1. #1

    AMD 7970 and Direct X 11 lockups WoW/D3

    Just look at the google search results for this issue.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&t...DQ&safe=strict

    This issue is widely reported, I just talked with AMD and they indicated it was a known issue, and that the issue exists on both AMD and Nvidia platforms. They said they were in communication with Blizzard to fix this issue.

    So my question is why isn't Blizzard stepping up and helping resolve this, this issue has been ongoing for almost a year.

    The only fix at this point seems to be dropping down to DX9, which sucks considering we have $500 video cards that we cant take full advantage of.

    Any chance of a Bluey responding to this?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by mothandras View Post
    Just look at the google search results for this issue.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&t...DQ&safe=strict

    This issue is widely reported, I just talked with AMD and they indicated it was a known issue, and that the issue exists on both AMD and Nvidia platforms. They said they were in communication with Blizzard to fix this issue.

    So my question is why isn't Blizzard stepping up and helping resolve this, this issue has been ongoing for almost a year.

    The only fix at this point seems to be dropping down to DX9, which sucks considering we have $500 video cards that we cant take full advantage of.

    Any chance of a Bluey responding to this?
    Didn't think so.

  3. #3
    Stood in the Fire tidus4eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    C'thuns Stomach
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by mothandras View Post
    Didn't think so.
    You want a Blue to comment on a fan website?
    "This is my story,
    It'll go the way I want,
    Or I'll end it here!" - Tidus (FFX)

  4. #4
    I am Murloc! Shampro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Crucible
    Posts
    5,218
    Quote Originally Posted by mothandras View Post
    Just look at the google search results for this issue.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&t...DQ&safe=strict

    This issue is widely reported, I just talked with AMD and they indicated it was a known issue, and that the issue exists on both AMD and Nvidia platforms. They said they were in communication with Blizzard to fix this issue.

    So my question is why isn't Blizzard stepping up and helping resolve this, this issue has been ongoing for almost a year.

    The only fix at this point seems to be dropping down to DX9, which sucks considering we have $500 video cards that we cant take full advantage of.

    Any chance of a Bluey responding to this?


    Not sure if serious...

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mothandras View Post
    Just look at the google search results for this issue.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&t...DQ&safe=strict

    This issue is widely reported, I just talked with AMD and they indicated it was a known issue, and that the issue exists on both AMD and Nvidia platforms. They said they were in communication with Blizzard to fix this issue.

    So my question is why isn't Blizzard stepping up and helping resolve this, this issue has been ongoing for almost a year.

    The only fix at this point seems to be dropping down to DX9, which sucks considering we have $500 video cards that we cant take full advantage of.

    Any chance of a Bluey responding to this?

    Here's a great question: What makes you think Blizzard isn't helping?

  6. #6
    Blademaster Autier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    45
    I had the problem, then downloaded the most recent CCC beta drivers (7970 3gb OC) and haven't had the issue since.

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer Kevyne-Shandris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Basking in the Light
    Posts
    3,255
    Quote Originally Posted by Autier View Post
    I had the problem, then downloaded the most recent CCC beta drivers (7970 3gb OC) and haven't had the issue since.
    Not having the issue with the 7970 and DX 11. It's working as intended.
    From the #1 Cata review on Amazon.com: "Blizzard's greatest misstep was blaming players instead of admitting their mistakes. They've convinced half of the population that the other half are unskilled whiners, causing a permanent rift in the community."
    Blizzard's blame game in action: Deleting 6,100+ of Kevyne's posts and threads from the WoW forums.

  8. #8
    I had a similar issue but with an Nvidia card... it required me to adjust some setting in the registry to delay windows from thinking the GPU stopped reacting to fix it. Apparently it's an old AutoCAD issue as well, where the solution for the problem was initially found... dunno if that will help you.

  9. #9
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by mothandras View Post
    Didn't think so.
    This is a fan site..
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  10. #10
    WoW DX11 performance is a total crapshoot for me on 7970.

    Doesn't matter which drivers, I've used everything from the 7970 RC drivers all the way to I think it's 12.12.

    Every single one gave me this strange frame hiccup. It was like if you're editing a video and do a frame decimate or a skip every 3rd frame. It would say I was running 60, but it felt like I was running 15. Have no issues at all on DX9.

    Every other DX11 game runs fine though. I tend to play WoW with Shadows on low and SSAO off, since I prefer getting steady 60 frames. Playing at 2560x1600 I tend to get wildly unstable frame rates with everything on ultra.

    If your game is locking up entirely, try monitoring your temps. I found that my card will lock up my game if it's temperature hits 84C. I've used plenty of cards that cruised well beyond 84C in the past, but this 7970 just craps out the moment it hits 84C for me. I ended up doing a custom fan profile in MSI Afterburner, the card never goes beyond 68C now and I haven't had a lockup issue since.
    Last edited by Preston Maxtor; 2012-11-19 at 03:27 AM.

  11. #11
    Holy fuck i have this Problem for weeks now.

  12. #12
    Elemental Lord Arbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    8,083
    So AMD sends out faulty cards & people expect Blizzard to fix it ? I honestly don't think this Blizzard's problem at all, either your using beta drivers or AMD is sending out shitty card updates.

    I had Dual AMD Radeon 7970's and they were garbage to begin and im a huge AMD Radeon fan never had problems beofre until having these cards sometimes I would run either or an I had problems with all games. I got rid of them for 1 GTX 690 and I havn't had any problems since.
    From my perspective the cards are junk and a big waste of money.
    Last edited by Arbs; 2012-11-19 at 04:08 AM.
    I'm neither Pro or Anti Flying, I just have a different opinion on the matter.

  13. #13
    The Lightbringer Kevyne-Shandris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Basking in the Light
    Posts
    3,255
    Quote Originally Posted by Archdruid Dehydrate View Post
    I had Dual AMD Radeon 7970's and they were garbage to begin and im a huge AMD Radeon fan never had problems beofre until having these cards sometimes I would run either or an I had problems with all games. I got rid of them for 1 GTX 690 and I havn't had any problems since.
    Well, that is a problem in itself -- running Crossfire or SLI. It multiplies issues and often not even related to drivers (which is usually the problem with AMD, not the hardware itself).

    Why I stick to single video cards. Less hassle, and even less to go wrong.

    Hitching sometimes is caused by how the devs balance CPU and GPU offloading of scenes and textures. Turn a corner and enter another zone this is especially noticed, as the textures are being loaded and/or the processor is processing the vectors. It's very brief but some players notice it more (like the classic "I can tell if the game runs under 60fps" where experts say the human eye can't tell until under 30fps).
    From the #1 Cata review on Amazon.com: "Blizzard's greatest misstep was blaming players instead of admitting their mistakes. They've convinced half of the population that the other half are unskilled whiners, causing a permanent rift in the community."
    Blizzard's blame game in action: Deleting 6,100+ of Kevyne's posts and threads from the WoW forums.

  14. #14
    Stood in the Fire Warpaladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New York City, Brooklyn
    Posts
    451
    I have a Radeon 7870 and started having the same problem today ..thought it was just me o.O
    Quote Originally Posted by Unkown
    "The world is a magical place full of people waiting to be offended by something"

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevyne-Shandris View Post
    (like the classic "I can tell if the game runs under 60fps" where experts say the human eye can't tell until under 30fps).
    My god you're stupid. This myth really needs to die.

    http://www.100fps.com/how_many_frame...humans_see.htm
    http://amo.net/NT/02-21-01FPS.html
    http://boallen.com/fps-compare.html

    Here, go play around with this and pretend you can't see a difference.

    http://frames-per-second.appspot.com/
    Last edited by Preston Maxtor; 2012-11-19 at 07:26 AM.

  16. #16
    The Lightbringer Kevyne-Shandris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Basking in the Light
    Posts
    3,255
    Quote Originally Posted by Preston Maxtor View Post
    My god you're stupid. This myth really needs to die.

    http://www.100fps.com/how_many_frame...humans_see.htm
    http://amo.net/NT/02-21-01FPS.html
    http://boallen.com/fps-compare.html

    Here, go play around with this and pretend you can't see a difference.

    http://frames-per-second.appspot.com/
    It's like trying to argue with people screaming that the McDonald's coffee lawsuit was stupid out of sheer ignorance.

    http://games.slashdot.org/story/10/0...merates-Matter

    Interesting to read that a poster mentioned New Scientist had an article that rated human vision at 13fps.

    So are you going to argue that science now is stupid due to film/movie/tv standards and personal preferences?

    -_-

    And this was funny...
    I couldn't agree more. That Internal Server Error looks way better at 120 Hz on my 45" HD display.
    From the #1 Cata review on Amazon.com: "Blizzard's greatest misstep was blaming players instead of admitting their mistakes. They've convinced half of the population that the other half are unskilled whiners, causing a permanent rift in the community."
    Blizzard's blame game in action: Deleting 6,100+ of Kevyne's posts and threads from the WoW forums.

  17. #17
    this happens to me on 7950 too. its any 7 series cards and its well known, blizzard knows about it, amd knows about it. it was starting to piss me off i would crash when working on bosses. happens a lot in will of the emperor. I'm running in dx9 and evrything is running fine no crashes whatsoever.

    it's got nothing to do with your graphical settings, i've tried every setting and it still crashes if it's in dx11. cpu doesn't overheat, gpu doesn't overheat. something has a very bad conflict and your whole system crashes.
    Last edited by hellboyy; 2012-11-19 at 08:31 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •