Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    Sacred shield macro

    is it possible to macro sacred shield with another talent
    maybe with judgment or any other/longer lasting spell?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Angliru View Post
    is it possible to macro sacred shield with another talent
    maybe with judgment or any other/longer lasting spell?
    It's still on the GCD, so not really.

    Unlike Holy Shield in 4.3.0, which was not, Sacred Shield most certainly is.

  3. #3
    I can't fathom why you'd even do this. It lasts for 30 seconds, and is it really that hard to keep check on?
    I'm not a native English speaker, and yet, I don't suck at English. The argument "English is not my mother tongue" doesn't actually give you an excuse to do so.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Angliru View Post
    is it possible to macro sacred shield with another talent
    maybe with judgment or any other/longer lasting spell?
    If your a clicker then I can understand why it would be such hell for you. If you use hot keys then its simple to add this spell to a key which is simple to press. For instance i use the Cataclysm steelseries mouse an i have a button right by my thumb on my mouse that I click which re-applies my sacred shield. Real simple stuff.

    Of course your other option is to take Selfless Healer or Eternal flame atleast those don't need you to keep em up?... Jus sayin...


    Edit: Just to add yes Sacred Shield is on the GCD so it is not wise to try macro it.
    Last edited by Bane-Thunder-God; 2012-09-04 at 02:33 PM.
    My WoD Beta Ret lvl 100 pvp videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/Spinalc0rd

    More content to come, Like, Comment, Subscribe, Retweet, Instagram, Facebook lool i kid, i kid

  5. #5
    Banned MerinPally's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chemistry block.
    Posts
    10,385
    You won't be able to make a sensible macro out of this unless you want to bind it to a taunt or WoG. Don't do either of those. It's a recipe for disaster.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by MerinPally View Post
    You won't be able to make a sensible macro out of this unless you want to bind it to a taunt or WoG. Don't do either of those. It's a recipe for disaster.
    Word of Glory is off the GCD? This is news to me. It'd be possible to bind it to any ability off the GCD, like Avenging Wrath. It won't give any decent results though.
    I'm not a native English speaker, and yet, I don't suck at English. The argument "English is not my mother tongue" doesn't actually give you an excuse to do so.

  7. #7
    Banned MerinPally's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chemistry block.
    Posts
    10,385
    Quote Originally Posted by Noxiye View Post
    Word of Glory is off the GCD? This is news to me. It'd be possible to bind it to any ability off the GCD, like Avenging Wrath. It won't give any decent results though.
    Yup, all our Holy Power spenders for prot (SHOTR/WoG/EF) are off the GCD. SHOTR definitely is, I might just be imagining things though still. On Sunday I had an "emergency" so bailed on the raid at the last minute. Twas an emergency trip to the pub, I got home and passed out so my memory from the past few days is still fuzzy D: I'll check!
    Last edited by MerinPally; 2012-09-04 at 03:24 PM.

  8. #8
    Scarab Lord Grubjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Spook central
    Posts
    4,154
    Quote Originally Posted by MerinPally View Post
    Yup, all our Holy Power spenders for prot (SHOTR/WoG/EF) are off the GCD. SHOTR definitely is, I might just be imagining things though still. On Sunday I had an "emergency" so bailed on the raid at the last minute. Twas an emergency trip to the pub, I got home and passed out so my memory from the past few days is still fuzzy D: I'll check!
    this is true for other tanks' resource dumps. for example Shield Block/Shield Barrier for Warriors, Savage Defense/Frenzied Regeneration for Druids, are also not on the GCD.

  9. #9
    Your best bet for managing sacred shield is to make an aura using power or weak auras to notify you when it's gone.

  10. #10
    Another option is to get Vuhdo its useful for all classes not just healers

  11. #11
    Mechagnome darkminaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cambodia
    Posts
    606
    so simply put sacred shield on the other shield spell^^

    sadly i can't do that since i mostly play 2nd tank and like to assist when i don't have a add hitting me. never thought keeping tack of 1 spell is hard .. but well i used to play druid and warlock so tracking stuff that is under 1min kinda sticks with you :P

  12. #12
    Scarab Lord Grubjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Spook central
    Posts
    4,154
    Power/Weak Auras and Vuhdo do different things and you could use either for both.

    Power Auras and Weak Auras and NeedToKnow etc. can notify you whenever Sacred Shield is missing. If i am using Sacred Shield my Weak Auras chimes whenever SS is about to fall off and shows an icon on my screen whenever SS is missing

    Vuhdo or healbot or Clique will allow you to cast SS on any target using a mouse click on a raidframe grid rather than having to target a player and then click.

    Since SS is on the GCD i avoid binding it to other abilities. However, Divine Protection, which is off the GCD, can be macrod into SS with few repercussions, especially since its cooldown is shortened to nearly 30 seconds by the Unbreakable Spirit talent.

    #showtooltip [mod] Divine Protection; Sacred Shield
    /cast [mod, combat] Divine Protection
    /cast [mod, @player] [@mouseover, help] [@focus, help] [@player] Sacred Shield


    i do the same thing for my druid where Barkskin and Cenarion Ward are macrod together using a nearly identical macro.
    Last edited by Grubjuice; 2012-09-04 at 05:06 PM.

  13. #13
    i use this weakaura.

    Code:
    didvcaGlIITjbZKOuZfuMTQUPsv3wIStj1EP2TG9lK8tLk)vu(TsgkqAWIknCPYbbPJHOZbIwOu1IbklNKNc9yapxXebQMQuMmstxLlJ66KYgfv8ze2mPA7aXHf5BsOPjuFheggronHrleJxI6KkLBjQ6AsY5jQwgO6zcPghrjBs3mkmUfowPNayyBaRWadkyIxCYZan9jQiK1)8mmDphOIaHXXiPmXYuug4glzKAK6MrG1VuU5Z4PeeeSYnJth))g1iCjiHxzuB4SPJ)FJ6EJHujECZ1KgXeGIPrLlgrWp1NrDT)hGuW9(mgHferoxtkjz8xjQBg1god4tZ4EJQ1ZUzSK2Fc385ZO2Wzthd4EJthd4MXreiE21W9ze4tZ4MXreiE2iOqLnuW3Q95ZO(sXeQLwG24YNMIn24YNMIhyyh)puGtas6eRWoqy1NKpWqiwkAwkqZ6xjf1OIjeRqtEhBStTiu8mhx(0uSrWEoq3VOSrOGdUr5701h(Co5JRKIHSySezbiLQGtwW65RGBuqnwZqymOvQPeeeSACnPrie0lIRjLKmwENU(WNZjFXQcXfIUQOumz0KvYk265JR8zm5MrmbOyAu5Ire8tnUfowPNayyBaRWadkyIxCYZan9jQiK1)8mmDphOIaHpJG4AYyjjF2a
    a timer would work just as well i suppose. Hope this helps, i found that i was using sacred shield WAY TOO MUCH last week and its not supposed to be a filler everytime plus using a gcd and all. As long as this things lit up you are golden and you can see its progress going down.

    edit: I don't think binding it with something else is the best idea.
    Last edited by Lological; 2012-09-04 at 04:54 PM.

  14. #14
    Typically I macro it with Eternal Flame. This way regardless of which talent I need for a given fight, the same keybind will apply it.
    As for wanting to macro it to a different power to try and keep better uptimes on it...well I am sorry but that's terrible. It is a 30 second buff, how hard is it to keep track of a buff that lasts that long, really? :s

    To be an actual answer.
    The only ability you could really macro it to would be Divine Protection. Even then it'd be a bad idea.

  15. #15
    Stood in the Fire Drfireburns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Dark Portal
    Posts
    438
    Honestly I don't see why you'd have an issue with this ability. Once the GCD is up, just use it again, or just watch the buff? If anything I'm sure your raid group has a Holy Paladin spamming it on you that can let you know once theirs is down.

  16. #16
    Fluffy Kitten Rivin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    13,569
    Quote Originally Posted by Hammerofpope View Post
    Honestly I don't see why you'd have an issue with this ability. Once the GCD is up, just use it again, or just watch the buff? If anything I'm sure your raid group has a Holy Paladin spamming it on you that can let you know once theirs is down.
    Sacred Shield stacks from other paladins, so that wouldn't matter.

  17. #17
    Scarab Lord Grubjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Spook central
    Posts
    4,154
    Quote Originally Posted by Rivin View Post
    Sacred Shield stacks from other paladins, so that wouldn't matter.
    that's new right? before weren't SS from different Pallies mutually exclusive on the same target?

  18. #18
    High Overlord Codyak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Meet me at Adams Morgan
    Posts
    148
    They stack, else talents would be wasted with multiple paladins that chose that specific one.

  19. #19
    Fluffy Kitten Rivin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    13,569
    Quote Originally Posted by Grubjuice View Post
    that's new right? before weren't SS from different Pallies mutually exclusive on the same target?
    They didn't stack in Wrath or for a while in beta, but they've stacked in beta for a month or two now? And that went live, of course.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Angliru View Post
    is it possible to macro sacred shield with another talent
    maybe with judgment or any other/longer lasting spell?
    You can if you're prot. You can macro it with Shield of the Righteous (the shield slam move) as sotr is not on the gcd. So that anytime you hit the sotr you also put the shield up, you can even cast the shield if you can't cast sotr yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •