1. #1
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,424

    Anyone good with AV equipment? Having a hard time with surround amp

    Well i got this old 5.1 amp. Sony VA-TE110
    And i guess it IS pretty old. Its an amp that isnt even 5.1? Since there are no subwoofer inputs.
    http://i.imgur.com/oFY0o.jpg <-- Ignore the Bray player ontop of it.

    Im wondering how i'll get this to work.
    Connecting rca audio left and right from AMP TV --> to samsung smartTV rca audio left and right does nothing?
    Also tried all the other rca connectors on the amp to TV.

    But then i got an idea to hook up my old PS2 to the amp. And i got it to work by putting the ps2 rca audio L/R to the amps Video1 IN connectors.
    But does that mean that i should rip the yellow video cable from the rca cable and put it in the TV? Since this amp has no video inputs or outputs..

    Also what is that black cable coming from Surround --> Mix ?
    It fit my blu ray players "Coaxial" connector as you can see from the picture i linked above

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX 16GB (4x 4096MB @ 1333mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  2. #2
    Dreadlord
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland, Vantaa
    Posts
    756
    you pretty much need either a new amp that mix can be added directly to some subwoofers for example (atleast i have that sort of "svideo-alike" -cable on mine)

    you also would need RCA out from samsung tv to put on to video2 IN on amp + option to set the audio routing on samsung, which i think
    doesnt exist.

    common problem between old good working amp and nowadays hdmi-technology

  3. #3
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,424
    I also thought the black cable was for a subwoofer.. But why is it on the "Surround" tag then? And what are the two RCA Audio L/R next to it.
    Read on google that the black coax cable was for delivering 5.1 surround data..?
    Oh and i have no idea what woofer belongs to this amp...
    I found an old one which is also Sony (NO.... no dust there)
    But why on earth does the subwoofer has its own speaker inputs behind it? For 4 speakers..

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ny7h9r5tfk...123_130556.jpg
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/8pq9st8ztv...123_130623.jpg
    Last edited by Reguilea; 2012-11-23 at 11:30 AM.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX 16GB (4x 4096MB @ 1333mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  4. #4
    If you could link some of the documentation you found on google for that specific amp that would be very helpful. Maybe it is a european spec amplifier and google isnt returning results for me.

    But the amplifier looks to be only Dolby Pro-Logic and not true Dolby Digital 5.1. So that means it remixes the stereo signal to the center speaker, R, L and 2 surround channels. In a decent setup it doesn't sound too bad, it just wont be as precise as true 5.1.

    It looks as though the subwoofer can be operated in both active and passive form. So the RCA jack on the sub is for an LFE input incase you have a subwoofer out on your reciever (which you obviously don't.) So this means you can run the subwoofer and actually get some lower end bass it just wont be dedicated LFE information. You will want to run speaker wire from the amplifiers L and R front speakers to the sub input, then run the speaker outputs on the sub to the L and R front channel speakers.

    Just a slight diagram of how the speaker wire should be set up:

    Amplifier ----------------------(Speaker Wire)---------------------> Subwoofer L & R input
    Suberwoofer L&R Output--------------(Speaker Wire) --------------> Right and Left physical speaker

    This will give your subwoofer stereo information while powering your front speakers. The center speaker will be remixed through Dolby Pro-logic and hooked up like you normally would with the amplifier wired directly to the speaker. This is the same with the surround speakers.

    As for the cut off frequency on the subwoofer, I would put the dial anywhere from 12 o'clock, being straight up to 11 o'clock. That should cut off the smaller satellite speakers at around 80-100Hz which is right where they probably start to fall off for response.

    Also there are 2 kinds of coaxial cables. One is a digital audio cable that can transmit 5.1 discrete. The other is the twist on kind cable/satellite boxes use for information.

    Coaxial Digital Audio cable example -

    Coaxial Cable (Older style) example -

    Which cable type is the one that is in your amplifier in the mix section now? Im guessing its the 5.1 looking one but I haven't seen a Pro-Logic amp accept the coaxial digital audio before since its essentially 2 different types of processing. An amp that is that old anyway. I know pretty much all receivers these days process both Pro-Logic and Dolby Digital.

    If you could also provide a picture of the front of the amp that would be helpful as well.

    Tears is correct though, if the amplifier is indeed ONLY Pro-Logic you will want to get a new A/V receiver. Unless you have a stereo audio output on your TV, which is unlikely as most are HDMI out or digital optical only now, you won't be able to get sound from anything other than something with stereo hookups.
    Last edited by sherman9800; 2012-11-23 at 01:56 PM.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Reguilea View Post
    Well i got this old 5.1 amp. Sony VA-TE110
    And i guess it IS pretty old. Its an amp that isnt even 5.1? Since there are no subwoofer inputs.
    http://i.imgur.com/oFY0o.jpg <-- Ignore the Bray player ontop of it.

    Im wondering how i'll get this to work.
    Connecting rca audio left and right from AMP TV --> to samsung smartTV rca audio left and right does nothing?
    Also tried all the other rca connectors on the amp to TV.

    But then i got an idea to hook up my old PS2 to the amp. And i got it to work by putting the ps2 rca audio L/R to the amps Video1 IN connectors.
    But does that mean that i should rip the yellow video cable from the rca cable and put it in the TV? Since this amp has no video inputs or outputs..

    Also what is that black cable coming from Surround --> Mix ?
    It fit my blu ray players "Coaxial" connector as you can see from the picture i linked above
    An amp should not have Video inputs or outputs...its not for video. It is a sony, so the bass channel is probably duped into one of the mid channels.

    Also no info on this model # so you should look for another identifier. However its sony it really cannot be that good audio quality wise.

    Your TV would need AUDIO outputs, while it is common it is also very common to drop these to cheapen up the final product. Now any amp follows this kind of order.

    OUTPUT > AMP > Receiver > Sound or Xbox to Mixamp to speakers the mixamp being both receive/mixer and amp, this is much more common these days than the traditional HiFi setup w/ a Receiver Amp Mixer etc.
    Last edited by Milkshake86; 2012-11-23 at 02:03 PM.

  6. #6
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks for the feedback! For some reason i cant really find any info on the TA-VE110 from google... I wonder why? cause i can find loads on the Ta-VE100.
    Even its manual --> http://www.google.fi/url?sa=t&rct=j&...W2UUnNDy8USOzQ

    It seems to have 2 scart connectors..?
    From the front the 100 and my 110 are identical.

    my TA-VE110 FRONT --> http://i.imgur.com/YxBfC.jpg
    my TA-VE110 BACK --> http://i.imgur.com/oFY0o.jpg
    Google search TA-VE100 FRONT --> http://c0.dmlimg.com/1fc1c1c2db5852e...193164c28c.jpg
    Google search Ta-VE100 BACK --> http://www.hifi-pictures.net/amplifi...VE100/back.jpg

    My TV model --> http://www.samsung.com/fi/consumer/t...S5505KXXE-spec (Couldnt find on US site)
    my TV BACK --> http://i.imgur.com/3gkaZ.jpg

    my coax cable --> http://www.optimization-world.com/im..._rca_audio.jpg

    ---------- Post added 2012-11-23 at 05:33 PM ----------

    From what i understood i could get the amp to work in a "virtual surround" environment if i buy an older dvd player with stereo OUT?
    My bluray player now ONLY has Coaxial and hdmi out..

    But i dont think i can chain link the subwoofer with the amp and front l/r speakers.
    Heres a closer pic of the subwoofer http://www.avforums.com/forums/attac...sub-woofer.jpg

    It doesnt have an audio OUTPUT to hook up the front speakers to. Only inputs.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX 16GB (4x 4096MB @ 1333mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Reguilea View Post
    From what i understood i could get the amp to work in a "virtual surround" environment if i buy an older dvd player with stereo OUT?
    My bluray player now ONLY has Coaxial and hdmi out..
    That is correct. The Pro-Logic surround processing only takes stereo and breaks up the signal to sound like its full 5.1 surround sound. It does not have individual channels besides left and right. So it is a form of virtual surround.

    Quote Originally Posted by Reguilea View Post
    But i dont think i can chain link the subwoofer with the amp and front l/r speakers.
    Heres a closer pic of the subwoofer http://www.avforums.com/forums/attac...sub-woofer.jpg

    It doesnt have an audio OUTPUT to hook up the front speakers to. Only inputs.
    If you look at the actual embossed boxes in the plastic around the inputs you can see they are sectioned off. The Left single input says Input 1. The bottom 2 speaker terminals say Input 2. But the top speaker left and right say Speakers. It specifically says "The impedance of the speakers connected to these speaker terminals..." Which means more than likely it needs a speaker which is approximately 8 Ohms.

    The green are inputs. The blue section is output made for stereo speakers.

    Honestly AV receivers are dirt cheap for good features and decent power for smaller speakers. Dolby True HD and DTS HD are miles ahead of Pro-Logic. Especially if you have a Blu-ray and High Definition TV. During Christmas time you could probably get a decent 5.1 or even 7.1 surround sound receiver for €150-200.
    Last edited by sherman9800; 2012-11-23 at 05:27 PM.

  8. #8
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,424
    Yeah. Thanks for the amazing help!
    And yeah the speakers for this amp are exactly 8 ohms.
    If i get a new surround receiver with hdmi. Can i use these old sony speakers along with the woofer?
    I mean yeah i guess i can. But these are... pretty shit right?

    http://i.imgur.com/MS3ub.jpg
    http://hostarea.de/out.php/i244122_sony.jpg

    Edit: Would this be good? http://www.pioneer.eu/eur/products/4...22-K/page.html
    Not looking for excellent. just the 5.1 experience
    Does the HDMI Out from the av receiver go to TV HDMI in?
    And Bluray HDMI to av receiver hdmi in?
    Last edited by Reguilea; 2012-11-23 at 05:51 PM.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX 16GB (4x 4096MB @ 1333mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  9. #9
    That's correct the HDMI out on the receiver would go into the TV. Blu-ray and cable would go into the AV receiver.

    Pioneer makes quality products. I did read from 1 person that had some trouble with it and the HDMI signal but that is just one person. The brands I would suggest over others are Onkyo and Denon but Yamaha and Pioneer are a notch below for average consumer receivers. They tend to be a little more expensive for the money but they will last a long time. Sony is decent as well.

    The sony speakers should be fine as long as they aren't blown and are in good working condition. You would need an LFE cable with that new reciever and you would just plug it into that subwoofer, the single left input instead of doing the speaker thing I suggested. The output on the receiver would be called Sub Pre-out most likely.

    I will add that I didn't mean to scare you away from Pioneer. They make good stuff and I've had an AV receiver from them for close to 8 years now and its still going strong. It only needed 1 repair and it was under warranty. But something to keep in mind. Even yamaha's lower end receivers have a 2 year warranty. Some of Onkyo and Pioneer only have 1 year standard. Something to think about as well. But you might have different laws in your country.
    Last edited by sherman9800; 2012-11-23 at 06:29 PM.

  10. #10
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,424
    Yes thankyou. Youve helped alot!!

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX 16GB (4x 4096MB @ 1333mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •