Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253

    Condenser Preamp connecting to PC?

    Hello, I'm in need of some help here.

    I'm planning to buy a condenser mic, and with it XLR cables. The cables connect the mic to the preamp, but how does the preamp connect to the PC? Does a preamp come with cables? That's the back of my PC in the picture. Thanks for any help.

    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  2. #2
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,102
    typically through something like this

    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Delta1010LT.html

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  3. #3
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    typically through something like this

    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Delta1010LT.html
    So I do need a soundcard for it to connect? Excuse me, I'm a layman when it comes to sound technology. Could you point out where the soundcard would show at the back of my pc when installed? Thanks.
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  4. #4
    That Audio buddy looks like it has 1/4" outputs, so you'd need 1/4" to 3.5mm jack adapters...

    Though I'm not sure of what the quality would be like with that setup, I did a little google searching and it seems to be the same quality.
    Kuroiwolf - 90 Brewmaster Monk
    Youtube Account Twitch TV
    Computer: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5GHz | 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | AMD 7970 GHz @ 1200/1600 | ASUS Z77-V PRO Mobo|

  5. #5
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,102
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    So I do need a soundcard for it to connect? Excuse me, I'm a layman when it comes to sound technology. Could you point out where the soundcard would show at the back of my pc when installed? Thanks.
    the product i linked is a studio sound card, it plugs into a PCI slot inside your computer,

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  6. #6
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by Yohassakura View Post
    That Audio buddy looks like it has 1/4" outputs, so you'd need 1/4" to 3.5mm jack adapters...

    Though I'm not sure of what the quality would be like with that setup, I did a little google searching and it seems to be the same quality.
    Well this was the preamp I was planning to get. I'm clueless as to how it would connect to my pc and if I even have the correct slots.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...A3P5ROKL5A1OLE
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  7. #7
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    the product i linked is a studio sound card, it plugs into a PCI slot inside your computer,
    Yes, but how do you connect the preamp to it?
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  8. #8
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,102
    Quote Originally Posted by Yohassakura View Post
    That Audio buddy looks like it has 1/4" outputs, so you'd need 1/4" to 3.5mm jack adapters...

    Though I'm not sure of what the quality would be like with that setup, I did a little google searching and it seems to be the same quality.
    the diagram shows digital signal from the audiobuddy to the pc though, so im not sure that anything besides USB would work, most consumer soundcards are digital out, not in

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  9. #9
    Mic pre's are generally analog, you need to convert that signal to digital, which is generally done through an audio interface. These have analog i/o, and will connect to the computer via USB or Firewire. There are many to choose from, at many price points. Most will also have midi i/o capabilities to use keyboards and other instruments, and most will have mic pre-amps built into them.

    A list of examples:

    http://www.sweetwater.com/shop/compu...io_interfaces/
    Last edited by melodramocracy; 2013-01-21 at 05:42 PM.
    Benevolence is a luxury for the strong - Wrathion

  10. #10
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,102
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    Yes, but how do you connect the preamp to it?
    no clue, im not a musician, but i would assume RCA digital or S/PDIF

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    Well this was the preamp I was planning to get. I'm clueless as to how it would connect to my pc and if I even have the correct slots.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...A3P5ROKL5A1OLE
    That isn't what you want, that's not even a mic pre really. That merely supplies phantom power for mics that need it, if the source doesn't supply it.
    Benevolence is a luxury for the strong - Wrathion

  12. #12
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    So right now my PC has integrated sound. I have no soundcard.

    - Mic
    -XLR Cables (mic to preamp)
    - Preamp (Not sure how it connects and what it'd be connecting to on the back of the PC)
    - PC with no soundcard. (With the slots you see on the back of the PC in the image)

    How do I get this to work?
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    the diagram shows digital signal from the audiobuddy to the pc though, so im not sure that anything besides USB would work, most consumer soundcards are digital out, not in
    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/AudioBuddy.html

    XLR mic ins; 1/4” instrument ins; balanced 1/4” outs
    1/4" to 3.5mm adapter

    ----

    It looks like you can get XLR3 to USB or XLR3 to 3.5mm



    Kuroiwolf - 90 Brewmaster Monk
    Youtube Account Twitch TV
    Computer: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5GHz | 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | AMD 7970 GHz @ 1200/1600 | ASUS Z77-V PRO Mobo|

  14. #14
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,102
    Quote Originally Posted by Yohassakura View Post
    how well would that work though going from balanced to unbalanced?

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    So right now my PC has integrated sound. I have no soundcard.

    - Mic
    -XLR Cables (mic to preamp)
    - Preamp (Not sure how it connects and what it'd be connecting to on the back of the PC)
    - PC with no soundcard. (With the slots you see on the back of the PC in the image)

    How do I get this to work?
    Mics --> Input of the mic pre
    Output of the mic pre --> input of whatever interface you like (this will typically be xlr / xlr). Or you can skip the outboard mic pre entirely and just plug the mic into the interface.
    usb or firewire out of the interface ---> PC
    Benevolence is a luxury for the strong - Wrathion

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    how well would that work though going from balanced to unbalanced?
    I think this article explains it quite well: http://www.blitzfamily.eclipse.co.uk...chtip/art6.htm
    Kuroiwolf - 90 Brewmaster Monk
    Youtube Account Twitch TV
    Computer: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5GHz | 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | AMD 7970 GHz @ 1200/1600 | ASUS Z77-V PRO Mobo|

  17. #17
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by melodramocracy View Post
    Mics --> Input of the mic pre
    Output of the mic pre --> input of whatever interface you like (this will typically be xlr / xlr). Or you can skip the outboard mic pre entirely and just plug the mic into the interface.
    usb or firewire out of the interface ---> PC
    That just explains what I already know.

    I still don't understand how the preamp connects to the pc and if I am capable of even connecting it with my pc and the items I have on my buy list.
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    That just explains what I already know.

    I still don't understand how the preamp connects to the pc and if I am capable of even connecting it with my pc and the items I have on my buy list.
    You don't need a preamp, you need an interface (which will have a mic preamp built in). The piece of Behringer gear you posted earlier isn't what you want at all.
    Benevolence is a luxury for the strong - Wrathion

  19. #19
    Brewmaster Sarithus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,253
    Quote Originally Posted by melodramocracy View Post
    You don't need a preamp, you need an interface (which will have a mic preamp built in). The piece of Behringer gear you posted earlier isn't what you want at all.
    Sorry, if you're reffering to the audio buddy picture, that's my fault. I should have cropped that. I was just using that picture as an example, with the thing between the mic and the PC being a preamp.

    Can you recommend me an 'interface' that won't destroy my wallet? Thanks.
    My Warrior
    Arms Proving Grounds Guide
    When you walk among the Black Forest...you will see.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarithus View Post
    Can you recommend me an 'interface' that won't destroy my wallet? Thanks.
    It's easier for you to let us know what your budget is specifically, as well as what it is you're trying accomplish from an audio perspective. (and what mic you have right now)

    This is a decent bare-bones interface; http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/USBDualPrePS/
    Last edited by melodramocracy; 2013-01-21 at 06:10 PM.
    Benevolence is a luxury for the strong - Wrathion

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •