1. #1
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    74

    Question about these Corsair Vengeance

    Hello , i've received a lots of help from this forum lately , but i need your help once again :P

    Here's my setup

    - Processor : intel 950 @ 3,07GHz
    - mother board : Asus Rampage III formula
    - memmory : 6gb (ddr3 tripple channel)
    - Video card : Nvdia Geforce GTX 460
    - Power supplie : 1200w
    - Casing : Coolmaster Haf 932
    - HD : 500gb + 1TB external HD

    I am gonna buy a new Video card and upgrade to a SSD (thanks to shroudster and n0cturnal) but i have a question about these ram stick

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233218

    As you may notice i am restricted with Triple channel slot but someone refereed me those ram stick and i wonder if it will fit on my triple channel.
    if so i will replace my current 3 ram stick for 3 of those '' cant go for more then 3 cause my motherboard support up to 24gb of desktop memory''

    Here's my shopping list
    Gtx 680

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130797

    128gb SSD

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227791



    also for those who wonder , the reason i go nut on ram is because i currently have very low quality ram stick.

    thanks again

  2. #2
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,861
    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Int...specifications

    6 x DIMM, Max. 24GB, DDR3 2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/2000(O.C.)/1800(O.C.)/1600(O.C.)/1333/1066 Hz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory

    Sorry to say but the max it can take is 4GB DIMMs in each slot. =/

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    74
    Thanks to both of you I didn't know about the 4gb per slot restriction , will I be fine with 12gb ram or should i invest 80$.more and buy 2 set of (3x4gb) thanks

    Sent from my android.

  5. #5
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Darthvador View Post
    Thanks to both of you I didn't know about the 4gb per slot restriction , will I be fine with 12gb ram or should i invest 80$.more and buy 2 set of (3x4gb) thanks

    Sent from my android.
    meh you could but for gaming you don't need anything beyond the standard 6gb you already have.

  6. #6
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    74
    thanks a lot Shroudster , you've been very helpful in all 3 thread i started.

    so my shopping list is full ( my GF hope so lol , when i told her i was upgrading my computer she taught it will cost around 150$ )
    gpu
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130797
    Deskop memory
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233146
    SSD
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227791

    I'll be using Msi afterburn to Overclock

    thanks again

  7. #7
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,861
    Was there any particular reason you felt you needed the GTX 680, by chance? Or why you went for that version over perhaps the Asus, Gigabyte, or MSI alternatives?

  8. #8
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Was there any particular reason you felt you needed the GTX 680, by chance? Or why you went for that version over perhaps the Asus, Gigabyte, or MSI alternatives?
    Shrouder referred me this one , if you have a good one to refer i will be happy to check it out , also thanks a lots for your help about the deskop memory , i would have done a terrible mistake ordering those hehe

  9. #9
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,861
    Anytime!

    And I personally just think the 680s are overall quite overpriced and you're better off getting a GTX 670 or AMD alternative if you aren't against going red on the GPU front.

    Here's an exceptional Gigabyte GTX 670, that uses the same PCB as a 680 would: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125423

  10. #10
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Anytime!

    And I personally just think the 680s are overall quite overpriced and you're better off getting a GTX 670 or AMD alternative if you aren't against going red on the GPU front.

    Here's an exceptional Gigabyte GTX 670, that uses the same PCB as a 680 would: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125423
    Wow , almost 100$ cheaper and look exactly like the gtx 670 i will consider this one for sure thanks alot

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-11 at 01:03 AM ----------

    what about this one ?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...uperclocked%2b

    And is ther a huge difference between 2gb and 4gb

  11. #11
    Legendary! Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    6,603
    Quote Originally Posted by Darthvador View Post
    Wow , almost 100$ cheaper and look exactly like the gtx 670 i will consider this one for sure thanks alot

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-11 at 01:03 AM ----------

    what about this one ?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...uperclocked%2b

    And is ther a huge difference between 2gb and 4gb
    4GB won't offer any performance gain.
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Windows 8 Security 2013 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  12. #12
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,861
    Quote Originally Posted by Darthvador View Post

    what about this one ?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...uperclocked%2b

    And is ther a huge difference between 2gb and 4gb
    Not only will there be a noticeable difference, the price is a staggering difference for a reference-based card. The cooling will be poor and loud in comparison to the one I linked.

  13. #13
    Field Marshal Darthvador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Not only will there be a noticeable difference, the price is a staggering difference for a reference-based card. The cooling will be poor and loud in comparison to the one I linked.
    Alright thanks , i think i'll buy the one you linked me

  14. #14
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    meh i just don't prefer gigabyte gpu's as it isn't the field that they as a brand are one of the best in imo. (for gpu brands i'd look for would be evga/msi/asus)
    very few people got a need for 4gb cards, since the actual scenarios it performs better are very specific/rare (i just snatched this card on a good sale :P)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •