Thread: WoW on new PC

  1. #1
    Stood in the Fire Hunter Extraordinaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Down under.
    Posts
    380

    Question WoW on new PC

    Not sure if this is the right area, please move if wrong...

    So i got a new pc for x-mas, and wanna put WoW on it, but i don't like using the blizz website to download.

    so here's the question; do i just use the MoP disc, or do i use vanilla > BC >etc?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Just copy it from old pc.
    Why you think the Net was born? Porn! Porn! Porn!

  3. #3
    What Serissa said, I went from an Intel to AMD (I be pooooor) build and changed absolutely nothing, you keep all your addon settings too if your resolution doesn't change. Yes, placement of EVERYTHING.

  4. #4
    Stood in the Fire Hunter Extraordinaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Down under.
    Posts
    380
    Quote Originally Posted by Serissa View Post
    Just copy it from old pc.
    Quote Originally Posted by Hayro1 View Post
    What Serissa said, I went from an Intel to AMD (I be pooooor) build and changed absolutely nothing, you keep all your addon settings too if your resolution doesn't change. Yes, placement of EVERYTHING.

    doesn't that need an external drive?
    Last edited by Hunter Extraordinaire; 2012-12-29 at 12:40 PM. Reason: gud speller!

  5. #5
    yes, you can literally copy paste the wow folder from your old pc and transfer it over using an external drive to your new pc

    or you can just use the mop disk to install, but you still need to download patches


    AddOn Author of: SpellNotReadyYet, Rune of Powa

  6. #6
    The Unstoppable Force det's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The forums
    Posts
    22,106
    Quote Originally Posted by Hunter Extraordinaire View Post
    doesn't that need an external drive?
    Yes, it needs an external HDD unless you can take that old HDD and hook it into your new PC. Other than that I believe the latest MoP DvD would install the entire game up to 5.0

    Might be wrong though.
    "It’s not the job of the artist to give the audience what the audience wants. If the audience knew what they needed, then they wouldn’t be the audience. They would be the artists. It is the job of artists to give the audience what they need."

    — Alan Moore

  7. #7
    You can also copy it across the network but that would be pretty slow.

  8. #8
    Stood in the Fire Hunter Extraordinaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Down under.
    Posts
    380
    Ooook i don't have an external hard drive so that's out the window :P

    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceDuck View Post
    yes, you can literally copy paste the wow folder from your old pc and transfer it over using an external drive to your new pc

    or you can just use the mop disk to install, but you still need to download patches
    Just MoP? no other discs?
    Last edited by Hunter Extraordinaire; 2012-12-29 at 12:47 PM. Reason: A

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Hunter Extraordinaire View Post
    Ooook i don't have an external hard drive so that's out the window :P



    Just MoP? no other discs?
    Not even small flash stick?

    Yes, just MoP discs. It will install 5.0.1 then you have to download all patches up to 5.1
    Why you think the Net was born? Porn! Porn! Porn!

  10. #10
    The Unstoppable Force det's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The forums
    Posts
    22,106
    If you don't have an external HDD - I suggest to really, really get one. You'll just kick yourself senseless if you lose important data that you never backuped anywhere.
    "It’s not the job of the artist to give the audience what the audience wants. If the audience knew what they needed, then they wouldn’t be the audience. They would be the artists. It is the job of artists to give the audience what they need."

    — Alan Moore

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Hunter Extraordinaire View Post
    Ooook i don't have an external hard drive so that's out the window :P

    Just MoP? no other discs?
    You can buy a ~32 gig USB Flash Drive for pretty cheap, or borrow one/an external from a friend. But like det said, you should get one cause losing important data with no way to recover it really blows. Here's a decent one for a decent price, no idea of your budget/if you got one, but here it is: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822158117
    Last edited by Hayro1; 2012-12-29 at 08:56 PM.

  12. #12
    Titan Arbs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    11,599
    Download from your account on the battle.net site, it downloads everything up to 5.0
    Quote Originally Posted by Slant View Post
    TL;DR: Did raiding kill WoW? Nope. But catering the game to people who clearly shouldn't be playing it did.

  13. #13
    Fluffy Kitten Alski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earthquake rubble
    Posts
    2,281
    If you have both computers connected to your home network just transfer it via that.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by SoulForge View Post
    You can also copy it across the network but that would be pretty slow.
    it's not that slow most wired networks for years now have been gigabit so they can actually cap out the transfer rate of most average hard drives and motherboards, the main problem is a lot of people use weak routers that fail when high volumes of data are pushed through them.

  15. #15
    Blademaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hungary - Budapest
    Posts
    33
    If you installed wow into the default program files directory, addons or settings might be somewhere else, like I heared it before. I suggest you to check where they are.
    But its better to keep it somewhere separately and yes you can copy to the new PC keeping all addons and its settings, that could save you a lot of work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •