1. #1
    Keyboard Turner so Amazzing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waiting for DP Procs
    Posts
    6

    Need some input before I buy

    Build below

    Case: Antec DF-85

    HDD:WD VelociRaptor 600GB 10k RPM 32MB Cache SATA x2 - Raid 0

    GPU: EVGA GTX 670 4GB Superclocked

    PSU: CORSAIR 850W AX850

    Memory:CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4x4) 1866

    MoBo:ASUS P8Z77-V PRO

    CPU: Intel i5 3570k or 3rd gen i7

    CPU Cooler:CORSAIR H100

    Consider 2 SSD's in Raid 0 to replace the WD ones.

    looking for feedback/subsitutions for any of the items I have selected. Thanks in advace.

    Cost: Roughly $1900 USD

  2. #2
    Looks super good comp, nothing to switch really. Go ahead and order that beast!

  3. #3
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,162
    ^ No, don't.

    THe Velociraptor is overkill.
    The PSU is overkill.

    Get a decent 550w PSU from a popular brand (Corsair, Seasonic etc.)
    Get a 7200 RPM harddrive instead of the 10.000RPM, it's not worth the extra money.

  4. #4
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    409
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    ^ No, don't.

    THe Velociraptor is overkill.
    The PSU is overkill.

    Get a decent 550w PSU from a popular brand (Corsair, Seasonic etc.)
    Get a 7200 RPM harddrive instead of the 10.000RPM, it's not worth the extra money.
    and to make up for the lost speed you could always just get an ssd and have OS/games on that

  5. #5
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Minnesota eh
    Posts
    1,070
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    ^ No, don't.

    THe Velociraptor is overkill.
    The PSU is overkill.

    Get a decent 550w PSU from a popular brand (Corsair, Seasonic etc.)
    Get a 7200 RPM harddrive instead of the 10.000RPM, it's not worth the extra money.
    Agreed.

    OP, I also would ask what you intend on doing with this computer. If you wanted all games @ max then I would say it is fine(minus the PSU/HDD). If you wanted just WoW/D3/LoL maxed, I would say a major downgrade is in order

  6. #6
    Keyboard Turner so Amazzing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waiting for DP Procs
    Posts
    6
    Kingston HyperX 3K SH103S3/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) x 2 in Raid 0 for $180 ? I can snag these up fast if the SSD is preferable. Also you dont think having the extra headroom on the corsair is a good idea, I may want to SLI a second card in there in the future. Can I do that with a sub 750w PSU?

    ---------- Post added 2012-06-05 at 07:22 PM ----------

    The answer the previous question as well, I currently play D3, WoW and LoL but I came from an FPS background and would likely get back into it if I had a machine that could handle it at max with good FPS.

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,162
    Get the Crucial M4 256GB instead of Raid0, with Raid0 the chances of failure is increased (The failure rate is very little, but it's higher). Get a 256GB instead of running a raid0.

    If you really need to SLI a 670, then get a 750w power supply, but I highly doubt you will need it. A single 670 will run BF3 at maxed fine, maybe even with 4-8x AA.

  8. #8
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Minnesota eh
    Posts
    1,070
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    Get the Crucial M4 256GB instead of Raid0, with Raid0 the chances of failure is increased (The failure rate is very little, but it's higher). Get a 256GB instead of running a raid0.

    If you really need to SLI a 670, then get a 750w power supply, but I highly doubt you will need it. A single 670 will run BF3 at maxed fine, maybe even with 4-8x AA.
    A 650W will be enough for SLI also with the newer cards.

    I agree with the 256GB SSD choice.

  9. #9
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,162
    Going for a raid0 setup right off the bat would be stupid, it's usually something you do overtime when you can eventually afford ie. an additional SSD to your build.

    Some people prefer to have ie. 2x 1TB in Raid0 for increased speed, but I've had bad experience with that so I'm staying away from such things.

  10. #10
    Keyboard Turner so Amazzing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waiting for DP Procs
    Posts
    6
    ended up with the 2 SSD's I posted above and I am going to use the PSU from my current PC (a 750w Corsair) so the total shipped for the build is $1713. Thanks for helping me out and saving me money on those velociraptors . All input was appreciated and made my decisions easier.

  11. #11
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,162
    Bad call on the 2x SSD's :/

    Eh, post your rig in the gaming setup once it arrives. ^^

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •