Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst
1
2
  1. #21
    Dreadlord Elapo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    816
    Never had any problems with ADSL tbf, got slightly higher ping than friends with cable, but I'm also on wireless.

    Also, lucky people. Fastest I can get in Belgium is 100/50 cable (60-ish EUR/mo) and 25/5 DSL (50 EUR/mo).
    CPU: I7 2600k @ 3.5GHz - GPU:ASUS DCUIIO GTX680 MOBO: MSI Z68-GD65 G3 - RAM: Kingston 8GB DDR3 - SSD: MX100 512GB - HDD: WD Blue 1TB/WD Green 2TB - CASE: Aerocool Xwarrior - Monitor: Samsung SA300 23" + Medion 23" (2x 1080p) - PSU: Corsair TX 850 - OS: Win7 Ultimate 64

    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    And 97% of the Internet knows that 99% of statistics are made up on the spot!

  2. #22
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,409
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    100/100 Fiber ftw. No second thoughts.
    Yeah 100/100 fiber is all you'll ever need and it's extremely stable.
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2014 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  3. #23
    off topic, i wish my country would provide internet tv and phone, with them speeds for that price!

  4. #24
    100/100 Fibre. Not even a contest really.

    It's unlikely you will need more bandwidth anyway.

  5. #25
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,099
    Quote Originally Posted by Notarget View Post
    Yeah 100/100 fiber is all you'll ever need and it's extremely stable.
    Ever need makes it sound like 20 years from now the internet will be the same.

    Files have been getting bigger over the years, don't forget! :P

  6. #26
    Stability matters and fiber will likely provide better latency.

    Quote Originally Posted by Camo View Post
    off topic, i wish my country would provide internet tv and phone, with them speeds for that price!
    me too man, i would have to pay 90-100 USD for basic tv, phone and a 10/1 connection here

  7. #27
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Ever need makes it sound like 20 years from now the internet will be the same.

    Files have been getting bigger over the years, don't forget! :P
    I can tell you I'm getting a bit tired of 100Mbit, been using it for almost 10 years.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  8. #28
    Fiber for sure, its the most stable and best future-prof

    xDSL has loads of overhead and alot of error-correction have to occur, one may not notice but its there.
    Warlock / IA Operative / Wizard / Engineer

  9. #29
    The Lightbringer Tehterokkar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3,443
    Quote Originally Posted by Dald View Post
    Stability matters and fiber will likely provide better latency.



    me too man, i would have to pay 90-100 USD for basic tv, phone and a 10/1 connection here
    Currently have 24/1(In reality it's like 10/0.7 :/), it never crashes or DCs and always same DL speed/ping(assuming I'm not downloading anything while playing) and costs 29€ per month.
    My phone has a 16/5 connection and it can reach to like 12 Mb DL when I'm in a good 3G area, and it costs 16€ with unlimited DL/UL bandwidth.

    Kind of awkward to have a faster phone connection lol... Well, nothing I can do about this BS "copper cable" wiring that limits the speed that much

    imo: Stability is the thing you want from your ISP, mine has never crashed or have I had any disconnect/ping issues during the ~10 year period I've used the ISP.

  10. #30
    Banned Bakis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    15,092
    The fiber solutions usually brings way better pings and stability and I personally dont want to have less that 100mbit upload as well.
    100/10, 250/30 is less appealing.
    With 10,3mb/sec download/upload anything will go fast enough as it is.

    100/100 fiber in Sweden and I've had as little as 5ms to German CS servers and 3ms to Danish, try to beat that shitty ComHem.
    Last edited by Bakis; 2013-01-29 at 10:39 AM.

  11. #31
    It really depends on the age of your local fiber buildout. If you're in a BPON network it can be god awful. Myself and my neighbors have had nothing but horror stories with FIOS because of BPON's inherent capacity problems. Half of our street is back on cable with their old Verizon ONTs still hanging off the side of their houses.
    i7-4770k - GTX 780 Ti - 16GB DDR3 Ripjaws - (2) HyperX 120s / Vertex 3 120
    ASRock Extreme3 - JBL S300A - FiiO E10 - EVGA Supernova 650G - Corsair H80i

    build pics

  12. #32
    Imo, pick whichever connection and provider that gives you the most reliable and best quality of service. There's no point having a super fast connection if the network is congested and runs slowly. You may need to check your speeds, ADSL2+ doesn't go beyond 24Mbps. It may be a different variety of DSL (VDSL2 for example) but you should check, it seems you may be confused at the moment.

    I have ADSL2+ running at 17Mbps down, 1.1Mbps up. It's perfectly reliable and my provider is excellent. I always get maximum speeds at any time in the day, low latency and I can directly call them if I need to. Sure, I pay a premium for the quality but it's worthwhile to me. You'll have to decide if you want quality over speed. I'd be very reluctant to take a faster connection unless I had the same service level.

    DSL can be very reliable. Here's my last resync in the log:

    Nov 30 04:02:53 dsl-7800n.home.gateway dsl-7800n pppd[11556]: Connection terminated.
    Nov 30 04:02:53 dsl-7800n.home.gateway dsl-7800n pppd[11556]: Connect time 125373.3 minutes.
    Nov 30 04:02:53 dsl-7800n.home.gateway dsl-7800n pppd[11556]: Sent 16622784836 bytes, received 188389209896 bytes.

    (The DSL didn't even lose sync, it was just the PPP session dropping due to some maintenance work)
    Last edited by Zatie12; 2013-01-29 at 12:48 PM.

  13. #33
    Quote Originally Posted by Pokot View Post
    Can ADSL even be that fast? I thought it was limited to 24 or 32 mbits max.
    You are right, not sure whats it called on english. It's through the TV output (kabel broadband I suppose?)

    Maybe a mod could change the title.
    CPU:I5 3570k | Mobo:Z77 MPOWER ATX | GPU:Sapphire 7970 | Case:Fractal Design R4 | PSU:CX 600X 80+ Bronze | RAM:Corsair(2x4GB)1600Mhz VENGEANCE HDD:Seagate 7200 RPM 500GB | SSD:Samsung 840 Basic 250GB | Headphones:ATH M50 Limited Red | Screen:27" LG IPS | KeyboardDucky G2Pro TKL Special Clicky MX Blue/Green mix | Mouse: Razer Naga Red --- | Speakers:Dynavoice DF8 | Sub:XTZ 12.16 | Reciver:Onkyo TX-NR609

  14. #34
    Elemental Lord Masark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,085
    Quote Originally Posted by Pokot View Post
    Can ADSL even be that fast? I thought it was limited to 24 or 32 mbits max.
    Lots of "ADSL" is actually VDSL or VDSL2.

    VDSL2 is capable of 100Mbps up and down if you run it on a 500m loop, though in most circumstances, the money you'd spend getting the loop that short would be almost as much as you'd spend going to end-to-end fibre. Around here, they never bothered getting the maximum loop length shorter than 900m (Which gives you ~60Mbps to play with) and are rolling out fibre in the major cities currently.

  15. #35
    Hello!

    So I decided to go for the Fiber, so today I called up the internet provider to get it.. and just to make sure I asked what speed they promis me, they answered me that they'll promis me any speed between 50-100/50-100mbit.

    I told them I'd get back because this changes things.


    Should I still go for the fiber even tho they only can promis me 50-100/50-100 ?

    I mean, if Im unlucky Ill end up with a 50/50 fiber. If Id go for the cable broadband atleast the worst thing I can get is 150/30. (I spoke to them and they said if its lower, they will fix it for me).

    Thoughts?
    CPU:I5 3570k | Mobo:Z77 MPOWER ATX | GPU:Sapphire 7970 | Case:Fractal Design R4 | PSU:CX 600X 80+ Bronze | RAM:Corsair(2x4GB)1600Mhz VENGEANCE HDD:Seagate 7200 RPM 500GB | SSD:Samsung 840 Basic 250GB | Headphones:ATH M50 Limited Red | Screen:27" LG IPS | KeyboardDucky G2Pro TKL Special Clicky MX Blue/Green mix | Mouse: Razer Naga Red --- | Speakers:Dynavoice DF8 | Sub:XTZ 12.16 | Reciver:Onkyo TX-NR609

  16. #36
    I would still go with the fiber, I don't know anyone that doesn't get at least 90Mbit with their "100Mbit" connection.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •