Thread: Malware anyone?

  1. #1
    Banned Themius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    5,694

    Malware anyone?

    http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/...-the-US/page39

    I can't get to that page, keeps saying malware.

  2. #2
    I'm not getting any warning message from it. Maybe one of the ads being displayed for you has some malware in it?
    It's always been Wankershim!

  3. #3
    Nothing here. Then again, I block most ads, so...

  4. #4
    Getting a malware warning as well. Google Chrome.

  5. #5
    Same thing here using Chrome.


    Checking under advanced gives the following:

    **************************************
    What is the current listing status for rpgcodex.net?
    Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.

    What happened when Google visited this site?
    Of the 231 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 1 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-12-30, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-12-30.
    This site was hosted on 4 network(s) including AS19066 (WIREDTREE), AS13335 (CLOUDFLARENET), AS21844 (THEPLANET).

  6. #6
    Herald of the Titans Ave07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East Coast, U.S
    Posts
    2,643
    Yeah im getting it too with Chrome.

  7. #7
    RPGCodex an attack site? Lulz, someone is trolling big time.
    Modern gaming apologist: I once tasted diarrhea so shit is fine.

  8. #8
    Moderator Majad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    8,551
    I already got it just from opening this page.

    I'll try and see what's wrong with that thread, hold on.

    Also moving this to S&F.

    It's probably someone's signature but I can't really find out whose exactly...
    Last edited by Majad; 2012-12-31 at 02:59 PM.

  9. #9
    this happens all the time, there isnt actually and virus or anything, there are many threads about this already

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Wilian View Post
    RPGCodex an attack site? Lulz, someone is trolling big time.
    Or a script kiddie managed to inject a line of malicious code in somewhere. Infecting legit sites isn't exactly a new tactic.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Khalahn View Post
    Or a script kiddie managed to inject a line of malicious code in somewhere. Infecting legit sites isn't exactly a new tactic.
    What I meant that the someone is trolling Codex because the site is unavailable right now for this issue which I believe to be false flag. Didn't know they were part of any ad things for MMO Champ
    Last edited by Wilian; 2012-12-31 at 03:07 PM.
    Modern gaming apologist: I once tasted diarrhea so shit is fine.

  12. #12
    Moderator Majad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    8,551
    Okay, I know whose sig it is. I'm removing it now and see if it stops and I'll PM the user about it.

    Give me a few secs.

    ---------- Post added 2012-12-31 at 03:06 PM ----------

    Okay, it's taken care of, I'm PMing the user about it, so there shouldn't be a malware warning anymore.

    If there is, just PM me or post here.

    And oh, the user I PMed should also receive a malware warning when opening my PM but it should be okay since it doesn't redirect to the site that is flagged with malware.
    Last edited by Majad; 2012-12-31 at 03:11 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •