1. #1

    Question Moving WoW Folder from 32bit to 64bit Windows

    So.. I have this harddrive thats currently installed with Windows 7 32bit, and I want to re-install it with 64bit.

    My question then is, can I copy my WoW Folder from the Windows.old (32bit) and paste it in the 64bit Program files or whatever?

    Please help

  2. #2
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Yes you can. It wont cause any problems.

  3. #3
    Thank you very much!

  4. #4
    Stood in the Fire
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Thunder Bluff
    Posts
    361
    Just moving it wont magically make it a 64bit application, it will run but still as a 32bit application. Move it and install the 64bit stuff for full effect.

  5. #5
    Herald of the Titans Hanto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Florida!
    Posts
    2,970
    Quote Originally Posted by looorg View Post
    Just moving it wont magically make it a 64bit application, it will run but still as a 32bit application. Move it and install the 64bit stuff for full effect.
    This is correct. If you want to use the 64x application, follow these steps here and you should be able to run the 64x application of WoW.

  6. #6
    Elemental Lord Masark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,208
    Best practice would be to stick it in the Program Files (x86) folder.

    Or set up the x64 client.

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Guildford, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    3,780
    Quote Originally Posted by Masark View Post
    Best practice would be to stick it in the Program Files (x86) folder.

    Or set up the x64 client.
    Not entirely sure why you think that, but it makes no difference in this case. World of Warcraft is designed to be a fully portable program, it doesn't make any difference where the root World of Warcraft folder is stored. Since the two actual clients to run the game in 32-bit or 64-bit modes are actually completely separate. The program files x86 is only there to easily show which programs are installed as 32-bit only. For the most part very few programs actually require to be installed in this folder.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: http://www.refreshprojects.com/
    Fractal Design Define R4 || Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO || MSI GTX 560Ti Hawk || GTX 610 || Samsung 2233RZ || LG IPS236V-PN || Samsung 46 F6320

  8. #8
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Masark View Post
    Best practice would be to stick it in the Program Files (x86) folder.
    Actually, in Windows 7/Vista, that's a bad idea. The UAC permissions usually cause all types of problems with the config files that addons write.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Masark View Post
    Best practice would be to stick it in the Program Files (x86) folder.
    No. Best practice is to keep it away from both User folder and Program Files (32 and 64 bit varieties) because of UAC conflicts. To make it easier to access manually into screenshots and addons folders, stick WoW into root of C: drive.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  10. #10
    I have WoW installed on a portable USB drive lol. That way, I can run it anywhere I want :-)

    I also have it installed on my main PC at home, but not on my laptop that I take to work. WoW has to be the most portable game I've ever seen. Very handy.


    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz View Post
    Actually, in Windows 7/Vista, that's a bad idea. The UAC permissions usually cause all types of problems with the config files that addons write.
    Erm, last I checked, most people turn UAC off? Unless you're running a public computer for some reason (or do you REALLY not trust your family that much?) UAC is too much of a hindrance to be left on.
    Quote Originally Posted by Warwithin View Post
    Politicians put their hand on the BIBLE and swore to uphold the CONSTITUTION. They did not put their hand on the CONSTITUTION and swear to uphold the BIBLE.
    Quote Originally Posted by Adam Jensen View Post
    Except maybe Morgan Freeman. That man could convince God to be an atheist with that voice of his . . .

  11. #11
    Pandaren Monk DarkXale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz View Post
    Actually, in Windows 7/Vista, that's a bad idea. The UAC permissions usually cause all types of problems with the config files that addons write.
    They'll be stored in the users profile, where arguably they should be stored in the first place.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by endersblade View Post
    Erm, last I checked, most people turn UAC off? Unless you're running a public computer for some reason (or do you REALLY not trust your family that much?) UAC is too much of a hindrance to be left on.
    Then most people are idiots. UAC was hindrance in first version of Vista, but in SP1 and in Win7 it was fixed and turning it off now is a tragic mistake.

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkXale View Post
    They'll be stored in the users profile, where arguably they should be stored in the first place.
    WoW does not play well with UAC mechanics, never has, and addons really should not be under user profiles as the game is designed to be portable.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  13. #13
    Pandaren Monk DarkXale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,787
    Quote Originally Posted by vesseblah View Post
    WoW does not play well with UAC mechanics, never has
    Worked just fine the last few months, with patching and all.
    Last edited by DarkXale; 2012-06-30 at 09:02 AM.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkXale View Post
    Worked just fine the last few months, with patching and all.
    Yep, it works for some, but considering the amount of people who have problems with it... It's not recommended to roll a dice with it.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  15. #15
    Actually, it does not matter where you put the WoW directory when you paste it to your newly reformatted harddrive. Simply open the WoW directory where you put it and right click on the launcher file and select Run as Administrator for the read/write permissions to be set as well as the registry entries, of which there are only 2. My WoW installs are not in the x86 or the 64 bit Program Files folder on either of my computers.
    when all else fails, read the STICKIES.

  16. #16
    Step by step:

    1. Defrag your hard drive to make sure the files are condensed and the maximum amount of hard drive space is available.

    2. Use the windows partition utility to make a new partition big enough for what you need.

    3. Install windows 64 bit to that partition.

    4. Copy your wow folder straight across to that partition.

    5. Download the wow 64 bit client files (it's really small, like 2 mb).

    6. Extract the contents of the 64 bit client file straight to the main wow directory.

    7. Start the wow launcher and open up the preferences, make sure the 'launch 32 bit client' option is disabled.

    Follow steps 5-7 only if you want the 64 bit client installed as well. The 64 bit client is pretty stable (I've been running it since it came out, without incident). I would also suggest partitioning your hard drive in a way that separates your OS installation from the rest of your programs, especially large games that you have installed. This way if you need to do a fresh OS install, you don't have to reinstall all your games and other programs.

    Good luck.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jevlin
    Why? Because fuck you, that's why.

    Every time you have a question that begins with "Why?" that is about what other people prefer to do with their own goddamn time, come back here, and reread the first row of this post. That will ALWAYS be the answer to your question. Have a nice day.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •