1. #5201
    Titan apepi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mostly harmless
    Posts
    12,622
    I got a 1440p monitor, it looks pretty nice. I just can't seem to get the colors right. I got it overclocked to 108hz, no dead pixels.

    My neck still has not adjusted yet, I have to look up more....I need a taller chair. It is also nice to play wow at a higher resolution, I play in windowed mode so I can watch movies and do other things. Though my fps has dropped a little bit, I just toned down the settings a bit. Though the worst thing is trying to watch 480p movies on this things...it kills your eyes. Where to find some 1440p movies....

    Seems like there is barely anything, oh well, I found a few things on YouTube that are in 1440p.

    Guh, I tried to dual monitor with eyefinity but it downscale my monitor to 1080, no go I guess. But it seems like I can use windows to extend the display and I still get to keep this monitor at 1440p and the other one at 1080, though it is not aligned because of the different resolutions but as long as I don't eave anything hanging off either edge it does not look too bad.

    The colors on my Asus looks much better though.
    Last edited by apepi; 2013-10-29 at 06:17 PM.
    Time...line? Time isn't made out of lines. It is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round. ~ Caboose

  2. #5202
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,047
    Shadowplay initial impressions: Absolutely incredible. Basically zero performance hit, very small file sizes on low-medium quality while looking decent. If they added a 30fps "youtube" option it would halve those file sizes.

    Goodbye fraps
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2013-10-29 at 09:36 PM.

  3. #5203
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Yea. Screw G-sync, Shadowplay is the dealmaker for me. I have to weigh it up to Mantle and I'm not sure which I'd rather pick.
    It's still early. More settings will come.

    I'm confined to my laptop for the foreseeable future for unrelated IRL things. Basically away-from-home and travel sort of deal.
    Initial impressions: Man, the keyboard suck. I'm glad I brought my cherry blue keyboard. And woah, I really really miss Aero with Win8.

  4. #5204
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Yea. Screw G-sync,
    G-sync, yes. Dynamic refresh rates? No, this should've been implemented ages ago.
    I think i'm going to experiment with Shadowplay today aswell.

  5. #5205
    Is Shadowplay exclusive to people that own NVIDIA? Specifically, new pieces of hardware?

    I'd like to test it out myself, but google isn't turning up much for me.

  6. #5206
    Brewmaster Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,306
    It is Nvidia only since it uses the built in hardware H.264 video encoder found in GTX 650 and higher cards. That's kind of the point since you're able to use the gpu for the encoding making the impact on performance minimal.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard (Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
    WoW has been a CPU-bound game for much of its lifetime.

  7. #5207
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Hm, so i bought my mom a Note 10.1 (2014). However, i'm having issues with video playback. Lots of codecs (video and audio) are not recognized. I'm not really a buff on apps, what app is great for audio/video codecs? Or maybe a different player.

  8. #5208
    Titan apepi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mostly harmless
    Posts
    12,622
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Hm, so i bought my mom a Note 10.1 (2014). However, i'm having issues with video playback. Lots of codecs (video and audio) are not recognized. I'm not really a buff on apps, what app is great for audio/video codecs? Or maybe a different player.
    Maybe try MX Player, it might have you install a different codec for it, it should tell you if you need to install anything separate.
    Time...line? Time isn't made out of lines. It is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round. ~ Caboose

  9. #5209
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Hm, so i bought my mom a Note 10.1 (2014). However, i'm having issues with video playback. Lots of codecs (video and audio) are not recognized. I'm not really a buff on apps, what app is great for audio/video codecs? Or maybe a different player.
    There is a VLC player app for Android that will play just about anything.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  10. #5210
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    There is a VLC player app for Android that will play just about anything.
    Nice, this works

  11. #5211
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Ever since the GTX 780 launched, I've been annoyed by the throttling of my GTX 680 and, well, any Boost 1.0 card. It's stupid. I will have to hack the firmware now.

  12. #5212
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Are you referring to the 1202mhz brickwall?

  13. #5213
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Well! More that it doesn't keep a steady boost, it's all over the place. I have reached 1202, of c, but no further.
    I hacked a friends' to get it to change his card to have Boost 2.0 limitations instead. Ran much better that way.

  14. #5214
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Hm, and what you think changed this? I've not seen my 670 act any different.

  15. #5215
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Changed when?

  16. #5216
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Changed when?
    Oh, you don't mean that your particular 680 is acting up, you mean Boost 1.0 in general? I misunderstood you there.
    Well, the only issue with mine is that it has a wall at 1202 baseclock. Any mhz over this value and it just wont run.

  17. #5217
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Yea, it wasn't really an issue to me before Boost 2.0, because hey, boost is a boost. But considering that the cards have Boost 2.0 availible to them if you just poke around a bit has me a bit frowny-faced.

    I'm on a reference cooler, so mine plateaus at 1202 turbo, no matter the core clock.

  18. #5218
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Ever since the GTX 780 launched, I've been annoyed by the throttling of my GTX 680 and, well, any Boost 1.0 card. It's stupid. I will have to hack the firmware now.
    Flash your 680 to a 770?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by apepi View Post
    I got a 1440p monitor, it looks pretty nice. I just can't seem to get the colors right. I got it overclocked to 108hz, no dead pixels.
    Which monitor if I may ask?

  19. #5219
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    But considering that the cards have Boost 2.0 availible to them if you just poke around a bit has me a bit frowny-faced.
    Well yeah but isnt that, plus the 7ghz memory bump, the only distinct difference between the 680 and 770?

    As in "buy one please"- nvidia

  20. #5220
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,897
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Flash your 680 to a 770?
    Yeah, that's what I intend, and what I did to my friends' card. Although a bit of a misnomer since you still can't SLI it with one.
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Well yeah but isnt that, plus the 7ghz memory bump, the only distinct difference between the 680 and 770?
    That and the lower price and better efficiency.

    Oh well =)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •