1. #1541
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,664
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I wonder if there are any public university servers we could try in the US, usually the colleges/universities have better interwebs.

    I know mine has a 60 down 70 up thing going on.

    And.... Chicago is Chicago you say? :P

    Not too great for being your home city! Especially considering you're not even 1mbps faster than your test to Denmark... xD

    Also, worth noting that I have 2 VPN tunnels up at all times with activity, and I am running WoW right now? Not sure how much effect that has.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  2. #1542
    Harvard probably has a decent internet connection. My University in Mannheim, Germany gives me a gigabit internet connection.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  3. #1543
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,099
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Not too great for being your home city! Especially considering you're not even 1mbps faster than your test to Denmark... xD

    Also, worth noting that I have 2 VPN tunnels up at all times with activity, and I am running WoW right now? Not sure how much effect that has.
    Probably not a whole lot, actually.

    And personally, our cap at my house is like 24/25 down, 4 up. So. Yeah. =|

  4. #1544
    Our theoretical download bandwidth is meant to be 16Mbit and upload something like 1Mbit. Not that we actually get that, of course.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  5. #1545
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,664
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Probably not a whole lot, actually.

    And personally, our cap at my house is like 24/25 down, 4 up. So. Yeah. =|
    Man that's awful.

    I discovered I can pay an extra $10 a month to bump up to 80 down/8 up with Eastlink.

    I'm not sure if I want to because the shitty SBG6580 modems they give out have issues with bridge mode past 40mbps down from what I hear.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  6. #1546
    Feelin' bad, mine is 128kbps bandwidth , which is slower than 99% of my country. Average is 50mb, and the guys from the capital get over 100mb. (RDS isp)

    I got my new on some days ago , and can't say it's thermal paste was garbage. My processor never got over 52C , even in full load (~35C in idle). Outside was 41C yesterday.

  7. #1547
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,099
    DEMAND A BETTER ONE ASERA!!!

    It's for the betterment of your postings on MMO-Champion!!!

  8. #1548
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,664
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    DEMAND A BETTER ONE ASERA!!!

    It's for the betterment of your postings on MMO-Champion!!!
    They don't offer any other device, and you can't use your own.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  9. #1549
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    In other news, my Movies folder just broke the 600gb mark and is still growing as I replace all my obsolete 360p DivX movies with 720/1080p and expand the collection

    Will need another HDD soon >_<

  10. #1550
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,621
    My torrent folder, which I only use for legal torrents - obviously - is >700 GiB large.

    And that's due to me being lazy and not moving those to the Movies/Series/Music/pr0n categories.

  11. #1551
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    Oh if we're counting in Music and Pr0n then that's also ~700gb for me

    Need to keep a separate movies folder for the family to watch...family things...

  12. #1552
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,621
    And if we count already moved content

  13. #1553
    Protect the files.~

  14. #1554
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,621
    I've been holding off installing my new RAM for over a month now.

    There's something about unplugging a few PSU cables, removing the bottom GPU so I can access the top GPU, remove the top GPU so I can access the sound card, remove the sound card so I can access the CPU-fans, remove the CPU-fans so I can access the CPU heatsink, remove the CPU heatsink so I can access the RAM..
    And it's only 2x4GiB RAM anyway.

  15. #1555
    ...What. How the heck did the process of adding RAM become so complicated for you?

  16. #1556
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,664
    When you fill up a Define R3. I know the feeling.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  17. #1557
    Dreadlord Cusco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    828
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    The lot of the American posters on this entire WEBSITE hates you right now. <3
    Unfortunately, not all Swedes have super speeds.



    I'm glad we're getting fiber in 6-12 months. It's cost $2700 per house for them to supply us with fiber, but you know, investment for the future.
    Amateur Photographer studying Mathematics!
    Linkedin - Portfolio

  18. #1558
    Who would have known, hard-drive cages make for a brilliant way to stop your window from closing when you don't want it to

    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  19. #1559
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,621
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    ...What. How the heck did the process of adding RAM become so complicated for you?
    Well. Noctua NH-D14. DirectCuII.
    Sound card cramped inbetween.
    GPU placed below DCII without space, with s-ATA cables coming out between them (straight-out rather than side-of-the-motherboard).
    I don't believe there are areas of the motherboard that I can see. :P

  20. #1560
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    Well I dunno what the DCII or the soundcard has to do with it, but some more LP ram should fit under the D14 just fine right?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •