Thread: minecraft forge

  1. #1
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681

    minecraft forge

    hey

    so for some reason i cant get on the minecraft forge website to download the latest or any version which i need since more and more mods seem to use it now every link from a mod page or going through google just gives me a 403 error saying i dont have access to the page
    ive got no idea what to do so im asking here

  2. #2
    LOAD"*",8,1 Fuzzzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Legion of Doom Headquarters
    Posts
    20,341
    http://jenkins.minecraftforge.net:7070/job/forge/

    Use build 297: http://jenkins.minecraftforge.net:7070/job/forge/297/

    It just came out yesterday and is the new recommended version that mod developers will be updating towards.

    Remember to download the *universal* version.

  3. #3
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzzie View Post
    http://jenkins.minecraftforge.net:7070/job/forge/

    Use build 297: http://jenkins.minecraftforge.net:7070/job/forge/297/

    It just came out yesterday and is the new recommended version that mod developers will be updating towards.

    Remember to download the *universal* version.
    i get the same 403 error with both links

  4. #4
    LOAD"*",8,1 Fuzzzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Legion of Doom Headquarters
    Posts
    20,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    i get the same 403 error with both links
    hmm weird. just tried downloading and it worked.

    here, i uploaded it to a fileshare site..
    http://www43.zippyshare.com/v/34530518/file.html

  5. #5
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681
    its not the downloading thats the prob its not letting me on the site any link to the forge site just sends me to a 403 error saying i dont have permission to go to it


    got the download from the link you gave ill see if i can update my many many mods to it now -.-
    Last edited by Achaman; 2012-10-02 at 12:20 AM.

  6. #6
    LOAD"*",8,1 Fuzzzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Legion of Doom Headquarters
    Posts
    20,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    its not the downloading thats the prob its not letting me on the site any link to the forge site just sends me to a 403 error saying i dont have permission to go to it
    No idea man. works just fine for me. i have no special permissions or anything, just the bookmark.

    got the download from the link you gave ill see if i can update my many many mods to it now -.-
    keep in mind that though this is the new stable, go-to version of forge, a lot of mods have still yet to catch up. You may find that a lot of them simply don't work with this new version of forge yet.

    I know that computercraft version 1.43 is in an open beta for forge build 295 (and I assume 297 will work too). Other than that things like Mystcraft are broken for anything beyond build 254. xcompwiz is actually developing the mod to be a non-jar mod so thats good. Other things i'm unsure about. it's gonna be a lot of trial and error.

    If you want my suggestion I would follow the developers your interested in and see when they update their mods to be forge 297 compatible. Ever since 1.3x and the major updates to forge a lot of mods are in a new state of re-development that is taking a long time.

  7. #7
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681
    /sigh

    now it gives me an error when trying to get forge work...

    "there was a fatal error starting up minecraft and FML" minecraft cannot launch in its current configuration blablablabla....
    Last edited by Achaman; 2012-10-02 at 12:37 AM.

  8. #8
    LOAD"*",8,1 Fuzzzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Legion of Doom Headquarters
    Posts
    20,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    /sigh

    now it gives me an error when trying to get forge work...

    "there was a fatal error starting up minecraft and FML" minecraft cannot launch in its current configuration blablablabla....
    Are you starting from a fresh install?
    Are you putting the files into the minecraft.jar?
    Are you deleting the META-INF?

    When updating forge, it's best to use a fresh install.

    Post any logs, especially ForgeModLoader-client-0 to http://pastebin.com/ and i'll take a look for you. I'm in helper mode tonight

  9. #9
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzzie View Post
    Are you starting from a fresh install?
    Are you putting the files into the minecraft.jar?
    Are you deleting the META-INF?

    When updating forge, it's best to use a fresh install.

    Post any logs, especially ForgeModLoader-client-0 to http://pastebin.com/ and i'll take a look for you. I'm in helper mode tonight

    yes yes yes ive deleted and started fresh 3 times and now i get the same or similiar error for optifine saying i need to sign in or login to get to some site to download it

  10. #10
    LOAD"*",8,1 Fuzzzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Legion of Doom Headquarters
    Posts
    20,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    yes yes yes ive deleted and started fresh 3 times and now i get the same or similiar error for optifine saying i need to sign in or login to get to some site to download it
    With Optifine? That's weird. I've never seen anything like that. Are you sure you're using the latest version from the MCforums thread?

  11. #11
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681
    tried using a different browser and no change i tried googling and only thing i can come up with is that maybe my IP is blocked?

  12. #12
    LOAD"*",8,1 Fuzzzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Legion of Doom Headquarters
    Posts
    20,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    tried using a different browser and no change i tried googling and only thing i can come up with is that maybe my IP is blocked?
    I can't see why it would be man. I honestly have no idea what to tell you. The Jenkins site and the forge site are both pretty open and i've never had the issue you described. I've never had to create an account there either. I wish I could help more.

    If you have any other questions regarding the installation of mods or forge, I'm happy to help. I'm by no means an expert, but I do spend a lot of time playing with these mods and keep pretty up-to-date on whats going on with their development.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •