1. #1

    Lightbulb What would you change?

    Hallo,

    I just got a new computer ($400) for xmas. And from the price, you'd be able to tell it's not that great. But it gets the job done for what I do... kinda.
    I mostly just play WoW, SR3, and D3. And I get 13-30 fps in WoW on medium/high settings. I'd like to push that up a bit to get better graphics and FPS.

    My system is as follows:

    Mobo
    http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/...?S_ID=558#spec

    CPU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819106014

    Ram
    Corsair Dominator-GT 1600 mhz 4 Gigs (2 2g sticks)

    GPU
    None (Integrated)

    PSU
    Logisys 330w (Max 480w)

    OS
    Win7 Pro 64-bit

    HDD
    300gb Laptop HD (Don't know brand)

    Case
    Can't find any markings that tell me. It's a blak alumin case with a plastic face. Backside fan slot and slot for a fan on the removable pannel. (No fans in case besides CPU heatsink) doesn't feel like it would overheat, especially with the room temp (Bad insulation in the middle in winter), so I can prolly put off a fan or two for awhile.

    CPU Heatsink
    I'm not sure what it is but I see AVC on the sides of it along with some brass or copper tubes on the side of an aluminum heatsink and a black fan on top of it all.


    That's my rig. I haven't made any hardware changes since I got it. My friend said I should get a http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819106001. Along with a better PSU and 4 more gigs of ram.
    I have a limited budget (Pref around $120) until I can scrounge up some more. Basically, maybe just tell me a good order in which to buy things along with what pieces to get?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Damn, you are in a rough spot. I guess getting the CPU your friend recommended would be an upgrade, not very big though.
    You budget doesn't allow for much change, you could get a more powerful GPU but then you are still stuck with that very slow CPU.
    Anyway you could return it?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  3. #3
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    The system is... sort of painful to upgrade. I'm not trying to be offensive, but the motherboard is kinda junky (you don't buy Biostar. Period.) Though, if it works, it works. The first thing I'd do is get an actual video card. For $120, you could get an ATI 7770. Using integrated graphics is rough. Super rough. The other issue is that you can't get "4 more gigs of ram". You can only replace the 2x2 you have now with 2x4. Why is a laptop drive in a desktop?

  4. #4
    I didn't build it, that's why it's so sad. My parents "Won" it off of ebay for $400 and thought it was good, I don't have the heart to tell em it isn't. I know the Mobo sucks. ;(
    But they said it was something to upgrade (And they are paying for the upgrades) so it's ok for now.

    This is the RAM I'm thinkin of getting
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231460

    And this is the Vid Card I'd make them get me.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130840
    But would I need to upgrade my PSU to use it?
    My PC: | AMD A8-3870 Quad Core @ 3.0 GHz | 4GB Corsair Dominator-GT1600 MHz | Biostar A55MH| Logisys 330W | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit |

  5. #5
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    If you're gonna spend that money on the video card, I'd get http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150656

    The PSU can support it (You'd be about about 270w) however it may not have the PCI-E power adapter, or the two 4pin molexes for the Y-splitter to 6-pin PCI-E.

    Also, I'm concerned about the laptop drive. Is it a slim computer?

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Kanevil View Post
    I didn't build it, that's why it's so sad. My parents "Won" it off of ebay for $400 and thought it was good, I don't have the heart to tell em it isn't. I know the Mobo sucks. ;(
    But they said it was something to upgrade (And they are paying for the upgrades) so it's ok for now.

    This is the RAM I'm thinkin of getting
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231460

    And this is the Vid Card I'd make them get me.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130840
    But would I need to upgrade my PSU to use it?
    Those are decent upgrade but a bit more expensive than the $120 you mentioned before.

    That PSU of yours have these specs:

    +3.3V@28A, +5V@36A, +12V@16A, [email protected], [email protected], +5VSB@2A

    So as most it can deliver 192W on the 12V rail. I don't think that is enough for a 650Ti. The 650Ti can pull up to 110W at full load.
    With that PSU I wouldn't recommend getting anything higher than a Radeon 7750.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  7. #7
    No, it's a regular (ATX I think). It's on a Sata above my disk drive, just chillin.

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-18 at 01:40 AM ----------

    I was going to get these upgrades over a period of time, I'm essentially making a list. ANd I didn't think my PSU could support the GPU. But I wanted a second opinion. I found this PSU, what do you guys think? http://www.amazon.com/Supply-EPS12V-...pr_product_top
    My PC: | AMD A8-3870 Quad Core @ 3.0 GHz | 4GB Corsair Dominator-GT1600 MHz | Biostar A55MH| Logisys 330W | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit |

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Kanevil View Post
    No, it's a regular (ATX I think). It's on a Sata above my disk drive, just chillin.

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-18 at 01:40 AM ----------

    I was going to get these upgrades over a period of time, I'm essentially making a list. ANd I didn't think my PSU could support the GPU. But I wanted a second opinion. I found this PSU, what do you guys think? http://www.amazon.com/Supply-EPS12V-...pr_product_top
    Nope, don't get that.

    http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=632...X&promoid=1257
    http://www.outletpc.com/og5811-hcg-4...n=pcpartpicker
    http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=653...0%26%20Cooling

    Pick one of those instead.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  9. #9
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    I'd avoid it simply because it's by a brand I've never heard of.

    http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=623...ufacture=Antec

    Cheaper, better, more reliable. You don't need an 850w. And an 850w for $40 is guaranteed to be a junker.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    I'd avoid it simply because it's by a brand I've never heard of.

    http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=623...ufacture=Antec

    Cheaper, better, more reliable. You don't need an 850w. And an 850w for $40 is guaranteed to be a junker.
    How did I miss that one? This is also a good choice.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  11. #11
    Don't you think a 500w would be minimum, do to the requirements on some graphic cards nowadays?
    My PC: | AMD A8-3870 Quad Core @ 3.0 GHz | 4GB Corsair Dominator-GT1600 MHz | Biostar A55MH| Logisys 330W | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit |

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Kanevil View Post
    Don't you think a 500w would be minimum, do to the requirements on some graphic cards nowadays?
    Not even a GTX 680 or Radeon 7970 needs a 500W PSU. And they are way out of your budget.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    The system is... sort of painful to upgrade. I'm not trying to be offensive, but the motherboard is kinda junky (you don't buy Biostar. Period.) Though, if it works, it works. The first thing I'd do is get an actual video card. For $120, you could get an ATI 7770. Using integrated graphics is rough. Super rough. The other issue is that you can't get "4 more gigs of ram". You can only replace the 2x2 you have now with 2x4. Why is a laptop drive in a desktop?
    There really is nothing wrong with biostar. Yes Id personally choose an Asrock or Asus over them normally 9 times out of 10 and they are still fairly new to the enthusiast mobo game. But I got a tz77xe4 for $50 off when ivy first came out in a combo deal for my wifes build and am fairly content with their product. They are in the mid card range and have their fallbacks but just about every board brand on the market has issues somewhere along the lines.
    CPU:i5 [email protected] GPU:Gigabyte GTX760 WF3 Mobo:Asrock Z87E-ITX RAM:8Gb GSkill Ares@1600MhzCase:Atomic Orange Bit Fenix Profigy Cooling: Corsair H100i HDD:1Tb WD Cav Black SSD: Samsung 830 128Gb PSU:Seasonic M2II620 KB:Razer Black Widow Mouse:Razer Naga 2014

  14. #14
    My PC: | AMD A8-3870 Quad Core @ 3.0 GHz | 4GB Corsair Dominator-GT1600 MHz | Biostar A55MH| Logisys 330W | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit |

  15. #15
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    Quote Originally Posted by Kanevil View Post
    Don't you think a 500w would be minimum, do to the requirements on some graphic cards nowadays?
    Wattage minimums listed are usually WAY higher than needed, just for liability's sake.

    AMD says 7950 needs 500w PSU... When the total system power probably won't even break 375w, and that's a pretty solid higher end card.

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-17 at 11:07 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by demonskies View Post
    There really is nothing wrong with biostar.
    I actually coughed when I read that.

    Biostar, along with ECS (which ate PCChips brand) and Jetway are the top 3 worst brands for motherboards. They have the highest failure rates per capita. There is a reason they get sold as 'free' with a bundled CPU. They're worth what you pay for, nothing.

    I have replaced more ECS and Biostar boards than any other motherboard brand COMBINED. ECS is worse, but Biostar is just as bad.

  16. #16
    Oh wow, I didn't know that. Tanks. I'm going to go to bed now, so I'll not be posting on here for a good time, but I will check it when I can for more questions, tips, or advice;. Thank you all for what you've done so far!
    My PC: | AMD A8-3870 Quad Core @ 3.0 GHz | 4GB Corsair Dominator-GT1600 MHz | Biostar A55MH| Logisys 330W | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit |

  17. #17
    LOL and Ive replaced more Asus boards than any other brand they are the worst boards ever. No they arent, Everyone gets a lemon sometimes or alot of time I didnt tout it was the best board but there is nothing wrong with them, For what I got it for and for my wifes build it does just fine. Ill agree with you on ECS tho lawlz.
    CPU:i5 [email protected] GPU:Gigabyte GTX760 WF3 Mobo:Asrock Z87E-ITX RAM:8Gb GSkill Ares@1600MhzCase:Atomic Orange Bit Fenix Profigy Cooling: Corsair H100i HDD:1Tb WD Cav Black SSD: Samsung 830 128Gb PSU:Seasonic M2II620 KB:Razer Black Widow Mouse:Razer Naga 2014

  18. #18
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,893
    I really don't want to get into a pissing match or anything, but having replaced hundreds and hundreds of Biostar boards... I can pretty sufficiently say they're poor quality.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •