15+ Year Old Account

[Movies] LOTR, Help with some Elvish!

Hi all,

posting because I am interested in getting another tattoo, the front cover from the fellowship (Linked at the bottom). However obviously this is a huge deal, so I was interested to know if anyone can tell me what the elvish around the ring in the picture actually says, and in which elvish language it is as i understand there are more than one. I also was hoping someone may be able to link me to a picture of that elvish but larger in order to print out, as I've been struggling to find one myself!

Thanks in advance for any help

Link to picture:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fell...ien/1100013647

Deleted
    That's the writing around the ring

15+ Year Old Account
    Really? I have been having a look around the internet and it just looks different to what I've come across

I'm by no means an expert but going off of the writing from the novel in front of me:

=

Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul,
    Ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.

=

One ring to rule them all, one ring to find them,
    One ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.

Which for reference is Black Speech (once again not an expert by any means but this is my best guess based on the book).

Quote Originally Posted by Sepharoth View Post
    That's the writing around the ring
    This is also correct.

Deleted
    Pretty sure. If you have the book, theres a page (on my version its 68 but i doubt it will the same), where the writing of the ring is shown and it matches exactly what's on that cover.

as said just the standard "One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them" quote in the language of mordor

15+ Year Old Account
    Okay thanks alot for that, I can see yeh it is the same. I did assume that is what it was as it seemed obvious but the style its written in on the cover is slightly different so it made me second guess it

Deleted