1. #1
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338

    Questions regarding displayport splitters & monitor setup

    I ordered the ASUS 7950 DCUII last night. Now, I've got 5 monitors to use once all of my new hardware arrives:

    2x ASUS MW221U (VGA & DVI) 1680x1050
    1x Xerox XM7-22w (VGA only) 1680x1050
    1x Samsung S22B (DVI & VGA) 1920x1080
    Achieva Shimian (DVI-D only) 2560x1440 -Monitor that will be used for gaming-

    Now, the ASUS 7950 has these ports:


    So, my plan is to get two of the Mini-Displayport to DVI
    Then splitting the DVI with these DVI-D Y-Splitter
    HDMI to VGA for the Xerox monitor

    For the 2560x1440 monitor, I'm going to use this DVI cable since the Achieva Shimian only has DVI-Dual link

    So basically:


    This should work right? Is there other options than this?

    I'm limited to be shopping at Proshop.dk, eBay UK/US & 3rd party Amazon sellers because I live in Greenland.

    Edit: Rest of the setup is:

    AMD FX 4300
    NH-D14
    Gigabyte 970A-UD3 motherboard
    ASUS 7950
    Antec Earthwatts 550w 80+ Platinum
    2x4GB Kingston RAM
    2x 128GB SSD's & 1TB external USB 3.0
    Cooler Master Test Bench v1.0
    Last edited by CheezusCrust; 2012-12-30 at 01:34 PM.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  2. #2
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,894
    You might have to settle with four screens. I'm not entirely sure how well the splitter will be working, since it will effectively be 2x 1680x1050 displays sharing a 1920x1080-signal (once changed to DVI), but it might work if you clone them. Or reduce the resolution.

  3. #3
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Even if I'm using all Dual-link DVI will the problem still occur?

    I was initially planning on getting 2x Mini Displayport to dual displayport because I've heard so much about them, but I haven't been able to find them anywhere.
    Last edited by CheezusCrust; 2012-12-30 at 01:52 PM.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  4. #4
    wouldn't it have been easier to get a card with more ports if you knew you had so many monitors to hook up? my 7950 has at least 5, possibly 6 (I cba to check) slots in the back.

    also, doesn't using a splitter mean that you can't use them both at once? i thought one of the two needs to be turned off for either to work? seems kind of silly for a multiple monitor setup

  5. #5
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    I haven't been able to find any Gigabyte/ASUS/MSI cards with more than 4, the reason I'm only going for those is because I want maximum silence from my GPU.

    Both my parent's workstations have a DVI splitter, and they both use two monitors.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  6. #6
    oh, my xfx double d is quiet. i can't ever hear it over my power supply even when i'm on something like FC3 on max settings.

    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    Both my parent's workstations have a DVI splitter, and they both use two monitors.
    ya, but doesn't the same signal appear on both of the monitors? you can't extend the desktop, only duplicate it, unless i'm going mad or just completely wrong. xD
    Last edited by crazypearce; 2012-12-30 at 02:19 PM.

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Proshop doesn't have the Double D in stock, sadly.

    It seems like they've removed half of their GPU's from their stores. :/

    Edit: I found this
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dell-MMH11...item4d076c1d40

    Should be able to fix my issues.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  8. #8
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,894
    I'm not saying it's impossible, but I'm not sure it will work either.

    The easiest ways to have solved this was to get a motherboard with integrated graphics-ports or having monitors with Displayport in and out for daisychaining. Neither of those present themselves as options now, however.

    Go for it, though.

  9. #9
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    How about the Displayport to 3x DVI I linked?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-MMH11-M...item4d076c1d40

    They say the maximum resolution for using all 3 monitors on the kit is 3840x1024, which is 3.932.160, while only using the 2x 1680x1050 gives me a total of 3.528.000 pixels.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  10. #10
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,894
    6x Monitors supported by the GPU; I withdraw my initial hesitation. If anything works apart from daisy-chaining, that's it.

  11. #11
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Thanks Tetris, you made me investigate even more into the whole Displayport thing, and apparently they haven't launched any simple Displayport to dual DVI yet.

    Decided to go with this, it's now ordered. =)
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •