Thread: Laptop for WoW

  1. #1
    Field Marshal wickedone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50

    Laptop for WoW

    Found this on Newegg, figured it would be pretty decent for WoW.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...tem=34-246-628

    Is it overkill? Something less pricey out there that would be just as good?

    Let me know.

    Thanks for the input.
    "What's your Vector, Victor?"

  2. #2
    It looks like a rather decent rig. I would be mindful of the CPU though, it looks like its the weakest link there. It looks like it would play wow with moderate settings. Probably not going to be playing on Ultra though. If it were me, this would make a nice mobile gaming platform, but I wouldn't use this for my everyday rig. I'd say that is a pretty reasonable price point though for a laptop that can also play some games.

  3. #3
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,306
    Very good deal, I'd take it. ^^

    Only thing holding it back is the HDD, it's 5400RPM.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | AMD R9 280x | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ BeyerDynamic DT 990

  4. #4
    Field Marshal wickedone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50
    I would expect it to run WoW at better settings than the current laptop I have which is a 1st gen i3 in a Dell Inspiron with a 4270 or 4470 (can't remember) AMD Radeon Mobility.

    But the point is, if there's something out there that would be less than that one, but still run WoW better than what I have now, I'm all ears.
    "What's your Vector, Victor?"

  5. #5
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,306
    It's going to run it much much smoother, trust me
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | AMD R9 280x | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ BeyerDynamic DT 990

  6. #6
    The Patient Aldrashan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    326
    Will run WoW at a decent 60+fps on high settings. Maybe put an ssd in it. I found my 5400 rpm hdd in my laptop to be atrocious for windows + games. Stuff doesn't load at all if you are used to an ssd.
    Specs: I5 3570K - GTX 670 - 8 gb ram
    My youtube page: https://www.youtube.com/user/aldrashan

  7. #7
    Field Marshal wickedone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50
    Used to a 7200rpm HDD...not sure how much longer it would take to load at 5400rpm.
    "What's your Vector, Victor?"

  8. #8
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,306
    The 5400RPM will be fine once it's loaded the world, you'll only have to wait a few seconds more on the loading screen, 5400RPM will be able to stream the textures fine.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | AMD R9 280x | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ BeyerDynamic DT 990

  9. #9
    But does it blend? :3
    Winterblade 90 Worgen Death Knight
    >> Click signature for Armory link <<

  10. #10
    Field Marshal wickedone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50
    What about a laptop with a 630M? There's a ton of those out there at affordable prices...and when I say I only play WoW...that's really all I play or have any interest in playing. Notebook benchmark sites report a decent framerate in wow with medium settings, even at ultra they say 50fps.
    "What's your Vector, Victor?"

  11. #11
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,306
    The 630M will bottleneck you if you play WoW at any higher graphics than medium, you're going to struggle ALOT in raids and PVP.

    Bear in mind those benchmarks are in the open world where nothing really is taxed.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | AMD R9 280x | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ BeyerDynamic DT 990

  12. #12
    Field Marshal wickedone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    50
    Don't raid much...if I do it's either LFR (which yes is 25 man so that would probably drop my framerate significantly) or 10 mans. Beyond that I mostly do 5 man dungeons and a little battleground pvp but no arenas.
    "What's your Vector, Victor?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •