1. #1
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117

    Want to buy a new GPU

    Hey guys,

    I basically want to upgrade the GPU without causing any bottleneck. If you think I can get a better GPU when upgrading my PSU then please link of both of the upgrades.

    Two years back I sent my comp to HP to fix an issue with the old GPU ATI 4650 HD (some sort of buzzing sound). They replaced it with a ATI Radeon 4670 HD but the same thing is happening now again. So this is why I want to buy a new and better one.

    So basically:
    GPU without upgrading PSU:
    Upgraded GPU and PSU:



    This is my computer. The link at the bottom is a direct link to the website of HP and contains more details I guess.

    Mainboard : PEGATRON CORPORATION Benicia
    Chipset : Intel G31/G33/G35
    Physical Memory : 8192 MB DDR2-SDRAM

    CPU
    Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E7300
    Frequency : 2666 MHz - (current : 1599.99 MHz)
    Number of Core : 2
    Support : Socket 775 LGA
    Cache L1 : 2 x 64 KB
    Cache L2 : 3072 KB
    Voltage VID : 1.125 V
    Thermal Design Power : 65 W


    PSU is 300W.

    Link to the website:
    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...odTypeId=12454
    Last edited by Canaslan; 2013-01-29 at 12:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    budget?
    however with such a cpu in there aswell and the psu is likely the cheapest OEM out there i'd say it isn't worthwhile to upgrade that pc.

    edit: how about first gen PCIe 16x not really sure untill what level of cards that could support.

  3. #3
    Without properly knowing the specs of your PSU I'd say a Radeon 7770 would be a decent upgrade for you.
    With a new PSU you could get a 7870 or a GTX 660, a more powerful GPU than that will most likely just get "bottlenecked" by your CPU.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  4. #4
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Without properly knowing the specs of your PSU I'd say a Radeon 7770 would be a decent upgrade for you.
    With a new PSU you could get a 7870 or a GTX 660, a more powerful GPU than that will most likely just get "bottlenecked" by your CPU.
    Yes, I understand. The 7870 is like 200 euros if iirc. Im not sure if its worth it to put a GPU like that in my PC. Im just looking for a GPU that can handle WoW (its all I play) at Good settings without causing performance issues.

    I dont want to have a beast of a GPU like that in a computer like this. AS for my budget 150 euros for both, 100 for GPU. I looked on the internet and I saw some people sugessting the 5770 or 5850 to similar builds like mine (same CPU). But with a 300W PSU I think the 5850 will not cut it right? I read it drains 115W at peak power.
    Next year I will buy a complete new computer but untill then I just need one that is better than the 4670 that I have now. Just need a GPU that's on the same level as the CPU to get me through for now.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Without properly knowing the specs of your PSU I'd say a Radeon 7770 would be a decent upgrade for you.
    With a new PSU you could get a 7870 or a GTX 660, a more powerful GPU than that will most likely just get "bottlenecked" by your CPU.
    7770s require PCIe power plug from the PSU which probably isn't included with an OEM PSU.

    The safest GPU upgrade in an OEM machine is the 7750.

  6. #6
    http://www.komplett.nl/komplett/prod...2/details.aspx
    http://www.komplett.nl/komplett/prod...c/details.aspx

    You could try with any of those cards, there is a chance you don't even have to buy a new PSU for them.
    They will play WoW on mostly high settings.

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-29 at 02:01 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by yurano View Post
    7770s require PCIe power plug from the PSU which probably isn't included with an OEM PSU.

    The safest GPU upgrade in an OEM machine is the 7750.
    You can use molex adapters for that.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  7. #7
    Herald of the Titans shroudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,890
    might wanna check tweakers "vraag en aanbod" section lots of cards being sold there in the segment you are looking at. (7750 for 70 euro iirc around there which should suit your needs easy)

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by shroudster View Post
    might wanna check tweakers "vraag en aanbod" section lots of cards being sold there in the segment you are looking at. (7750 for 70 euro iirc around there which should suit your needs easy)
    For €70 the 7750 is an excellent choice.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  9. #9
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117
    Thanks guys. Will look into your suggestions. I'll keep you updated.

  10. #10
    Herald of the Titans RicardoZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Hotlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,540
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Without properly knowing the specs of your PSU I'd say a Radeon 7770 would be a decent upgrade for you.
    +1

    That's a very underrated card, especially when you consider it can be had at its overclocked best for under $150. I'm putting in my new build. You probably won't max out every game at 1080p, but you'll still be able to play with some pretty damn good settings under the circumstances and at the very least it will handle anything in WoW on all ultra (or so I've been told/seen on YouTube).

    Go do a YouTube search for how the 7770 holds up in WoW, you'll be amazed. It can handle LFR flawlessly as well as Stormwind/Org, and on top of that the guy who made the videos had a really crummy cpu (fx-6100 no OC). So you can imagine how nicely it will do when you have a proper cpu, especially for a game that's a cpu-bound as WoW is.
    Last edited by RicardoZ; 2013-01-29 at 03:57 PM.

  11. #11
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117
    Hey guys,

    I've just bought the ASUS HD 7770: http://www.komplett.nl/komplett/prod...2/details.aspx.

    But when I turn on the PC I get a black screen. I tried the DVI plug and the other one (blue, VGA?). Neither work.

    There is a PCIe power socket, but I dont have a plug. Do I need to buy one? My PSU is 300W OEM. Do you think the problem is my PSU?


    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    ---
    Last edited by Canaslan; 2013-06-08 at 02:05 PM.

  12. #12
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,751
    Are you GPU fans spinning?
    Steam Big Picture Mode - 4570 - GA-H87N - MSI R9-290 - 120 GB Samsung 840 EVO
    Corsair 250D - Philips 55 LED TV - Corsair RM 550 - Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB

    4770K - EVGA 780 Ti SC- Corsair 350D - V700 - Gryphon Z87
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB - Samsung 840 250GB - H60

  13. #13
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Toffie View Post
    Are you GPU fans spinning?
    Yes, it is.

    ---

    I've plugged the VGA cable into the mobo and Im getting a screen through it (800x600).

    I went here to download drivers: http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...D5-V2&p=9&s=10

    Ok so I've downloaded:
    VBIOS Update for HD7770-DC-1GD5-V2 & HD7770-DCT-1GD5 ==> it gives me an error, saying it doenst working anymore when i doubleclick it.

    Ive also downloaded:
    AMD VGA Driver V9.02 for Win7/Vista 32/64 bit and installed it but not much happened.

    Im rebooting the PC now. See if something has changed. Otherwise I ll try from the BIOS.
    Last edited by Canaslan; 2013-06-08 at 02:55 PM.

  14. #14
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,751
    You plugged the screen cable into the motherboard? If so, your graphic power is coming from the onboard graphics.
    Place the cable in the GPU instead.
    Steam Big Picture Mode - 4570 - GA-H87N - MSI R9-290 - 120 GB Samsung 840 EVO
    Corsair 250D - Philips 55 LED TV - Corsair RM 550 - Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB

    4770K - EVGA 780 Ti SC- Corsair 350D - V700 - Gryphon Z87
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB - Samsung 840 250GB - H60

  15. #15
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Toffie View Post
    You plugged the screen cable into the motherboard? If so, your graphic power is coming from the onboard graphics.
    Place the cable in the GPU instead.
    This is what I tried first with a VGA cable and a DVI cable. The 7770 doesnt have VGA plug-un, but it has an extension (DVI to VGA), which is the one I used. I tried this and I got a black screen. I tried DVI and VGA, both black screens. Also tried the HDMI cable on my LCD tv, same result.

    Then Ive plugged in the VGA cable onto the mobo so I can get a screen and try to troubleshoot and find drivers and such. Which is what I am doing now. Im gonna try to reinstall Catalyst Manager and see if I can reinstall the AMD driver in the hope it will pick up the GPU.

    ---------- Post added 2013-06-08 at 06:46 PM ----------

    Sigh.. now I cant even install Catalyst Control Center...

    Even after doing all of this:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=52502

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Canaslan View Post
    There is a PCIe power socket, but I dont have a plug. Do I need to buy one? My PSU is 300W OEM. Do you think the problem is my PSU?
    The 7770 is likely not getting enough power, you need to connect a PCIe power plug. The 7750 I recommended earlier doesn't need additional power plugs.

    A solution would be to use a Molex to PCIe adapter. If your PSU doesn't have free Molex plugs for use, you might need a new one.
    Last edited by yurano; 2013-06-08 at 05:56 PM.

  17. #17

  18. #18
    High Overlord Canaslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    117
    Perhaps there is something wrong with my PC. I can't even install Catalyst Controll Center. Even after doing all of this:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=52502

    It gives me an error saying something went wrong during the installation and when I click on the logbook, it says that everything is succesfully installed. But when I try to look up the files or even the programme, I can't find anything.

    This is really frustrating.

    ---

    My PC isn't detecting the new GPU at all, even though it's under power. Even changed the BIOS to use the PCIe x16 slot, but alas nothing changed.

    Perhaps the card isn't compatible. I'll check with tech services tomorrow. Thanks everyone for the help.
    Last edited by Canaslan; 2013-06-09 at 07:59 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •