1. #1
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Some...where
    Posts
    113

    Questions about hard drive - SSD and HDD?

    I am no expert when it comes to hard drives, really. First question is, is there any difference between a 60GB SSD and a 120GB SSD, except the size of it? Secondly, if I'd have a 1TB HHD and a 60GB SSD, would the SSD automatically be used instead of the HDD for booting up, etc? If so, does the speed of the HDD matter if I'm having a SSD at the same time?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    The difference on SSD's are usually the brand, reliability, read/write speeds & warranties.

    The speed on a HDD does matter, since you will be launching big sized programs on it (ie. I had a 1TB full of Steam games on my harddrive), the best is usually to go for a 7200RPM harddrive & a Crucial M4 SSD at this time.

    When you install Windows 7, you can choose to install it on either the HDD or the SSD, you should also set the boot order to have the SSD as first, in the BIOS setup.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  3. #3
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Minnesota eh
    Posts
    1,070
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    The difference on SSD's are usually the brand, reliability, read/write speeds & warranties.

    The speed on a HDD does matter, since you will be launching big sized programs on it (ie. I had a 1TB full of Steam games on my harddrive), the best is usually to go for a 7200RPM harddrive & a Crucial M4 SSD at this time.

    When you install Windows 7, you can choose to install it on either the HDD or the SSD, you should also set the boot order to have the SSD as first, in the BIOS setup.
    To add to this: you decide where you want to install programs. You pick and choose where to install the programs to and that determines the speed at which they boot(the SSD is faster obviously).

    I definitely do not recommend a 60GB SSD.

  4. #4
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,783
    I wouldn't go any smaller than 128gb SSD these days. Also, if you're crunched for cash, skip the SSD. They make load times faster and boot times faster, which is nice, however they wont make a difference in actual game performance once the game is loaded.

  5. #5
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Some...where
    Posts
    113
    Ah thanks guys, that made it all so much clearer up in my head. Much appreciated!


    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    I wouldn't go any smaller than 128gb SSD these days. Also, if you're crunched for cash, skip the SSD. They make load times faster and boot times faster, which is nice, however they wont make a difference in actual game performance once the game is loaded.
    I think I'll actually skip it for now, I'm pretty sure I could live with a HDD. I could also buy a SSD some time in the future. Would I have to re-install the programs I want on the SDD then, though? Or could I just cut+paste? I'm guessing it'd be slightly more complicated with the OS though...
    Last edited by Sully; 2012-06-05 at 07:14 PM.

  6. #6
    Like another poster said, It's worth having an SSD for the OS and most used software and then pile all the rest on to like a 1TB 7200RPM HDD. I recommend a Crucial M4 - V.Stable, quick too! and IMHO don't get less than a 128GB SSD.

    Good luck!

    CPU: Intel i5-2500k @4.8ghz Case: Corsair 600T
    Mobo: Asus P8P67-Pro Cooler: Corsair H80
    RAM: 6GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3@1600 SSD: 2x 120GB Crucial M4
    GPU: 2x Asus GTX 560ti SLi HDD: Samsung 640GB

  7. #7
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Minnesota eh
    Posts
    1,070
    Quote Originally Posted by Sully View Post
    Ah thanks guys, that made it all so much clearer up in my head. Much appreciated!




    I think I'll actually skip it for now, I'm pretty sure I could live with a HDD. I could also buy a SSD some time in the future. Would I have to re-install the programs I want on the SDD then, though? Or could I just cut+paste? I'm guessing it'd be slightly more complicated with the OS though...
    You would probably be best doing a fresh install. You can technically copy the w7 over but it can get confusing.

    Once the OS was installed, it would be as simple as copying and pasting though.

  8. #8
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    If you buy a SSD KIT they usually come with a DVD & are able to transfer your OS & programs from the harddrive to the SSD. They usually don't cost more than an additional $5-15
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •