Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    Cannot connect to a specific mumble server

    Hey guys,

    I've tried many things and I really need help figuring this problem out. Currently, I can't connect to my guild's mumble server but I can connect to anybody else's. This has been going on all week on and off. I would be able to get on mumble for like 5 hours then randomly get disconnected and then not be able to connect for the next 10+ hours.

    Basically, when I try to connect it says "Connecting to mumble blah blah" for around 30 seconds, then without showing any channels or anything, it says "Disconnected from server".

    I tried restalling mumble, setting a new certificate, and some other things.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,312
    you sure they didn't ban you?

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  3. #3
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    I would ask the owner/administrator of the server. They'd likely have access to logs to see why you were getting booted.

  4. #4
    The Lightbringer Seezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Capua
    Posts
    3,871
    No, I'm having this happen too. It has nothing to do with bans.
    "1 in 4 Americans are skeptical on climate change...who gives a shit? That doesn't matter. You don't need other people's opinions on a fact. You may as well have a poll asking: Which number is bigger? 5 or 15? Do Owls exist? Are there hats?"

  5. #5
    Have you found a solution? And yea, has nothing to do with bans.

  6. #6
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,312
    open a command prompt

    type: tracert <servername/address>

    after it's done, right click, select all, and hit ctrl+c

    paste the results here

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  7. #7
    Currently it's started to work again. When it doesn't again I'll post those results here.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    open a command prompt

    type: tracert <servername/address>

    after it's done, right click, select all, and hit ctrl+c

    paste the results here

    I too am having this problem. Yesterday i was able to connect to our server, then the admin said we were switching to a different server and gave us the new address. I disconnected, entered the new address, and tried to connect. All i get is Failed to connect: Server Timed out. Over and over again. I have triple checked the address, uninstalled and re-installed Mumble 3 times now, Restarted computer multiple times, I followed online instructions to clear DNS cache, and still I cannot connect. I am the only person in our group that cannot connect to the new server and i don't know why. Please help. I did the command prompt tracert thing and got this:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Samma>tracert 65.99.193.114

    Tracing route to host.colocrossing.com [65.99.193.114]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.0.0.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.


    not sure what next???????

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by swordcoast25 View Post
    Tracing route to host.colocrossing.com [65.99.193.114]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.0.0.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    ***

    not sure what next???????
    Well, your PC contacts your router, then it does absolutely nothing from there.

    You could try opening up command prompt and type:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    then open up mumble and test it

    Might also want to try powering your modem and or router off for a couple of mins and switching them back on.
    Kuroiwolf - 90 Brewmaster Monk
    Youtube Account Twitch TV
    Computer: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5GHz | 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | AMD 7970 GHz @ 1200/1600 | ASUS Z77-V PRO Mobo|

  10. #10
    Ok, I restarted my router... Nothing.

    I did the ipconfig /flushdns from command prompt... still nothing.

    Anyone else have any ideas?

    I have been able to connect to any other random server that i try... just not this one.

  11. #11
    When I lookup host.colocrossing.com I get a different IP.

    The IP address associated with host.colocrossing.com is :

    216.246.49.26

    [ mail.colocrossing.com ]
    Sounds like you have a DNS issue. Try using Googles DNS.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  12. #12
    Having a 10.x.x.x is odd for a consumer based router, likely not the issue, but just something that caught my eye. Typically see a 192.168.x.x

  13. #13
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    Quote Originally Posted by Onomatopoeia View Post
    Having a 10.x.x.x is odd for a consumer based router, likely not the issue, but just something that caught my eye. Typically see a 192.168.x.x
    Naw. Thats moderately standard. D-Link, Buffalo, Apple, and a few other brands use 10.0.0.1. The Netgear that I use as a switch right now uses 10.x.x.x when in router form. Definitely not an issue.

  14. #14
    So I changed to the Google DNS through my Network Places. Still no luck... i am starting to lose the hopes

  15. #15
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,312
    Quote Originally Posted by swordcoast25 View Post
    So I changed to the Google DNS through my Network Places. Still no luck... i am starting to lose the hopes
    have you powercycled your modem and router?

    also, what does your tracert look like after powercycling and updating your DNS

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  16. #16
    Yes i have power cycled the modem a few times. After the DNS change my tracert actually looks the exact same as before. This is driving me crazy.. i can connect to all other mumble servers I try.. just not the one I need.

  17. #17
    Can you ask your friends for the IP of the server instead of hostname? Then you should be able to connect via the IP.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  18. #18
    I thought 65.99.193.114 was their IP. it's what everyone else is using to connect.

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by swordcoast25 View Post
    I thought 65.99.193.114 was their IP. it's what everyone else is using to connect.
    Does it work for you to connect to that IP?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  20. #20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •