1. #1
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    80

    Cpu fan is too big i cant add more ram

    Hello , as the tittle say , my Cpu fan is way too big and it block one of the ram slot so i can add more ram , my motherboard is a Asus Rampage formula III so its on DDR3 on tripple chanel so here is my question.

    should i change my cpu fan and then add more ram 3 x 4gb so 24 ram in total , if i do what Cpu fan should i buy ? my Processor is a I7 950

    or should i change my motherboard to get dual ram chanel and go for 32gb ram '' i know it more expensive'' and if i do wich motherboard should i buy

    here's my computer spec

    Cpu : Intel core i7 950
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage III formula
    Video card : nvidia geforce gtx 460
    RAM : 6gb
    power supplie : 1200W

    So what should i do ?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Herald of the Titans Saithes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Mun
    Posts
    2,633
    Get Low Profile RAM?

  3. #3
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    80
    Can you refer some brand please ?

  4. #4
    Herald of the Titans Saithes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Mun
    Posts
    2,633
    Quote Originally Posted by Darthvador View Post
    Can you refer some brand please ?
    I usually aim for G.Skill or Corsair. Specifically G.Skill Ares, Snipers or Corsair Vengeance Low Profile.

    Something like this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231464

  5. #5
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by Saithes View Post
    I usually aim for G.Skill or Corsair. Specifically G.Skill Ares, Snipers or Corsair Vengeance Low Profile.

    Something like this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231464
    oh, Thanks alots

  6. #6
    Pit Lord
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    all over the world
    Posts
    2,414
    not trying to sound rude but what on earth are you doing that requires 24+ gigs of ram?

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer Tehterokkar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3,532
    8GB is far more than you need for gaming, even for video editing + streaming/recording at the same time it's enough usually.

  8. #8
    The Lightbringer Seezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Capua
    Posts
    3,723
    Quote Originally Posted by Darthvador View Post
    Hello , as the tittle say , my Cpu fan is way too big and it block one of the ram slot so i can add more ram , my motherboard is a Asus Rampage formula III so its on DDR3 on tripple chanel so here is my question.

    should i change my cpu fan and then add more ram 3 x 4gb so 24 ram in total , if i do what Cpu fan should i buy ? my Processor is a I7 950

    or should i change my motherboard to get dual ram chanel and go for 32gb ram '' i know it more expensive'' and if i do wich motherboard should i buy

    here's my computer spec

    Cpu : Intel core i7 950
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage III formula
    Video card : nvidia geforce gtx 460
    RAM : 6gb
    power supplie : 1200W

    So what should i do ?

    thanks
    What cooler?
    "1 in 4 Americans are skeptical on climate change...who gives a shit? That doesn't matter. You don't need other people's opinions on a fact. You may as well have a poll asking: Which number is bigger? 5 or 15? Do Owls exist? Are there hats?"

  9. #9
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    also if just the fan there is likely an option to clip it loose? (noctua ones can atleast and blocking is usually common with nh-d14)
    better question why do you need the extra ram?

  10. #10
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,642
    I know this is sort of off topic but.. Do you need a huge cooler? Do you need more than 10gb ram? Why do you have a 1200w PSU?

    ALso, a little confused. You have 6gb now (I'm assuming 2gbx3) ... Getting 4gbx3 = 12.
    6 + 12 does not 24 make.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •