1. #1281
    Dreadlord gegalfo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    788
    if you need different colors you have to do it like this

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Wy5YKdbjZQ

  2. #1282
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    Quote Originally Posted by gegalfo View Post
    if you need different colors you have to do it like this

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Wy5YKdbjZQ
    you cant do that with a mechanical, at best you could set up three LEDs per key, red, green and blue, and then use a small logic controller to change the colors, but that is a huge amount of work to do, and generally not something you want to do to a quality keyboard, the g15 in that video on the otherhand, is a cheap membrane keyboard, and already has some of the logic controllers needed, and is easier to modify

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  3. #1283
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,790
    Quote Originally Posted by gegalfo View Post
    if you need different colors you have to do it like this

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Wy5YKdbjZQ
    Yeah... that would be so horribly distracting I don't even want to begin to describe how distracting it is. (Yet I already did begin, I am backing out.)

    Took me a few weeks to get used to the obnoxiously bright blue LED lights on the Corsair K90.... ON THEIR LOWEST SETTING.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  4. #1284
    Warchief Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,242
    Quote Originally Posted by protput View Post
    6 weeks, still no word on my RMA'd GPU...

    Fuck MSI, fuck em with a broom handle
    Heh, sounds unusually long, maybe you sent it to wrong adress? There could be confused 7970 owner living next to MSI headquarters at the moment :P.

  5. #1285
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    I decided to hold off on monitors for now because the shop here in Halifax only has super expensive ones. Instead I am going to bring home my old Altec Lansing set I have (VS4121) and see if using a better audio cable reduces the line noise these speakers have.

    Also, I decided to get an Essence STX card.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  6. #1286
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,790
    What was it you used before?
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  7. #1287
    Hey there! I'm kinda new to this topic, I have a quick question. What do you think about the thermal paste from Cooler Master? I've ordered a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo and I'm not sure if it's thermal paste is good enough to keep my processor cool. (phenom II x4 965)

  8. #1288
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    What was it you used before?
    I currently have an old PCI Soundblaster X-Fi that Creative doesn't support anymore, so the drivers are poor.

    The primary jack is starting to get worn out too. :<
    red panda red panda red panda!

  9. #1289
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,790
    Quote Originally Posted by Worer View Post
    Hey there! I'm kinda new to this topic, I have a quick question. What do you think about the thermal paste from Cooler Master? I've ordered a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo and I'm not sure if it's thermal paste is good enough to keep my processor cool. (phenom II x4 965)
    My honest opinion? It is garbage. Zalman's ZM-STG2, Arctic Silver 5, Noctua's, and others are FAR better.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  10. #1290
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    Hey, I use a 212.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  11. #1291
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Hey, I use a 212.
    Cool.

    (sorry , I lost my camera's battery and had to use my crappy phone)
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    My honest opinion? It is garbage. Zalman's ZM-STG2, Arctic Silver 5, Noctua's, and others are FAR better.
    So you say I should replace it's thermal paste as fast as I can?

  12. #1292
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Worer View Post
    So you say I should replace it's thermal paste as fast as I can?
    there are good TIMs and bad ones, but all of them will work, some just net you 1 or 2 more degrees of cooling

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  13. #1293
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    But some of the more grainy, runny or conductive ones are sub-optimal.
    Other than that you can only get "better", but not "worse" so to speak.

    In other words, just because something is better than it doesn't make it actually worse. Paying a lot more for top 3-5°C during the most heavy scenarios with the most heavy overclocking. Eh, no.

  14. #1294
    Dreadlord gegalfo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    you cant do that with a mechanical, at best you could set up three LEDs per key, red, green and blue, and then use a small logic controller to change the colors, but that is a huge amount of work to do, and generally not something you want to do to a quality keyboard, the g15 in that video on the otherhand, is a cheap membrane keyboard, and already has some of the logic controllers needed, and is easier to modify
    the g15 wasnt really cheap and it seems pretty durable too

  15. #1295
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    I'll be straight up honest: Not going back to G15. I heart the mechanical keys more than the display.

  16. #1296
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,106
    Something in my build keeps going *squeak* like a hamster every ~30 seconds-1 minute. Considering I just cleaned out the whole damn build and replaced most of the fans (it had started squeaking before I had done this), I suspect it's my Samsung HDD. Seen some feedback on Newegg with other people having their Spinpoint F3's failing at the 1-1.5 year mark. I better do a full fucking backup and quickly! Haven't backed up in years.

    Anyone recommend a decent backup software (hassle-free and easy to use please! Don't care if it costs), or is the Windows backup utility still perfectly fine?

  17. #1297
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    If it isn't your boot drive, try removing it and see if it persists.
    It sounds more like coil whine from GPU/motherboard/PSU to me.

  18. #1298
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,106
    GPU's and Motherboards can get coil whine? o_O

    Also my boot drive is an SSD.

  19. #1299
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Older Gigabyte GPUs were known for it, as are newer MSI GPUs and motherboards.
    When I had Vsync off on the Wow loading screen, it sounded like an orchestra of crickets.

    Which reminds me. I should go sleep. But do tell if you try out different things and what comes off of it.

  20. #1300
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,790
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Hey, I use a 212.
    The paste that came with mine was trash, that's all I'm saying. :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •