Page 1 of 5
1
2
3
... LastLast
  1. #1
    Warchief Ron Burgundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the mountains
    Posts
    2,159

    8gb or 16gb of ram for new gaming pc?

    i've heard 8gb of ram is more than enough for gaming, but at the same time, ram is so cheap right now, one asks the question, why not just max it out?

    i'm getting the corsair vengeance ddr3 1600mhz ram, 8gb would be 50 bucks, 16gb would be 100 bucks.

    would you guys opt for the 16gb or stick with 8?
    Milk was a bad choice.

    2013 MMO-Champion User of the Year (2nd runner up)

  2. #2
    8GB. You don't need 16, you really don't.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  3. #3
    I think most people will tell you it's a waste of money, but if you want a comp with "Porno Ram", who cares what everybody else thinks and cram that ram in there! Like you said, it's only $50 more.

  4. #4
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,218
    8GB, but if the extra $50 is nothing to you, then go ahead and get 16GB.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  5. #5
    Herald of the Titans
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vineland, Cumberland, NJ, USA
    Posts
    2,597
    8 GB of ram is fine, I would suggest possibly upgrading from 1600 to 1866 or 2133.

    However what you have is perfectly fine. The only real reason you need more than that is if you are big on video making or play lots of minecraft.

  6. #6
    I'd say that 8GB is plenty you can pull off things like playing Skyrim while WoW is running in the background with 8, so unless you are planning to run multiple Virtual Machines or something similarly crazy while playing games then yes 16GB would be overkill. On the other hand if you really can't put that 50$ elsewhere (I think you can) then by all means go ahead 16 won't hurt you but it won't help much either.

  7. #7
    99% of games are 32bit applications and will benefit nothing from over 4GB RAM, so 8GB will not gimp you in gaming use for several years to come unless you're doing something weird like for example multiboxing 5 WoW clients. Then having 16GB might be justifiable. Better to spend the $50 on better graphics card or bigger SSD instead.


    Quote Originally Posted by Linkedblade View Post
    I would suggest possibly upgrading from 1600 to 1866 or 2133.
    Not really worth the money for extra 0.5-1% speed.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  8. #8
    If it were me I would go with the 16GB for no logical reason other than the price difference is pretty negligable.

    Depends on what else is in your rig I guess.

  9. #9
    RAM is cheap these days, you can get 16GB for $83 on Newegg.

  10. #10
    The only reason to go for 16GB on a gaming computer is to be able to say "my computer has 16GB of RAM".
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  11. #11
    Mechagnome muCephei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canadaland
    Posts
    526
    You really don't need 16GB of RAM...if you don't mind spending that extra $50, save it on the RAM and stick it into your Mobo, HDD, etc. Because, unless you're planing to do some serious video editing and 3D rendering, you don't need it.

  12. #12
    Herald of the Titans Hanto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Florida!
    Posts
    2,977
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    The only reason to go for 16GB on a gaming computer is to be able to say "my computer has 16GB of RAM".
    This is my sentiment as well. Then people can reply and say "Teehee you wasted money on something you never use!"

  13. #13
    Pandaren Monk Moosie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,883
    Quote Originally Posted by Hanto View Post
    This is my sentiment as well. Then people can reply and say "Teehee you wasted money on something you never use!"
    This makes me laugh as i remember once hearing a home computer will never need more then 512mb of ram, and this wasn't that long back..
    Moosie <After Hours> : Feral / Restoration

  14. #14
    Price wise getting 16 GB is better deal then getting 8 GB.
    "First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win."

  15. #15
    If you do any video editing, 16bg might be worthwhile.
    Shuttle of Blood Legion

  16. #16
    Pandaren Monk
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canada, that other, other free place (you know, the one that's more free then you pretend to be)
    Posts
    1,962
    Quote Originally Posted by vesseblah View Post
    99% of games are 32bit applications and will benefit nothing from over 4GB RAM, so 8GB will not gimp you in gaming use for several years to come unless you're doing something weird like for example multiboxing 5 WoW clients. Then having 16GB might be justifiable. Better to spend the $50 on better graphics card or bigger SSD instead.
    Not really worth the money for extra 0.5-1% speed.
    The times are changing Ron Burgandy....even WoW is 64bit supported (experimentally) now, I can foresee the percentage of games supporting changing real soon.
    All the games I play run on a 64bit os, or run 32bit on my computer anyways, why not go the last mile and go 64bit?
    Are there ANY drawbacks from going ahead with 64bit os?
    "There are other sites on the internet designed for people to make friends or relationships. This isn't one" Darsithis Super Moderator
    Proof that the mmochamp community can be a bitter and lonely place. What a shame.

  17. #17
    im finding im maxxing 8gb (i turned off page file) on 2 MMOs running at same time (swtor and tera)

    i wish i had 16gb also future proofs a bit more

    32gb for video/audio editing

  18. #18
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,218
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigbamboozal View Post
    The times are changing Ron Burgandy....even WoW is 64bit supported (experimentally) now, I can foresee the percentage of games supporting changing real soon.
    All the games I play run on a 64bit os, or run 32bit on my computer anyways, why not go the last mile and go 64bit?
    Are there ANY drawbacks from going ahead with 64bit os?
    We aren't talking about operating systems, we're referring to how the fact that a lot of games are coded in a 32 bit manner, thus highly limiting the amount of RAM they can ever use.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by WarJames View Post
    im finding im maxxing 8gb (i turned off page file) on 2 MMOs running at same time (swtor and tera)

    i wish i had 16gb also future proofs a bit more

    32gb for video/audio editing
    You sure you aren't confusing between available and free RAM? Windows uses few gigs for disc caching if it's available and makes it not free, but this can be dropped in an instant to give more free & available RAM if needed.

    Few months ago I was idling in orgrimmar in LFR queue on one monitor with the 64bit client and editing guild's first Madness of Deathwing heroic kill out of three source videos at 1080p on second monitor with few IM clients open on the background. Memory usage was about 6.5GB at that point.

    So no, you really do not need more than 8GB even for extreme use cases or home video editing. Only if you do something silly like multiboxing or running several VM's. That doesn't mean you can't buy 16GB "just in case" because it's cheap, but it's probably not gonna be used either.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by vesseblah View Post
    You sure you aren't confusing between available and free RAM? Windows uses few gigs for disc caching if it's available and makes it not free, but this can be dropped in an instant to give more free & available RAM if needed.

    Few months ago I was idling in orgrimmar in LFR queue on one monitor with the 64bit client and editing guild's first Madness of Deathwing heroic kill out of three source videos at 1080p on second monitor with few IM clients open on the background. Memory usage was about 6.5GB at that point.

    So no, you really do not need more than 8GB even for extreme use cases or home video editing. Only if you do something silly like multiboxing or running several VM's. That doesn't mean you can't buy 16GB "just in case" because it's cheap, but it's probably not gonna be used either.
    Have you ever worked with 3dsmax or 3d rendering/modeling Programms?
    In normal circumstances 8 gb are the way to go yes, but when you want to work with 3ds max 16gb are better... the more the better the faster.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •