1. #1
    Brewmaster lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,258

    Win8 - Web pages fail to load every couple of attempts

    Recently I upgraded both my gaming rig and htpc to Win8 Pro x64. Since then both machines fail to load web pages every 2-3 attempts.
    Specs for both machines are in my signature. After upgrading and activating both systems I wiped them and performed a clean install.
    I used the latest drivers from the motherboard manufactures and in some cases went to the individual components site. I didn't use the MS included Ethernet drivers.

    Both machines are on wired connections. At fist I thought my router or modem might be having issues but it don't affect the smart tv(wired) or the 3rd pc running on a wireless connection with Win7. Forgot to mention it happens on IE, Chrome, and Firefox.

    Hoping someone has a solution as I would really like to keep using 8.

    For anyone interested I upgraded for cloud user accounts, storage spaces, and possible Angry Birds in Space.
    Last edited by lockblock; 2012-12-28 at 07:51 AM.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

  2. #2
    Can ping the websites you wish to access? (open cmd and type "ping google.com")
    Quote Originally Posted by DemoBytom View Post
    But well - you don't really eat something that speaks to you, is part of "your people"

  3. #3
    Brewmaster lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,258
    I ran several pings on google.com with no packet loss. Latency is around 40-50ms every attempt.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

  4. #4
    Do you use desktop or modern-ui version of the browser ?
    Quote Originally Posted by DemoBytom View Post
    But well - you don't really eat something that speaks to you, is part of "your people"

  5. #5
    Brewmaster lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,258
    I don't use internet explorer I just mentioned it because they all have the problem.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

  6. #6
    Mechagnome LordDios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    555
    i also have this issue . . .that webpages 'break' every now and again . . .also running win 8 64 using chrome

  7. #7
    Dreadlord Godavari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Colchester
    Posts
    871
    it might seem strange but are the latest drives actually meant for win8? i had problems with some so i used old ones, (win8 prox x64and webpages working fine.)

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by LordDios View Post
    i also have this issue . . .that webpages 'break' every now and again . . .also running win 8 64 using chrome
    As much as I hate saying this, try disabling IPv6. It is enabled by default and your ISP may have a broken implementation that causes some odd errors:

    www. techunboxed. com/2012/08/how-to-disable-ipv6-in-windows-8.html


    spaces because I don't think I can post urls yet.


    Please note, that at some point in the future you will want to re-enable this.

  9. #9
    Brewmaster lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,258
    I can't disable v6 without breaking homegroup. Though I can disable the dual-stack mode on my router.
    Last edited by lockblock; 2012-12-28 at 03:03 PM.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •