1. #2561
    Dreadlord Cusco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    853
    This leads us to one of the tragic things about politics: there have been thousands of debates like this the past, I don't know, 100 years, but what neither side seems to understand is that everyone wants more or less the same thing. Us socialists are all for making it as difficult as possible for freeloaders, we don't like them either. We just want to take care of those who truly are worse off, not those who choose to be, and I do think most of us do want to help those people, those who really do need it. It's just that us socialists think it's worth it to have some freeloaders until we fix the loopholes, whilst other people would rather wait spending money until everything is loophole-free, so that just those who need help, get help.

    I understand and fully agree to the argument that we have to be careful about to whom we give money, because if we spend an unnecessarily large sum, to people who don't need it, then that hasn't really solved anything. We've just created new problems. There will always be idiots who want to throw a lot of money around without paying much attention to who gets it, just like there will always be heartless bastards who think that everyone who's worse off deserves living on the street, but it's vital to understand that the idiots are just as misrepresentative for socialists, as the bastards are for liberalists.

    I might be wrong, but at least that's my experience.
    Last edited by Cusco; 2012-11-28 at 08:06 AM.
    Amateur Photographer studying Mathematics!
    Linkedin - Portfolio

  2. #2562
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Personally, I'm really behind Cusco on this. I've got to tell Ghazh in particular though that I don't think any that he/she calls "freeloaders" would "man up" back then more than they would now. They'd just figure out a different way to leech.

    I have trouble believing the 'mass' has really changed the way you want to push it. What I consider more likely is that these people just turned into hobos back then, or leeched off family, friends and partners that they might have had.

  3. #2563
    Pit Lord Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,275
    Right. My fans finally arrived and I progressed to install them. I had to remove my GPU in the process to route some cables and, to my surprise, the motherboard refused to register it after I mounted it back. Took me an hour of wiggling it in and out, changing PCIe slots, I actually broke the clip on the PCIe1 slot while trying desperately get it off before it just magically started working again. o_O Don't you just hate it when you don't know what was actually wrong in the first place?

    A side note; Do you know if Asrock Extreme 6 should let you install single craphics card in the second PCIe slot with nothing in the first main slot. Or is my lower PCIe broken? :/

  4. #2564
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    A side note; Do you know if Asrock Extreme 6 should let you install single craphics card in the second PCIe slot with nothing in the first main slot. Or is my lower PCIe broken? :/
    As long as the card fits into the slot it shouldn't matter which slot for a single card, the board should pick it up and be good to go (at the most with a reboot). At least that's what my Asus board does, if I put the card into the second 16x PCIe slot then it picks it up right away, takes 1 reboot to associate drivers with the card (since it thinks I've put in a new card) and then good to game.

    See if it's a setting in your ASRock bios.

  5. #2565
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    sometimes it just needs to be reseated, the clips on x16 slots and ram slots are there because thermal expansion used to cause ram sticks and expansion cards to creap out of the slot

    this is why people often have issues with PCIe 1x sound cards and network cards not working

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chip_creep

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  6. #2566
    XMBC Frodo beta is now available for Android, in case anyone wanted to take a look at it. There's still a few bugs and stuff that needs to be remade, but it's a start.

  7. #2567
    Pit Lord Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,275
    I actually managed to remove one of the clips from the bottom most pcie slot and put that on the main slot. It's a little "loser" then the rest of the clips but it works to secure the card. Still no idea why the second slot doesn't work with a single card. Will probably just leave it and worry about it later if I choose to SLI. It's not like I'm sposed to know if the second slot works when even the manual suggests using the first slot with single cards.

  8. #2568
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    sometimes it just needs to be reseated, the clips on x16 slots and ram slots are there because thermal expansion used to cause ram sticks and expansion cards to creap out of the slot

    this is why people often have issues with PCIe 1x sound cards and network cards not working

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chip_creep
    *scratches head*
    How can any PCI card "creep" out of it's socket when firmly screwed/latched in place at the PCI bracket?

    Probably not using the right terminology, this is what I mean:

    Last edited by Xuvial; 2012-12-04 at 06:56 PM.

  9. #2569
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    By not giving a frag. Besides, usually the card is only really secured by that PCIe. So it can slip outward uncomfortably far.

  10. #2570
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,631
    Found the Tenkeyless Ducky Shine2's!
    They cost equiv. US$ 225.86
    Quite tempted.

  11. #2571
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Speaking of which, anyone know a good shop for Norwegians to get Ducky keyboards from? Preferably the standard 104 US key layout available as an option.
    Last edited by Drunkenvalley; 2012-12-04 at 09:54 PM.

  12. #2572
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,631
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Speaking of which, anyone know a good shop for Norwegians to get Ducky keyboards from? Preferably the standard 104 US key layout available as an option.
    http://www.maxfps.no/product_list.as...d=303&sort=hot

  13. #2573
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Yeah, discovered that page just earlier before posting, but no non-Nordic layout and virtually no MX Brown in stock. Thanks for the link nonetheless.

  14. #2574
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    *scratches head*
    How can any PCI card "creep" out of it's socket when firmly screwed/latched in place at the PCI bracket?
    that's why they are clipped and screwed in

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  15. #2575
    You guys think it might be worth it going from a BenQ XL2420T to a DELL U2312HM, image quality considered. I really won't be using 3D and the kinds of games I've been playing aren't really taking much advantaged from the 120hz. I'd like to improve on the viewing angles (it's been bothersome sometimes when playing with my girlfriend) and image quality for movies and good looking games really. I'm just wondering if the IQ difference would be noticeable.

  16. #2576
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Naididae View Post
    You guys think it might be worth it going from a BenQ XL2420T to a DELL U2312HM, image quality considered. I really won't be using 3D and the kinds of games I've been playing aren't really taking much advantaged from the 120hz. I'd like to improve on the viewing angles (it's been bothersome sometimes when playing with my girlfriend) and image quality for movies and good looking games really. I'm just wondering if the IQ difference would be noticeable.
    If you have the money lying around and your reasons/needs are strong enough, then nothing's really stopping you from grabbing a U2312HM.
    I don't know how noticeable the IQ will be since that varies from monitor to monitor and the persons' eyes. But we are talking TN vs IPS and there is a difference for sure. You'll need to do a bit of tweaking to get the most out of it...I'm sure there are tons of guides on tweaking UltraSharps :P

    I'll personally be sticking with my 120hz till kingdom come, absolutely love what it has done for my gaming experience.

  17. #2577
    Yeah, I decided to grab the U2412M, try it out and compare with the BenQ and see what I prefer. Better image quality would be nice, but if gaming becomes too much worse I'll just return it. If I find it better I'll just sell the BenQ and the Dell will basically cost me nothing.

  18. #2578
    Dreadlord Cusco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    853
    Today I've imported a total of ~1000 1920x1080 frames to Photoshop, ~600 of which I also resized. Yet it took some two hours and a completely random Ctrl+Shift+Esc for me to even start thinking about the possibility that I had eaten up quite a bit of RAM.



    Restarting Photoshop, ie emptying .temp, also freed up some 35 GB on my hard drive.


    Fun fact: I don't know how many of you have heard about Cartesian Product, but the reason that x is used to describe resolutions (for example: 1920x1080) is the following: A*B would simply be the multiplication that results in the number AB; 2,073,600, in the case of 1920*1080.

    AxB, on the other hand, is the set of all points (a,b), where a ∈ A & b ∈ B. I suppose that you're all familiar with coordinate-systems using the (a,b) "format" for describing coordinates on the (two-dimensional) plane* and this is no exception. The planes most commonly used for coordinate-systems, R^2 and R^3, are actually the cartesian products RxR and RxRxR. Every plane is a cartesian product and every cartesian product is a plane. Thus, 1920x1080 is also a plane, the plane containing the set of all points (coordinates, if you will) ranging from (0,0) to (1920,1080).

    The point I'm trying to make is that by writing 1920x1080, 1024x768 and so on, you are not just writing down multiplications that you let represent planes with height and width; you're actually defining and describing said planes mathematically, without the need for additional context to explain that it's a two-dimensional area.

    *Plane is usually the word you use when working with two dimensions, but I used it throughout, because I don't know whether or not the English language uses the same word for cartesian products in n dimensions.
    Last edited by Cusco; 2012-12-05 at 09:58 PM.
    Amateur Photographer studying Mathematics!
    Linkedin - Portfolio

  19. #2579
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Quote Originally Posted by Naididae View Post
    Yeah, I decided to grab the U2412M, try it out and compare with the BenQ and see what I prefer. Better image quality would be nice, but if gaming becomes too much worse I'll just return it. If I find it better I'll just sell the BenQ and the Dell will basically cost me nothing.
    That's a bit of the difference between the U2412M and the newer models. The newer models (2312HM and 2713HM among them) should be better suited for gaming overall.

    I suggest having a look at flatpanelshd.com; they've got reviews (with calibration of the monitor included).

  20. #2580
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,631
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    But we are talking TN vs IPS and there is a difference for sure. You'll need to do a bit of tweaking to get the most out of it
    On the other hand, the U2312HM and the U2412M are both 6bit e-IPS, meaning they are effectively high TN-panels with good viewing angles. Their colour reproduction may still be at the same levels, but with less distortion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •