1. #5221
    Bloodsail Admiral Libram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,201
    Quote Originally Posted by Faithh View Post
    Flash your 680 to a 770?
    Reading this made me just realize that when powering on my computer, I no longer see my gpu bios flash by before moving on to the system bios. My gtx460 used to would show a screen of the year, make, and model. Was sort of annoying since it added more time to wait for the OS to load up.
    I make Trance, let me know what you think! SoundCloud YouTube


  2. #5222
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    That's honestly the first time I've heard of a GPU having it's own screen splash upon boot.

    Imagine if every component had that. It'd feel like starting up a game for the first time and frantically spamming esc/enter to skip past all the splash intros only to find out THEY'RE UNSKIPPABLE GOD FUCKING DAMMIT :O

  3. #5223
    My 9800GTX used to do that.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  4. #5224
    Bloodsail Admiral Libram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,201
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    That's honestly the first time I've heard of a GPU having it's own screen splash upon boot.

    Imagine if every component had that. It'd feel like starting up a game for the first time and frantically spamming esc/enter to skip past all the splash intros only to find out THEY'RE UNSKIPPABLE GOD FUCKING DAMMIT :O
    Haha. Reminds me of the video, If Quake Was Done Today. Can't stand the endless stream of developer logos.
    I make Trance, let me know what you think! SoundCloud YouTube


  5. #5225
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Libram View Post
    Haha. Reminds me of the video, If Quake Was Done Today. Can't stand the endless stream of developer logos.
    Oh man, that video never gets old.

    - - - Updated - - -

    About annoying traits though Tetris, how about nvidia cards still using 3d clocks when using multi-display setup. People have only been complaining about it for...3 years?

    I go from 168W idle to 138W idle (that is with screens and speakers running) when switching on inspector's multi display saver, and literally nothing changes performancewise. That's a free 30W powersave with 1click. I still can't believe they haven't properly fixed it by now :/
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-10-31 at 07:59 PM.

  6. #5226
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,879
    What do you have to draw that much at idle? Now that you fixed it, I mean.
    My entire rig pulls 77~w from the wall and my PSU isn't even bronze, so there's still room to spare. Even so, AMD cards (HD6970 was at least) are also a lot warmer with dual monitors plugged in. Not as much as nVidia does in my experience though.

  7. #5227
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Yeah the idle is the powerconnector of my whole system combined. So monitors, speakers the whole lot. PC itself is about 59W idle.

    But basicly forcing the 2D clocks saves 30W, and i get no glitches or stutterings onscreen. I really wonder why nvidia doesn't fix it's multi display idle behaviour.

    Idle Without:
    http://i.imgur.com/xMZyOkzl.jpg

    Idle With nvidia inspector display saver:
    http://i.imgur.com/01Pd40Dl.jpg
    Last edited by Majesticii; 2013-10-31 at 08:58 PM.

  8. #5228
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,879
    Courtesy of SweClockers' facebook page.
    https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.n...45508917_o.jpg

  9. #5229
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    So it has the full 2880 cudacores huh. Wonder what the actual retailprices will be seeing as it'll likely top the 290x.

  10. #5230
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Courtesy of SweClockers' facebook page.
    https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.n...45508917_o.jpg
    No way, that looks completely different to what I was expecting it to look like!!

    :P

  11. #5231
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,879
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    No way, that looks completely different to what I was expecting it to look like!!

    :P
    Well, the recessions in the text is black rather than the same metallic colour. So I it is a bit new, I guess?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I like the irony on that this is reversed these days. :P

  12. #5232
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    I wouldn't call it "reversed" to the same extent of what AMD card owners typically went through during the HD3000, 4000, 5000 and 6000 days. Just go on OCN and dig up some of the old ATI Catalyst installation, troubleshooting and uninstall (which was even harder) guides. It was like a demonic cult's ritual involving virgin sacrifices in complex pentagrams :P

    These days nVidia drivers may have the occasional hiccup but besides that they're more or less on an equal footing. E.g. BF4 started giving AMD owners a red screen of death before AMD came along and fixed it :P
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2013-11-02 at 08:05 PM.

  13. #5233
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,879
    I still have to update and find a stable driver for my notebook per reformat, which I do pretty often. Else i get white scrambles and bsods. Strangely, the latest beta driver is the stables yet.

  14. #5234

  15. #5235
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,306
    Cyanotical said he's ready. lol
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  16. #5236
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    Well, this isn't too promising. The ol' 2500K @ 4.7ghz is constantly at 90%+ usage in BF4 while GPU (780 @ 1228/7000) is hovering around 50-70% depending on map. It should be the other way around. Looks like even a decently overclocked 2500K is finally starting to see it's architectures' limits in gaming. Benchmarks also show a pretty big leap in framerates with i7 CPU's when paired with a single high-end GPU.

    No idea what more I can do besides upgrading to a 4770K + Z87 board, and no I don't have the money to make that kind of an upgrade right now.
    It wouldn't be a very "happy" upgrade either given Haswell's heat issues, I want a chip that runs as cool and as overclock-friendly Sandy
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2013-11-06 at 05:47 AM.

  17. #5237
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,879
    Try Win8 non-8.1

  18. #5238
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    Actually scratch that, I'm a retard. Turns out Shadowplay was "shadow-recording" the whole time, would explain the usage - the GPU was frantically encoding to H264 in the background. Once I switched it to manual, BAM, 95%+ GPU usage, 90%+ CPU usage.

    Yeah I'm a retard -_-

    No, Win8 isn't needed

  19. #5239
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,306
    lol and they said Shadowplay has "BARELY ANY HIT ON PERFORMANCE"

    loooooooooool Cyanotical you owe me for that one.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  20. #5240
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,045
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    lol and they said Shadowplay has "BARELY ANY HIT ON PERFORMANCE"

    loooooooooool Cyanotical you owe me for that one.
    "Barely" as in you're still going to see very good framerates while recording. That's putting aside the fact that BF4 MP is just demanding as fuck on the entire rig, and DICE is still working to optimize it.
    Wondering if nVidia/AMD have another driver in the works to boost performance further.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •