Page 1 of 4
... LastLast

Is Master Yi the 'noob champion'?

PLEASE don't mistake this for a bragging thread as after re-reading it, I feel like it may seem that way.

So I started playing maybe 3 or 4 days ago I absolutely love the game and I'm now level 9 and my favourite champion is Master Yi, I love the playstyle (I don't jungle, not learned how to do that yet >.<), most of the games I join we win and generally I come top or close to top on kills/deaths etc, and usually get the most turret kills, and near the end of the game when I have a lot of items I can easily kill champions with highlander and keep it up a lot of the time, well after this game; http://i.imgur.com/USCGY.jpg which was my best so far I had someone add me and told me I was a noob for playing Master Yi and that he's super OP. So now I've come to ask the question if I ever reach level 30+ and decide to try ranked games, will I be detested for playing him? Should I change champ? I tried a few of last weeks free ones and a few of this weeks free ones and really couldn't get a hang of them.

TL'DR: Should I change my usual champ from master yi to something else because people say he's 'OP' and I'll be hated on if I ever try ranked games?

master yi is super easy to play, and really strong endgame, but he's so common that most players can counter him early whether he is jungling or laning and pretty much screw up the entire game for him.
    It's like crossing an intersection. There's shit going on all over the place and you don't panic and act like an idiot then do you?

Herald of the Titans
    10+ Year Old Account
    when i first started playing a couple months ago i too started out with yi. i like his playstyle and he went well with my group of friends i play with.

that being said i dont see him played that often in ranked matches or in tournaments but that probably has more to do with him being somewhat one-dimensional. he doesnt really offer anything other than just straight dmg.