Page 1 of 3
LastLast

Exclamation Not as smart as I think I am.

I am a engineering student at my local community college and will be taking calculus one next semester. I always get A's and B's in my class and have not received a C yet. I also am a math tutor at my college. I thought I was pretty smart, actually I thought I was genius.

But now I realize that everyone probably thinks they are smarter than they actually are. After all, there are probably countless other people around the world that are thinking exactly the same thing. What makes me better than them? Upon understand this I know think that I am not special, nor am I gifted in any fashion.

We desperately try to out do one another without realizing that the main purpose is simply to stroke our own ego.

10+ Year Old Account
    'Twas a cutlass swipe or an ounce of lead
    Or a yawing hole in a battered head
    And the scuppers clogged with rotting red
    And there they lay I damn me eyes
    All lookouts clapped on Paradise
    All souls bound just contrarywise, yo ho ho and a bottle of rum!

Everyone is superior to you. But you are superior to them in one way or other.

15+ Year Old Account
    Yes, you discovered humility. It's an important step to learning.

Quote Originally Posted by frunken View Post
    Yes, you discovered humility. It's an important step to learning.
    As much as everyone loves to wallow in their own ego (including me), this is true

Humility...pfft who needs that lol.

Seriously though, everyone has certain things they "niche" in.

I was a engineering student before my military career, I was great with engineering math, but horrible with calculus and writing classes (as im sure many here have observed).

At least your not arrgoant though.