1. #1
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569

    BootMGR is missing

    H1! After have installed windows 8 and had some issues with it (stupid win8)
    I needed to reinstalled win7. The first try failed and I got a memory error or something like this and I needed to retry it. Its now working but I have some question:

    In my bios boot menu I now have windows boot manager, what's this? Was it always like this and I never saw it or its new?
    My second drive is now fucked up, I don't know why, when I plug it in my computer it says "bootmgr is missing, ctrl+alt+del to reboot", and I don't choose to boot it... ( Is it possible that windows choosed to install on it and when I got the memory error it failed to install it, so now I have a half windows in this one?)

    I was able to plug it into another computer to get back my files, but when its in my computer, nothing. BootMgr is missing and I can't even boot on my main drive. And I wasn't able to format in the other computer (Was of course a secondary drive)

    I need this drive back!
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  2. #2
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,255

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  3. #3
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569
    Okay, gonna try this in my other computer, don't want to screw mine another time

    In my boot menu (bios) I now have 3 choices:
    1: UEFI Kingston...
    2: Kingston....
    3: Windows boot manager

    Never had this before and if I don't choose boot manager I get an error, no bootable device, do you suggest me to lunch repair on this one too?
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  4. #4
    A UEFI aware OS should be able to correct your setup to point to the correct boot manager file. I believe this is what the window 7 recovery commands will accomplish. I run into this on a server level, but on some, we can select a startup option to browse the boot partition and manually select the boot manager file. I'm thinking your Gigabyte board likely doesn't have that option, so the OS recovery should do the trick.
    Last edited by Ragedaug; 2013-01-27 at 03:27 AM.

  5. #5
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569
    Okay, I'll see what I can do with it
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  6. #6
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,504
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1130MHz/1750MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2015 || AV-TEST 2014

  7. #7
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569
    Okay, I can now boot with the HDD in my computer, no BootMGR error, that's nice, and windows detect it BUT I can't use it It's not showed in the "'computer'" menu, so I can't use it properly, any solution?
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  8. #8
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,504
    Can you re-install?
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1130MHz/1750MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2015 || AV-TEST 2014

  9. #9
    i had this errror a few days ago on my friends laptop, i tried absolutely everything! the only solution that worked for me was re installing the operating system

  10. #10
    Mechagnome Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    569
    I found out what to do! =)

    I went in the disk management and I saw my HDD, then I did a new simple volume or something like this and now I can use it =)
    My first build:
    Storage: Kingston SSD Now V200+ 120G and WD Caviar Blue HDD 500 G
    Processing Units: i5-3570k @ 3.8 Ghz cooled by 212 Evo and MSI Twin Frozr 3, R7850 @ 900, 1200
    Mobo, Ram, PSU Gigabyte Z77-D3H and G.Skill ripjaw 2x 4G with XFX 550w
    If I am unreadable, its not because I hate grammar, its because Im french-canadian

  11. #11
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,504
    Awesome Glad you figured it out.
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1130MHz/1750MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2015 || AV-TEST 2014

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •