday.

    I feel like very soon I'll have the money for some crazy new GPU/other upgrade(s?)... but honestly, with how LITTLE I'll be at my computer, I have a feeling buying anything may be massively delayed.

    I suppose we'll see! :O
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  7. #4847
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Or just buy a binned 120Hz 1440p monitor (yamakasi things) :P

    Because 120Hz asks time to get used to it and find the reasons why it's much more pleasing, you'll always have people like my bro's saying that 120Hz is a first class retarded upgrade. They don't even understand why my eyes are feeling tired when playing on their xbox >.< It's like a drug, you have to try it try it try it and you'll never want to go back.
    I had my ASUS VG236 since Jan 26th of 2012, and yet here I sit back at 60hz. Different people are different.

  8. #4848
    120hz final step? Humans can't see more frames than that right?

  9. #4849
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,620
    Quote Originally Posted by Fauier View Post
    120hz final step? Humans can't see more frames than that right?
    Are your eyes digital?
    First of all, I'd assume it differs from people to people, but I'm fairly sure I would be able to tell the difference between 120 Hz and 600 Hz, for instance. Not that any monitors of the latter exist. I probably wouldn't be able to say "That monitor there is exactly 600 and that is 120", but I would probably be able to tell which one was higher and which lower.

    In general, there is no definite line where you can't perceive the difference.

  10. #4850
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Fauier View Post
    120hz final step? Humans can't see more frames than that right?
    In a blind test I don't think it would be possible for someone to tell the difference between 120hz and say...300hz. It's hard to day. Both would simply feel exceptionally smooth and responsive if you booted-up Counter Strike 1.6 (or any game which you can run at absurd framerates).

  11. #4851
    If you spent about a week playing at 300Hz and then switched blindly to 120Hz; then you'd stand a chance of noticing the difference. You also notice the difference in frame rates in particular when panning quickly.
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  12. #4852
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,146
    While I don't think I'd actively notice a difference playing a much higher refresh rate, I do imagine I'd notice the difference after returning to the lower one.

    There are a number of times when you don't perceive the difference until you take away the good stuff. You can look at how people talk about graphics as if there haven't been improvements, but tell them to play a few hours of Skyrim, install the high-texture DLC for Skyrim, play a few hours more, and then remove it. Or tell them to increase the uGridsToLoad and promptly take it away a few hours later.

    A lot of the things we see now are things we didn't catch being added, but will certainly notice if go away.

  13. #4853
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    On another subject. I think haswell's on-die VRM is brilliant ><. The voltage is so precise, undervolting is a easier to do. Because you don't have to worry about LLC or Vdroop, you can just set a voltage, and test for stability. Right now i'm at like 0.988v (stockspeeds) during prime95. Temperatures now down to lower 60's.

    If anything, the only thing i can really complain about is the cheap TIM they used. Honestly, i don't understand the hate towards Haswell, and reviewsites telling people to buy Ivy because it clocks better.

    I'm considering to replace the H60 though. Noise level is significantly higher than my Dark Rock C1.
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-08-28 at 02:27 PM.

  14. #4854
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,620
    Their TIM is quite high quality, actually. It's the glue/adhesive that is the problem; It creates a gap where the solder would be just next to it. Remove the adhesive, you get closer contact with IHS and die.

  15. #4855
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Yeah i'm going to delid it probably next holiday.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hm, board doesn't seem to want to go lower than 0.968V. I can set the value, but nothing changes.

  16. #4856
    Epic!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,590
    What's this about the Haswell adhesive, could someone elaborate for me?

    I'm thinking about upgrading from Sandy to Haswell in the next month after I sell this here tower.
    Random stuff WoW UI Enthusiast BNet
    Youtube Some old UIs Hulari#21213
    Stream (WoW most evenings now) Lastest UI (Roth's Diablo inspired) Go ahead, add me!

  17. #4857
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    The adhesive that glues the IHS to the CPU PCB.
    http://www.firegoon.com/u/fe5mny.jpg

  18. #4858
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,889
    Alright my phone got fixed yet i'm still not pleased.
    Backcover is now letting go on the bottom instead of the top. (when i peel 2mm i can see the internals)
    So far my plan is to return to the store tommorow demand refund of the repair costs + a new identical device.
    Anyone got any advice/hints/similar horror phone repair stories?
    phone in question being a xperia Z.

  19. #4859
    Immortal Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    7,078
    So for the past week or so I've been getting seemingly random and constant disconnects on my laptop wireless. I'm positive it's not on my end, and I have no access to the router or any other hardware inbetween. My question is for you network guys, is this something a router/network hardware is capable of doing? because this is really annoying and borderline unusable. I also at times have to attempt to re-connect multiple times(sometimes upto 10-20 times) before it lets me on and then promptly disconnects me at a random interval.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||Gigabyte Windforce GTX 970|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||1TB WD HDD, 2x 3TB WD HDD, 2TB WD HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  20. #4860
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    @Shroudster, depends on the waranty and the repairdescription.

    @Evil Inside, Can you elaborate a bit on these points?
    *List of hardware (router, modem, laptop)
    *Home situation (how is it connected)
    *Elaborated problem description, because i'm not sure what is actually going wrong. Disconnected from what.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •