What's going wrong.... (A plea for help!)

Hi all,

A couple of days ago I started tanking on my warrior (being a hunter by trade, though!), and I can't say it's gone brilliantly...

Below is my armoury link:
    *EDIT - I'm not actually allowed to post a link yet (!). but my character is Subeta on Al'Akir EU, sorry!*

Now, I know there are 2 or 3 items which aren't for prot, and some things aren't gemmed (e.g. head, waiting for 2.2k valour for head which should be later tomorrow).

However, I seem to be dying CRAZILY fast. As in, some of the best healers in my guild have trouble keeping me up above 50% in heroics (not even twighlight).

I understand popping CD's like shield wall etc., which helps immediately, but when those are off cooldown I just seem to drop health like there's no tomorrow.

Can you guys suggest anything, or see anything that I'm doing blatantly wrong? I've been trying to go for avoidance cap which I'm nearly at, but other than that...

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks a lot guys!

Get rid of the PVP pieces. Resilience is a giant waste of budget for PVE content. Also put some gems in that gear, even the cheap green ones, they aren't expensive, not gemming the gear is just lazy and you can always overwrite the crappier gems later on. Also you seem to be ignoring socket bonus' and gemming straight mastery, don't do this. This is how I gem for protection specs:

Yellow Socket: Pure Mastery Gem
    Blue Socket: Mastery/Stamina green gem (Puissant I believe)
    Red: Parry/Mastery Orange gem

Also enchant you gear. Even if you put cheap enchants on it every little bit helps. Additionally I would replace your gloves and belt ASAP before replacing your helm. Your helm is protection itemised and is a decent level for 5 man heroic gear. The belt and gloves are pretty rubbish.

Your stamina overall is low, this can be fixed by getting your hands on a stamina trinket. Also level your professions, jewelcrafting has quite a few nice perks.