Page 1 of 2
LastLast

Gaming on Linux?

Hey guys

I got a problem, as a poor student I cant afford a copy of Windows 7 (Running on a pirated version atm, and keep getting that pop up.. Wish I could afford a real version.. but thats not how it is at the moment.)
    So my question is; How is Linux (or some other program, that is free) for gaming? I play all the CoD games, WoW, some CS, and a bunch of other games I bought over the time on Steam..

I got a pretty decent desktop computer
    (Setup
    i5-2500k @3.7ghz (Thinking about clocking it a bit more, but as I got no problems in any games atm I dont see the reason)
    HD Radeon 6870
    8gb ram
    And I guess thats the important specs (If they are important at all, read somewhere that Linux works slower with some gpu's..)

I ONLY use this desktop for gaming, nothing else (Except Vent/mumble/skype and Spotify in the background)

And I'm no computer pro, so do I need to know how to work with software to make it work, or is it any "finish made mods"?

Thanks in advance
    Last edited by Noxina; 2012-09-19 at 02:29 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by atenime45 View Post
    The 10% reward. It's was unspoken rule that you DONT attack other faction so everyone could enjoy the 10% reward. But now no one cares about that anymore

I'll remove it from the post, thank you: )
    The 10% reward. It's was unspoken rule that you DONT attack other faction so everyone could enjoy the 10% reward. But now no one cares about that anymore

10+ Year Old Account
    You mention being a student so its possible you could get a cheap copy from school. Other option would be to install the consumer preview of windows 8 and get that for cheap when its released next month.

Quote Originally Posted by lockblock View Post
    You mention being a student so its possible you could get a cheap copy from school. Other option would be to install the consumer preview of windows 8 and get that for cheap when its released next month.