1. #1201
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,765
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    The limiting factor is others upload speed. People and many servers don't have high enough upload
    Yeah, isn't an Intel Gigabit Ethernet port, literally speaking for itself, essentially? Like it can do up to about 1000Gbit? And I believe a CAT 5e Ethernet cable can do up to 300mbit, if I remember right. Alas, it seems we are still stuck dealing with slow internet because of what tetrisGOAT said and also what our providers would deem okay for us to have. =/

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-27 at 11:29 PM ----------

    Large mess of external cables....



    Meet YOUR DOOM. I am ARMED.



    Who can name/guess the most items in the first picture? :P

  2. #1202
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,350
    Silly power outlets in the states, they need to cheer up like the scandinavian
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  3. #1203

  4. #1204

  5. #1205

  6. #1206
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,350
    If you think that's messy..



    Tap water in Denmark tastes like monkey balls, I can't get used to it so I just buy spring water ^^

    Moving in less than a week so I don't see the point of cleaning up yet

    Also I can't stop watching this, anybody who plays SC should see it.

    Last edited by CheezusCrust; 2012-07-28 at 01:07 AM.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  7. #1207

  8. #1208
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,350
    What do you mean?
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  9. #1209

  10. #1210
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,350
    I did it like 20 seconds after, dummy :P
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  11. #1211
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,765
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    I did it like 20 seconds after, dummy :P
    Nuh uhhh!!!

    inb4 pictures of slightly cleaner stuff. Totally going to go to the hardware store tomorrow perhaps and buy some actual external cable-management thingies. Forget what they're called. The ones you attach to your desk and stick the cables through, essentially.

  12. #1212
    Warchief Iamanerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    the watercooling is an OEM Asetek unit, think of the Antec Kuhler H2O 920
    Alright thanks
    Intel I5-2500k @4.8Ghz| Noctua NH-U9B | Asus P67 Deluxe | 16GB G.SKILL Ares 2133Mhz
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB/1TB | 512GB MX100 | 1TB WD Black x2 | 2TB WD Black |3TB WD Green NAS x2
    MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G | SeasonicX 650 | NXZT H440 | Asus PB278Q | Razor Naga Molten Edition | CM Quick Fire Rapid TK
    Asus Xonar Essense STX | Presonus E5 x2 | Takstar HiFi 2050's

  13. #1213
    Hey guys and gals first time in this thread, I had a question about some of the hardware I'm using in my desktop.

    CPU: AMD Phenom (tm) II X4 965 Processor, speed is 3.42 GHz

    Is this CPU outdated/able to be replaced by something substantially better without too much of a cost? Just curious. And being slightly noobish on computers (My dad has built them so far, I'm trying to learn more about them) would overclocking be a good option for this CPU?

    Thanks - Hastings

  14. #1214
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,765
    Quote Originally Posted by Hastings95 View Post
    Hey guys and gals first time in this thread, I had a question about some of the hardware I'm using in my desktop.

    CPU: AMD Phenom (tm) II X4 965 Processor, speed is 3.42 GHz

    Is this CPU outdated/able to be replaced by something substantially better without too much of a cost? Just curious. And being slightly noobish on computers (My dad has built them so far, I'm trying to learn more about them) would overclocking be a good option for this CPU?

    Thanks - Hastings
    This thread is really more for us to be allowed to do off-topic bantering, your post is really warrants its own thread, but I'll go ahead and answer.

    There's really nothing I would suggest you upgrade to, buying a Phenom II x6 1100T wouldn't be a big enough upgrade to be worth it and Bulldozer is hardly at all better than a Phenom II. You should be able to OC it, but don't expect to get too high, maybe 4.0GHz, and you'd have to have good cooling.

    I'd honestly suggest you save up money and buy a Z77 board and an Intel i5 Ivy Bridge CPU... you'd see a much bigger improvement and all.

  15. #1215
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,317
    Keep it and overclock it.
    Depending on what games you play, upgrading will have no effect.

  16. #1216
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,246
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I'd honestly suggest you save up money and buy a Z77 board and an Intel i5 Ivy Bridge CPU... you'd see a much bigger improvement and all.
    Honestly, I'd say no. Ivy Bridge looks to become an extremely short-lived processor as Haswell will probably see the light in Q1 or Q2 next year. I say wait for that.

  17. #1217
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,317
    I'd use the same motherboard (assuming AM3+) and Piledriver -.-

  18. #1218

  19. #1219
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,350
    They better not make another bulldozer :P
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  20. #1220
    Thanks for the quick responses, sorry for going a bit off topic in the thread. I will try and over clock it then hopefully it should net some positive results.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •