Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    WoW running slow

    Been having this issue sense the release of MoP. Just upgraded my graphics card from a HD 6500 to GTX 670 hoping to solve the problem buy noticed little gain. Im able to run the game in "Good" settings but only getting 30-50fps in a BG. I defrag my computer every week and have reformated my computer twice in the last 6 months with nothing to show. I can only think that it is some other hardware on my computer that could be slowing me down. Any help would REALLY be appreciated. Thank You

  2. #2
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Whats your other specs? CPU and ram at least.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,525
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocturnall View Post
    Just upgraded my graphics card from a HD 6500 to GTX 670 hoping to solve the problem buy noticed little gain
    I just recently purchased a 660 Standard non-ti, and can run Ultra with room to spare. There's no reason you should be getting that kind of performance with a 670 under normal circumstances.

    What CPU do you have? Do you have all the power plugged into the new card? Drivers?

    Also, I don't recommend defragging your computer quite so much. It puts a fair strain on the drive, and I highly doubt any work you do in a week would need such.

    It sounds like you've got a hardware issue though, if you've reformatted and had the same problems. Maybe get a hard drive and memory testing software boot cd and see what hat shows.

  5. #5
    For some reason its giving me errors trying to post specs in my original post..
    "You are not allowed to post any kinds of links, images or videos until you post a few times."
    Windows 7 64bit
    i7 3.07GHz
    6GB RAM

  6. #6
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocturnall View Post
    For some reason its giving me errors trying to post specs in my original post..
    "You are not allowed to post any kinds of links, images or videos until you post a few times."
    Windows 7 64bit
    i7 3.07GHz
    6GB RAM
    What kind of i7? I'm guessing a first gen based on the ram size. Should definitely run better regardless.

  7. #7
    Sorry,

    Intel Core i7 CPU 950 3.07GHz (8 CPUs), 3.1GHz

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocturnall View Post
    Sorry,

    Intel Core i7 CPU 950 3.07GHz (8 CPUs), 3.1GHz

    Thanks
    Did you completely remove your ATI drivers before installing the nvidia ones? Are the nvidia ones up to date?

    http://benchmark3d.com/how-to-comple...ove-any-driver

  9. #9
    Dreadlord haxs101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Good ol' Tennessee!
    Posts
    941
    You shouldn't have a problem running on Ultra, also turn down shadows, to atleast high. Shadows make ALL computers go to their knee's and you won't be able to tell the difference.

    Also wipe your old drivers, clean out your computer, also clean your windows with ccleaner, and erase crap you don't need.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mwarren View Post
    It's a no brainer. Get MW3, Skyrim is just a rehash of Oblivion.
    Quote Originally Posted by Neezh View Post
    Because I'm brave enough to smoke. I see no point in quitting

  10. #10
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,525
    Yeah, with those specs you should be destroying WoW on Ultra, unless you have like.. quad monitors or something.

    I'd follow the steps above, verify power is going to the right places, and do some tests.

  11. #11
    Did you completely remove your ATI drivers before installing the nvidia ones? Are the nvidia ones up to date?
    I did AFTER i installed the nvidia card... im sure that wasnt the right way. The Nvidia is up to date. Not too sure if its the CPU holding me back either.

  12. #12
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Turn down shadows.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  13. #13
    Turn down shadows.
    Just dropped it from "Good" to "Fair".

  14. #14
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocturnall View Post
    I did AFTER i installed the nvidia card... im sure that wasnt the right way. The Nvidia is up to date. Not too sure if its the CPU holding me back either.
    Check your usage in task manager.

  15. #15
    Check your usage in task manager.
    With WoW running in the background CPU Usage is 9-13%

  16. #16
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocturnall View Post
    With WoW running in the background CPU Usage is 9-13%
    Yeah uninstall and clean your drivers using the method I posted (also clean out any ATI/AMD display drivers while you are at it) and reinstall your nvidia ones.

  17. #17
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,525
    All this troubleshooting is useful, to be sure... But it still sounds like a hardware issue if the problem has persisted through multiple reformats.

  18. #18
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    All this troubleshooting is useful, to be sure... But it still sounds like a hardware issue if the problem has persisted through multiple reformats.
    Some reason I was reading reformat as defrag, heh.

    Whats your power supply specs then?

  19. #19
    Whats your power supply specs then?
    Cooler master 850w silent pro

  20. #20
    Herald of the Titans Vetali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Washington, Land of Rain
    Posts
    2,756
    Quote Originally Posted by Knocturnall View Post
    Cooler master 850w silent pro
    Hmm. You can try checking your temps with something like HWMonitor.

    Are you running addons? If you are you could also disable them to see what that does.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •